We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Keswick
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Cartwheel Guest House
Ranked #26 of 175 Keswick B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle, United Kingdom
1 review
“Brilliant!”
Reviewed 2 December 2012

We have just got back from a weekend in Keswick where we stayed at The Cartwheel. We arrived to a very warm welcome and couldnt have asked for more. Our room was cosy and immaculately clean, breakfast was delicious but more importantly Bernie and Tina really go the extra mile to add the little touches that makes their Guesthouse special.
A lovely couple who took the time to have a good chat with us and made us feel at home. We will definitely be going back!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CarlyTM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheCartwheelKeswick, Owner at The Cartwheel Guest House, responded to this review, 3 December 2012
Bernie and I would like to say thank you for your kind comments. We are pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and that we went someway into to making it feel a homely and friendly one. It would be nice to have you both back to stay with us again. In the not too distant future, we hope!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

274 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    262
    10
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
12
139
44
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2012

Excellent stay. Very welcoming and cozy, felt it was home from home. Room was spacious, clean and well presented - couldnt have asked for more. Bed was comfy and breakfast delicious.
Hope to be back again soon. Thank you again Tina and Bernie (and Blue) for a lovely stay.
PS. The chocolate cake it was a delight.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pringles39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 3 November 2012

What more can be said that has not already been said? Clean, fresh,warm and friendly, mountains of scrumptious food at breakfast and delicious cake and biscuits to stave off hunger in the afternoon. Tina & Bernie are wonderful hosts and provide just that little bit extra to make your stay special. Will be recommending to my friends and family when they visit the Lakes.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sian57_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2012 via mobile

The Cartwheel is the most welcoming B&B we have visited over many years coming to Keswick.From the moment you arrive Tina & Bernie make you feel that you are home from home.Our room was nicely decorated with a really comfy bed and after a long days walk the en-suite shower was perfect.We could also keep tabs on the family with the free WI-FI.The breakfast menu was excellent and was enjoyed thoroughly !
We hope to return soon & for many years to come !

Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Mickjnr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2012

Having stayed in numerous B & Bs in Keswick over the years, I must be well qualified to judge the Cartwheel Guest House! Let's just get straight to the point shall we! This is, without a shadow of doubt, the BEST B & B IN KESWICK bar none - enough said!!
Without going into all the details, Tina and Bernie are the warmest, friendliest business couple I have ever met.
It's quite ironic really that on the breakfast table every morning there was a breakfast menu (excellent choice of course) on your table.
Tina and Bernie were admitting that, relatively speaking, they had not been in this type of business ever before and that if guests could advise them what they may be doing wrong they would be grateful.
Let me advise them both: 'Just keep on doing what you are doing at the moment - you can't fail!'.
I will be coming to Theatre by the Lake again next year and already looking forward to staying at The Cartwheel.
Best wishes and thanks again to Tina, Bernie and Blue.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chaz8119
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheCartwheelKeswick, Owner at The Cartwheel Guest House, responded to this review, 17 October 2012
HI, thanks ever so much for taking the time to write this review. Your candid comments are gratefully received. We are as stated, always open to suggestions for any way we could possibly enhance our guests’ stay with us, but appreciate that in your opinion we seem to be in the main getting it just right. Thanks again, we’ll be more than happy to see you again next year. Best wishes Tina, Bernie & Blue.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2012

Have just spent three nights at this lovely b&b - can honestly say that cannot find a single fault even if I was looking for one! Wonderful welcome - and the attention to detail and friendliness continued throughout our stay.....and quality of everything - whether comfort or food - was second to none..thanks again.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnieFinlay-Trotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheCartwheelKeswick, Owner at The Cartwheel Guest House, responded to this review, 15 October 2012
Hi. Thanks ever so much for your kind comments. We are always pleased to hear when our guests have enjoyed their stay with us in our home and should you ever be up this way again in the future you will be more than welcome. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alnwick, England, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 24 September 2012

Just returned from a two night stay with Tina and Bernie. Discovered this gem of a b&b on trip advisor, and my word, what a find. We were welcomed by the friendliest of hosts, and shown to excellent accommodation. Extra touches such as free home made cake, and the magnificent breakfasts. Tina even booked a table for us at a local restaurant (beyond the call of duty).
We can't wait to go again, and can't recommend them too highly.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lillian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheCartwheelKeswick, Owner at The Cartwheel Guest House, responded to this review, 26 September 2012
Bernie and I would like to thank you for taking the time to write this review and for your very kind comments. We hope that you will be able to come to share own home again in the not too distant future. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Keswick hotels
0.1 mi away
Babbling Brook Guesthouse
Babbling Brook Guesthouse
#41 of 175 in Keswick
181 reviews
0.0 mi away
Avondale Guest House
Avondale Guest House
#7 of 175 in Keswick
336 reviews
0.7 mi away
Woodside Bed & Breakfast
Woodside Bed & Breakfast
#21 of 175 in Keswick
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Honister House
Honister House
#3 of 175 in Keswick
321 reviews
0.2 mi away
Howe Keld
Howe Keld
#20 of 175 in Keswick
91 reviews
0.1 mi away
Herdwick Guest House
Herdwick Guest House
#74 of 175 in Keswick
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cartwheel Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cartwheel Guest House

Property: The Cartwheel Guest House
Address: 5 Blencathra Street, Keswick CA12 4HW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 175 B&Bs / Inns in Keswick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nigel and Debra can assure you of a warm welcome at our traditional slate Victorian Guest House, conveniently located close to Keswick town centre, Derwentwater and the spectacular northern fells. We provide hearty lakeland breakfasts and can cater for most guest's dietary requirements (just let us know at time of booking). Packed lunches are available at a nominal cost and we will be pleased to fill your flask with tea or coffee free of charge, just drop it off at breakfast. When you arrive back from your busy day, home-made cake will be waiting for you! Whatever brings you to Keswick and the beautiful landscape of the surrounding lakes and fells, we aim to make your stay with us an enjoyable and memorable one, with good standards of accommodation and service for all our guests. We are Walker and Cyclist friendly. 2017 rates - Single rooms £ 35 - £ 40; Double /Twin rooms £74 - £80. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Cartwheel Guest House Keswick, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing