We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Hen Weekend!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Brierholme Guest House
Ranked #8 of 189 Keswick B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Last weekend a group of us stayed at Trever and Gerry's wonderful guesthouse and used it as a base to climb Scafell and go out in Keswick in the evenings. What a find! apart from the spotlessly clean, wonderfully appointed rooms and very convenient location, we were so impressed by the lovely warm welcome, helpful advice and delicious breakfasts, which catered equally well for meat-eaters and veggies alike. Room 7 (a lovely little twin room) had a wonderful view of the peaks and the rising sun. We had a memorable weekend and I even tried to book for a couple of months ahead for a return visit as a newly married couple but they were booked out, so make sure you plan ahead.

Room Tip: If you're quite happy climbing stairs, the room right at the top,which my friend Jane had would...
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Penny T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (596)
There are newer reviews for Brierholme Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

384 - 390 of 596 reviews

Reviewed 26 July 2014

Really can't fault this welcoming guesthouse - spotlessly clean throughout, very conveniently located in the town centre so you can leave the car parked up and start your lakeside walks right away. The hosts Trevor and Gerry are very helpful and gave advice on local walks, places to eat, and the day's weather forecast. Food was lovely - especially the homemade marmalade! and as vegetarians we were given plenty of options. Very quiet considering it's central location, and with nice views of the fells. Looking forward to returning

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank RockinRambler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014

Trevor and Gerry provide 5 star service at a price that accommodates the working man.
The en-suite bedrooms are immaculate - with quality toiletries and tea/coffee-making provisions.
But sleeping late is not recommended because the breakfasts are really something special.
This year was our second time we stayed we had stayed at Brierholme and we've already booked a week next year with our group of friends.
Between Trevor's cooking and Gerry's cheerful service and management, together with the excellent central, yet quiet, position, Brierholme is superb value.
Ken Q.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Ken Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014

I am a grumbler, I like to have a grumble, hence my name and the reason I do Trip Advisor.
I only have one grumble about Brierholme, and that is that I cannot indulge in my favourite pastime of grumbling

We like Room 3 with the lovely bay window on the front of the house, but we also really enjoyed staying in the room at the top of the house with views across Skiddaw. I notice a previous reviewer did not appreciate the climb to this room, but as an old, fat, unfit grumbler, this was not an issue for me. The views across Skiddaw were glorious, and what a sight to wake up to!

This B&B, and its owners, are an absolute delight! Everything is spotless, very comfortable rooms, delicious breakfasts, nothing is too much trouble. This, along with an ideal location in the centre of town, makes this the best B&B in Keswick. No I'm wrong...... Trevor and Gerry's surname must be Carlsberg , because it's probably the best B&B...in the world!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank grumblingertie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Well, this was our 4th stay with Gerry and Trevor and we stayed for two nights this time. Fabulous time as always. Breakfast blooming marvelous !! Room stunning- loving the wallpaper Gerry !
Spotless, warm and friendly. Great time even though we walked round Derwent water and my shins are killing me - thank you so much both of you for making our little break a fab one xxxx
we will be back but dont forget the plastic spoons you know me with large heavy cutlery.xxx

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Lindsay H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014 via mobile

What a lovely guest house. Gerry and Trevor were wonderful hosts and so helpful. Breakfast amazing. Would highly recommend and would definitely return.
Ideally situated and close to pubs, shops etc.
Thanks once again Gerry and Trevor

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Elliecool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

You are assured of a warm welcome at Brierholme where nothing is too much trouble. Trevors's breakfasts are first class and Gerry does everything to make your stay a good one. The rooms are clean and comfortable, most have views of the fells. A great location, Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GuysGrandpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Keswick hotels
0.3 mi away
The Keswick Country House Hotel
0.9 mi away
The Derwentwater Hotel
The Derwentwater Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portinscale
735 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Skiddaw Hotel
The Skiddaw Hotel
#12 of 17 in Keswick
762 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Inn on the Square
Inn on the Square
#6 of 17 in Keswick
653 reviews
0.0 mi away
Thornleigh Guest House
Thornleigh Guest House
#1 of 189 in Keswick
391 reviews
0.9 mi away
Burnside B&B
Burnside B&B
#5 of 189 in Keswick
601 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brierholme Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brierholme Guest House

Address: 21 Bank Street, Keswick CA12 5JZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 189 B&Bs / Inns in Keswick
Price Range: £87 - £88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Brierholme Guest House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Brierholme is just a 1 minute walk from the centre of Keswick. Private parking for all guests and secure storage for motorbikes and cycles. A warm and friendly welcome is assured as well as a delicious Cumbrian breakfast. Double and Twin rooms are available, all en-suite and there are splendid fell views from all rooms. Flat screen TVs, hairdryers, radio alarm clocks, individually controlled central heating, welcome trays. Free Wi-Fi is available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Brierholme Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brierholme Guest House Keswick, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing