We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Brierholme Guest House
Ranked #7 of 196 Keswick B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Just spent the Easter weekend at Brierholme and we had the best stay. Gerry and Trevor are great hosts and would recommend staying here if you are visiting Keswick. The rooms are furnished with everything you need (including a great view!) and its the little touches in the rooms which make it feel like home. They even have a fridge in the reception area where you can get a pot of milk for your tea! The breakfasts are delicious and set you up for the day, all manner of cereal, fruit, english breakfast and any combination you want. Only a 5 minute walk to Derwent Water and easy to walk to Catbells from this guesthouse. The town centre is just outside the door! Don't bother looking anywhere else, just stay here, you won't be disappointed!

Room Tip: We had room 5 which had a great view over to Catbells.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wills27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (621)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

446 - 452 of 621 reviews

Reviewed 23 April 2014

My husband and I stayed at Brierholme in September last year. We arrive to a very warm and hearty welcome from Gerry who directed us with parking. She then very generously shared with us the interesting things to do (and with some caution as to which trails we may want to give more thought to before trying - good and kind advice as we are not exactly very young)
She brought us to the room and we were so surprised that it is so clean, modern and nice. They have done a great job of renovating it. It was super clean and smelled fresh and nice. The bed was very comfortable and wifi is excellent.
The breakfast is one of the best we have had in the various B&B's that we have stayed at. The room is nice and cosy. Gerry and Trevor provided very attentive service.
We went on long walks around the various lakes and it was nice to come back in the evening to such a welcoming place.

It is also in a very convenient location - within easy reach of various places that we were interested in.
It was clear to us that Gerry and Trevor just love what they do and make sure that their guests have the best possible time in the area.. Thanks.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Guimei-SG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

Over the years we have stayed in many B&B's, Guesthouses etc and I have to say Brierholme is the absolute best. From the location to the accommodation, everything is faultless.

The rooms are spotlessly clean, the hosts are so helpful, kind and jovial. Nothing is too much trouble. The breakfasts, whether full English, or of your own creation are wonderful and Gerry and Trevor are both so cheerful and helpful, it puts you in great mood to start your day.

The rooms cannot be faulted - extra touches like the little pots of cotton buds and cotton wool, tissues, endless supplies of tea, coffee, hot chocolate, biscuits, shower gel and body lotion are all the little things that add up to total perfection. And clean?? Cleanest rooms ever considering how busy this place is!!

Everything has been thought of - there's a fridge in the hall where you can help yourself to fresh milk for your room or you can chill a bottle of wine or two!

I cannot rate this place enough. Usually when we leave, we're keen to get home but this was like leaving home and we cannot wait to go back.

I believe Gerry and Trevor could give a masterclass on how to run a guesthouse. They have it nailed!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vivienne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

Just back from this wonderful guest house with some great friends who reccommended it to us.
I second everything that was said before by the "stanleyconvert" reviewer.
We were very pleased with everything the place had to offer. Attention to details & cleanliness were second to none and I can't stop raving about the owners Geri & Trevor who were both very welcoming and could not do enough to make our stay a pleasant one. They were very knowledgeable of the area and could answer all our questions. Overall a fantastic stay in pleasant surroundings and had a very "special" breakfast on one of the 2 days we stopped there which turned out to br my favourite :-)) Full marks there then.
We will be definitely going back and also recommend this very little gem of a guesthouse to all our friends & families.
Many thanks to the hosts ( Trevor & Geri) and keep up the good work you do.
Perry & Sheila x

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maurichap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014

Just back from the Brierholme and again we have had a fabulous weekend made that extra bit special by staying in this wonderful B&B. Owners Gerry and Trevor truely deserve the accolades the get on here, they are a wonderful couple who are passionate about their business and their guests requirements.This time we traveled with two newbies to the Brierholme and left them to make their own minds up and to be honest they could,nt stop raving about it.
The accommodation is as clean and pristine as the first time we visited, Trevor,s full English is a credit to him and the two of them are pleasure to be around at breakfast time (smiley faces all round) and there always seems to be time for a chat about the day ahead or some advice about where to walk or dine.
The Brierholme itself is located right on the edge of the main street so once the car is parked up it really do,es not need to move all weekend there are a plethora of watering holes and eating establishments all within a 10 minute stroll (and a 10 minute crawl back) 15 minutes and you can be at the side of Derwentwater.
If you are looking for a couple of days in the lakes the Brierholme is the place to stay (but leave room for me and the wife) we have already booked again for the 3/4th of October with 10 friends !!!!!!

Room Tip: Any ! they all have views of the fells but room 2 is our favorite on the front with the bay window o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stanleyconvert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014

This place is a must if staying in lakes very nice owners great breakfasts and lovely comfortable room with a great view of skiddaw.They catered for all your needs and new all local knowledge.Well recommened and should be number one on tripadvisor keep up the good work.

Room Tip: Get the loft room for the brilliant views of skiddaw and latrigg.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank philip b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2014

I booked Brierholme for my husband's birthday Weekend away and I am so glad I did! We arrived to a very welcoming Gerry who showed us where to park. We had Room 6 which was lovely and comfortable (very comfy bed) and she explained how everything worked. The Guest House is only about two mins from shops and a ten/fifteen minute walk to the lake. The breakfasts were delicious and the hosts were lovely. We would recommend Brierholme to everybody and we will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Keswick hotels
5.5 mi away
Scafell Hotel
Scafell Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rosthwaite
871 reviews
0 mi away
Thornleigh Guest House
Thornleigh Guest House
#3 of 196 in Keswick
422 reviews
0.2 mi away
Avondale Guest House
Avondale Guest House
#2 of 196 in Keswick
392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Stonegarth Guest House
Stonegarth Guest House
#10 of 196 in Keswick
577 reviews
0.2 mi away
LakeSide House
LakeSide House
#11 of 196 in Keswick
625 reviews
0.9 mi away
Burnside B&B
Burnside B&B
#8 of 196 in Keswick
616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brierholme Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brierholme Guest House

Address: 21 Bank Street, Keswick CA12 5JZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 196 B&Bs / Inns in Keswick
Price Range: £86 - £88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Brierholme Guest House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Brierholme is just a 1 minute walk from the centre of Keswick. Private parking for all guests and secure storage for motorbikes and cycles. A warm and friendly welcome is assured as well as a delicious Cumbrian breakfast. Double and Twin rooms are available, all en-suite and there are splendid fell views from all rooms. Flat screen TVs, hairdryers, radio alarm clocks, individually controlled central heating, welcome trays. Free Wi-Fi is available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your Brierholme Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brierholme Guest House Keswick, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing