We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Brierholme Guest House
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lyzzick Hall Hotel(Under Skiddaw)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (629)
Filter reviews
629 results
Traveller rating
614
13
2
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
614
13
2
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsb bhomemade marmaladefull englishattic roomwarm welcomefish cakesguest houseperfect hostscotton budswonderful guesthousetown centrepoached eggslittle extraslovely weekendcentral locationfriendly hostsfantastic views
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
475 - 480 of 629 reviews
Reviewed 7 March 2014

We stayed at the Brierholme B&B back in January when we going to see a singer performing in a local cafe (who we have booked for our wedding). From the moment we walked through the door the hosts could not do enough for us. The room was really lovely with lots of character and a superb bathroom. We were impressed with all the little extras including high quality toiletries in the bathroom and some nice treats on the welcome tray. The location is great as you can just walk into the town in 5 minutes. The breakfast in the morning in their gorgeous dining room was the perfect start to the day. I can strongly recommend the salmon and scrambled eggs. The hosts were so lovely and we cannot wait to return soon.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jen_and_Tom2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2014

The location is great. less than 5 minutes from the bus station and the main street. The room is very clean and comfy with all the amenities you need. The breakfast, like everyone said, is very delicious, done plate by plate by Trevor himself. And their hospitality and helpfulness, we went with just rough plans of what we would like to do but Geraldine helped us with so much with her great suggestions ( along with all the maps and bus schedules etc. ) and we got to climb the catbells and beyond and walked around the lake on one day, and went to Thirlmere and Grasmere on another. Very memorable!!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TerraRex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2014

My husband and I chose this guest house based on the excellent tripadvisor reviews and I'm pleased to say it met all our expectations. The bed was extremely comfortable and the en-suite shower room was excellent. Both the bedroom and the en-suite were immaculate. The addition of a tray on the floor in the bedroom for your footwear is an excellent idea as we had lovely muddy boots after our walk!
Breakfast was very tasty (we had the full english both days we were there) and set us up for the day ahead.
The location is ideal, the main square is a couple of minutes away and the guest house itself was easy to find on our arrival. Another excellent point to note is that the guest house has parking.
Gerry and Trevor are delightful and cheery hosts and always greet you with a smile. If we find ourselves returning to Keswick Brierholme will be the first choice for a place to stay and we'll recommend it to anyone we know who heads up to the Lake District.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 6, which is on the top floor up two flights of stairs.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vicki S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2014

Both Geraldine and Trevor were so friendly, nothing is too much for them. The weather was a bit rubbish when we visited but they recommended a few places we could visit. This was our second visit, definitely will not be our last! Thank you.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 8, the new room in the attic. It has amazing views both at the front and the back. The ceiling is rather low for my boyfriend, who is 6'2" but otherwise excellent.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kpm12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2014

A wonderful 2 night stay at this fabulous guest-house. The hosts, Gerry and Trevor are very welcoming, our room was very tastefully decorated with a lovely en-suite shower room, The breakfasts were amazing, lots of choice and cooked to order - the best cooked breakfast I have eaten! The guest-house itself is in a very convenient location with on site parking, which is a huge bonus.
A return visit is definitely on the agenda.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caza24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews