We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Thank you”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Keswick
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Cartwheel Guest House
Ranked #29 of 175 Keswick B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Thank you”
Reviewed 27 August 2012

I have never been to the Lake District before and therefore had to rely on other travelers' reviews. I decided to try The Cartwheel - and luckily got a room over the bank holiday weekend (I stayed for 2 nights).
Tina and Bernie are wonderful people, helpful and caring, who made me feel very welcome. My single room was small, but compact with single bed, desk and drawyers, a small TV and a sink (my room was not ensuite - 2 rooms have shared facilities, all others are ensuite). Everything was very clean and tidy, and the breakfast was heaven. Every morning you could start with cereals and fresh fruit followed by either a full English breakfast (vegetarian option available) or sandwiches / toasts (several different fillings to choose from).
Tina and Bernie are also very familiar with the town and area and could give valued recommendations for walks and restaurants etc. I really enjoyed my stay at the Cartwheel and if I make it up to the Lake District again (hopefully!) this would be my first choice to stay again!
Thank you Tina and Bernie!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caycee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheCartwheelKeswick, Owner at The Cartwheel Guest House, responded to this review, 28 August 2012
Bernie and I would like to thank you for your very kind comments. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and your first visit to Keswick. Lets hope it was the first of many and next time you come to stay with us, we'll try for better weather. No promises mind..this is The Lake District afterall !!! Take care and hopefully we'll see you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    258
    9
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
12
136
43
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kent
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2012

This is the friendliest place I have ever stayed in. Tina and Bernie are the perfect hosts and give you a genuinely warm welcome. They make sure you are well looked after and are so kind, approachable and thoughtful and very knowledgable about the area and any walks you might want to do. The cartwheel is in a quiet residential part of Keswick but very close to the high street. My single room was very comfortable and had everything I needed. The bedding was gorgeous, soft white Egyptian cotton. I loved the towel designs, mine was an elephant. I shared a bathroom with one other person but you wouldn't have known it was shared, it felt like my own personal bathroom! Lovely bath, tons of hot water, great shower. The breakfast was yummy too, freshly cooked and plentiful, I can really recommend the mushrooms and cream cheese on toast for a lighter alternative to the delicious full cooked breakfast. The atmosphere at breakfast was friendly too, sometimes in B&Bs you get this awkward silence but not at the Cartwheel where the conversation is easy and relaxed and this is down to Tina and Bernie's personalities (but at the same time you don't feel forced to be sociable). As for the home made cakes in the afternoon, Oh my Lord, they were fantastic, the choc chip coconut cookies were divine. I was so sorry to leave and can't wait to go back. If you are going to Keswick and want very reasonably priced, lovely, comfortable accommodation, stay at the Cartwheel, I can't recommend it enough.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank puddleduckKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2012

We stayed at The Cartwheel in March and had a wonderful stay. You couldn't ask for friendlier hosts and the complimentary cake? Mmmmm! Definitely the best place we've stayed in The Lakes. Our room was fairly compact and the bathroom tiny, but everywhere was immaculate and the bed was nice and comfy. Breakfast was delicious- the sausages on the full English make my mouth water even now. Lovely stay and we were so disappointed it was booked up when we wanted to come in April- had to stay in a far less joyful place!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Luce007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at The Cartwheel Guest House, responded to this review, 16 July 2012
Thank you for taking the time and trouble to write this pleasant and honest review of your stay at The Cartwheel. We regularly remark to our guests that we are a "What you see, is what you get" Bed and Breakfast ... it's good to know that this is appreciated in what we have to offer during a stay with us in our home and this comes across very well in your .."tell it like it is" review.
Thanks again and hopefully we'll be able to accommodate you again in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worthing, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 18 June 2012

Very comfortable and welcoming. Breakfast was exceptional with a wide range of choice not usually on offer. We returned at the end of each day to find free goodies to include delicious rock cakes and jam muffins. The owners went out of their way to make our stay enjoyable.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank david w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yoork, UK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2012

We (a group of us on our annual activity long-weekend) have just returned from a wonderful stay at this bed and breakfast in Keswick. The owners were friendly and informative, the food (including the vegetarian option) for breakfast was delicious, the rooms were clean and cleaned and tidied every day, the location central to town, and the price reasonable.
Also, because there were birthday cards in one of our rooms the owners rightly guessed that it was the birthday of the guest in that room. So, the next morning he got a lighted candle stuck in his sausage presented to him at breakfast. Now that's what I call customer service!

Room Tip: Discuss your needs with the owners.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravellingLighter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2012

Arrived to a lovely warm greeting from Tina and Bernie, we were shown our room and were impressed! Lovely decor and very clean! Especially liked the towel arrangement - shaped into an elephant and dog! Once I lay on the bed I could have very easily stayed there all day - very comfy. Wish we could have stayed longer - lovely place to rest your head (and fill up with a delicious full english breakfast, and free cake if in the afternoon you're peckish!) would love to return soon!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lauren T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shelburne Falls, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2012

Not only was the B&B centrally located,and the food fantastic, but the owners were delightful and really made our entire trip

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnP32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheCartwheelKeswick, Owner at The Cartwheel Guest House, responded to this review, 25 May 2012
We should like to thank you for your very kind comments. It's good to know that we played a part in making your trip to England an enjoyable one and may we say it was a joy to share our home with you guys. May be if you ever get the chance to return to The Lakes, you would look us up and come to stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Keswick hotels
0.2 mi away
Rooms36
Rooms36
#98 of 175 in Keswick
5.0 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
0.0 mi away
Dalkeith Guest House
Dalkeith Guest House
#87 of 175 in Keswick
5.0 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
0.1 mi away
Babbling Brook Guesthouse
Babbling Brook Guesthouse
#33 of 175 in Keswick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Avondale Guest House
Avondale Guest House
#7 of 175 in Keswick
5.0 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
0.2 mi away
Parkfield Guest House
Parkfield Guest House
#36 of 175 in Keswick
5.0 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Beeches Guest House
The Beeches Guest House
#31 of 175 in Keswick
5.0 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cartwheel Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cartwheel Guest House

Property: The Cartwheel Guest House
Address: 5 Blencathra Street, Keswick CA12 4HW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 175 B&Bs / Inns in Keswick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nigel and Debra can assure you of a warm welcome at our traditional slate Victorian Guest House, conveniently located close to Keswick town centre, Derwentwater and the spectacular northern fells. We provide hearty lakeland breakfasts and can cater for most guest's dietary requirements (just let us know at time of booking). Packed lunches are available at a nominal cost and we will be pleased to fill your flask with tea or coffee free of charge, just drop it off at breakfast. When you arrive back from your busy day, home-made cake will be waiting for you! Whatever brings you to Keswick and the beautiful landscape of the surrounding lakes and fells, we aim to make your stay with us an enjoyable and memorable one, with good standards of accommodation and service for all our guests. We are Walker and Cyclist friendly. 2017 rates - Single rooms £ 35 - £ 40; Double /Twin rooms £74 - £80. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Cartwheel Guest House Keswick, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing