We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's the difference that makes the difference!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Keswick
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Cartwheel Guest House
Ranked #30 of 189 Keswick B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 February 2012

My partner says I am fussy, and quite rightly so! Having never stayed in the Lake District before, I did lots of research on the internet and trawled through the endless pages of hotels and B + B's - so if you are anything like me, I can save you the job this time as I personally don't think you will find anything better.
The cartwheel is immaculately clean, smells fresh and is spotless ..... Our bedroom (room 2) was very comfortable and offered ample storage space for all our walking gear, coats, boots etc. Again, the bedroom was spotless, tastefully decorated along with lovely furnishings, crisp white sheets and fluffy white towels. The breakfast was tasty and we enjoyed good quality products in a pleasant dining area. We walked around Derwent Lake (oops, I've just remembered I didn't return the leaflet with the map on - sorry)! and gosh what scenery, it was idyllic .... following our 9 mile walk we returned to the Cartwheel which is literally a stones throw from the town centre and oh what joy awaited us, gorgeous home made coconut cake in the dining room - it was truly scrumptious!
Bernie did a spectacular job whilst his wife was recuperating from an op, he took multi-tasking to its limit and managed to spend time with us offering his knowledge of the local area.
I can't wait to return - we will be back!!! (with a few others next time)

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank joperada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheCartwheelKeswick, Owner at The Cartwheel Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2012

Bernie and I would like to thank you for taking the time to write this review. Your very kind comments are greatly appreciated, especially in the light of our situation with my health at the weekend. It has been a very stressful time for both of us during the last week and Bernie was always concerned that with me being out of action, it could affect the level of service and so enjoyment of our guests booked to stay. It really lightened his heart to read that his efforts to try and keep some degree of normality had paid off. Thank you again and it would indeed be nice to have you stay with us again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (290)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

167 - 173 of 290 reviews

Reviewed 14 February 2012

Having just returned from a fantastic weekend where we stayed at the cartwheel for two nights.We just had to write a review.It was fantastic we couldn't fault a single thing.We met tina and bernie who were great,very welcoming and would do anything they could to help.Our bedroom was lovely and the home throughout was immaculately clean.The full english breakfast was superb just what you need to start the day.We would reccomend this b&b to anyone who wants a warm welcome, super comfy bed and the best full english breakfast and it's only a two minute walk into keswick town centre.We will definetly stay at the cartwheel in future.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank angela r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2012

Our first visit to Keswick and definately not our last!
We found The Cartwheel after trawling the internet for somewhere to stay that didn't replicate a retirement home. On our arrival we were greated by Bernie, who treated us as old friends and promptly offered us some of his fantastic home made cake.
We stayed in Room 1, with a view of Skiddaw, although the low lying fog did camoflage it somewhat. The room was of ample size and you could clearly tell that lots of effort had been made in making the room comfortable.
There are lots of choices for breakfast and, being vegetarian, I was pleasently suprised that Tina and Bernie offered as much vegetarian options as meat options. My husband said it was the best full english he's ever had!!!
The Cartwheel is located only a 2 minute walk away from the centre of Keswick, with Derwentwater only 10 minutes walk away.
We will definately be back to stay at The Cartwheel sometime soon***

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emma p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2012

Everything about the Cartwheel is wonderful and this is because the hosts, Tina and Bernie are so wonderfully welcoming and treat you like friends. The house and bedrooms are beautiful, the location is 2 minutes from the middle of Keswick and the breakfasts are superb. Tina & Bernie cannot do enough for you and theres the home made cakes that Bernie makes if he has the time...yum! We will definitely return at some point this year hoepfully....highly recommended and feels like your at home, away from home! lovely!

Room Tip: all rooms are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thekendaljoneses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2012

Tina and bernie were fantastic hosts. Really welcoming, like meeting old friends. The room was lovely and modern with great little touches like corkscrew ect. Breakfast was also great. We will be back.
Ps wait till you see your towels too. Fab!

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kie_taylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2011

I stayed in a single room - non ensuite for a couple of nights. I found the cartwheel to be absolutely spotless, the bathroom was on the floor below and gave the choice of a bath or seperate shower - the shower was the best i have had, the water pressure is fab. Toiletries are provided as is a bathrobe. Hairdryer provided in the room, the bed was extremely comfortable, free wi-fi, practically everything you could need for a short stay. The breakfast was lovely and the hosts very friendly and helpful. I loved the towel art, i had a dog, my only complaint was that i had to waste it in order to use the towels - and had to eat the chocolate square which made up the dogs mouth. Overall i would recommend the Cartwheel to anyone, there is nothing to complain about, it is also closer to the town center than you imagine.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank izzy96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2011

We are repeat visitors at this fantastic B & B. The standards have always been high but each time we stay we are bowled over by the cleanliness and up keep of this establishment. Tina & Bernie are the most friendliest hosts you could imagine. They always give a very warm welcome and nothing is too much trouble.

If you are looking for somewhere to stay in Keswick then don't look any further it's not worth the time and effort as you won't find anywhere better than the Cartwheel!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2NorthYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheCartwheelKeswick, Owner at The Cartwheel Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2011

In today's world where the expectations of many are for over-sized suites, large T.V's and Jacuzzi baths, it means a great deal to us when our guests rate us so highly based purely on what we have to offer ... Clean, Comfortable Accommodation, good food and topped off with warm, traditional B&B Hospitality. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Keswick hotels
0.0 mi away
Avondale Guest House
Avondale Guest House
#2 of 189 in Keswick
373 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cumbria House
Cumbria House
#24 of 189 in Keswick
96 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dolly Waggon Guest House
Dolly Waggon Guest House
#91 of 189 in Keswick
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Edwardene Hotel
Edwardene Hotel
#26 of 189 in Keswick
277 reviews
0.1 mi away
Honister House
Honister House
#20 of 189 in Keswick
334 reviews
0.2 mi away
Brierholme Guest House
Brierholme Guest House
#8 of 189 in Keswick
607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cartwheel Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cartwheel Guest House

Address: 5 Blencathra Street, Keswick CA12 4HW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 189 B&Bs / Inns in Keswick
Price Range: £32 - £36 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nigel and Debra can assure you of a warm welcome at our traditional slate Victorian Guest House, conveniently located close to Keswick town centre, Derwentwater and the spectacular northern fells. We provide hearty lakeland breakfasts and can cater for most guest's dietary requirements (just let us know at time of booking). Packed lunches are available at a nominal cost and we will be pleased to fill your flask with tea or coffee free of charge, just drop it off at breakfast. When you arrive back from your busy day, home-made cake will be waiting for you! Whatever brings you to Keswick and the beautiful landscape of the surrounding lakes and fells, we aim to make your stay with us an enjoyable and memorable one, with good standards of accommodation and service for all our guests. We are Walker and Cyclist friendly. 2017 rates - Single rooms £ 35 - £ 40; Double /Twin rooms £74 - £80. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Cartwheel Guest House Keswick, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing