We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Doug & Karen”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Keswick
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Cartwheel Guest House
Ranked #32 of 173 Keswick B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Hull
1 review
“Doug & Karen”
Reviewed 5 March 2013

This was our first time staying at The Cartwheel and I would definately recommend staying here. The beds were very clean the rooms were immaculate and the breakfasts fantastic. Thank you Tina and Bernie. If your looking for somewhere to stay in Keswick give this place a go you wont regret it.

Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Doug P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheCartwheelKeswick, Owner at The Cartwheel Guest House, responded to this review, 19 March 2013
Hi guys. Thanks ever so much for your comments, they are greatly appreciated. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us and thank you for recommending us to possible guests wishing to stay in Keswick. If ever you're back up in this neck of the woods, we would love to see you both again. Just give us a call.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    264
    10
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
13
141
44
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Workington, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 3 March 2013

I would definitely recommend this place to anyone staying in Keswick. Immaculately clean, nicely decorated and very friendly and welcoming. Lots of little extras I wasn't expecting, dressing gown, hairdryer, corkscrew, wine glass and water glass, lovely soft thick towels and tea and coffee making facilities. I was here after a days walking as some friends were also staying in town. I stayed in a single room with a shared bathroom, most of the other rooms are ensuite so even if full, you'd only share the bathroom with one other room so don't let that put you off! The bathroom was immaculate at all times and had bath and shower. Breakfast menu had a great selection, I had a full english which was lovely with good quality ingredients, and fresh coffee. Great location too as it's right in the town centre. I can't believe what brilliant value for money this place is, you could not fault it. Thank you for a lovely stay :)

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sharon j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheCartwheelKeswick, Owner at The Cartwheel Guest House, responded to this review, 4 March 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write this review and so soon after your stay. We are pleased to know that your room appears to have exceeded your expectations and that you feel it good value for money. We try to keep the costs down on our rooms with the shared bathroom without cutting corners on the facilities included within them. Thank you again and we hope to see you back with us in the future, perhaps for a slightly longer stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
north wales
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2013

What can we say that hasn't already been said before - this is THE place to stay in Keswick. We could mention the comfy beds, power showers, wonderful breakfasts, delicious afternoon cakes, warm and friendly atmosphere and brilliant hosts, but why not try it for yourself - you will have to go a long way to find a nicer place to stay. We have just returned from our 7th visit and can't wait to return in the Autumn.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank poppyNorthWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manchester
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2013

Yet again, we had a brill weekend at The Cartwheel. Lovely hosts, lovely B & B and lovely food. Stayed in Room 2 which is very comfortable with it's massive extremely comfortable bed. Ate out at The George Pub - food very nice and portions sizes very generous. Walked around the Lake (about 9 miles) on a glorious sunny day. You will be hard pushed to find a nicer place especially now Tina and Bernie have a beautiful addition at The Cartwheel - go see for yourself and you will definitely agree!!!

Room Tip: Book Room 2
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joperada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheCartwheelKeswick, Owner at The Cartwheel Guest House, responded to this review, 20 February 2013
Hi..thanks for writing this review and for your comments. We always appreciate it when our guests return for another stay and it was nice personally for me this time to spend a little more time with you. At least this time I was standing upright! Take care and we hope to see you both back here with us in our home before too long. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashford
1 review
Reviewed 28 January 2013

Beautifully decorated, wonderfully comfortable beds and great bath/shower rooms. Such great value. Delicious breakfast selection, top marks for the smoked salmon! Tina and Bernie are such attentive hosts and couldn't have done more to make our stay better! We will certainly be returning.

Room Tip: All rooms are beautifully presented, the single rooms aren't at all tiny and the double and twin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheCartwheelKeswick, Owner at The Cartwheel Guest House, responded to this review, 30 January 2013
Hi Rebecca
We trust you all arrived home safely and your journey wasn't too troublesome in all that snow.
Thank you for your comments and we're pleased to know you found the rooms in our home to be very comfortable and that you especially enjoyed our breakfast selection. Take care and it would be lovely to see you all back again sometime in the future, perhaps when it's a little easier to travel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2013

We had a weekend stay at the Cartwheel just before Christmas and felt that our Christmas started then. We felt comfortable and relaxed. Tina and Bernie are excellent hosts and made us feel so welcome from a genuinely warm greeting and throughout our stay. The guesthouse is everything you could wish for, spotlessly clean, beautifully decorated, comfy bed, first class breakfast and friendly people.
We took advantage of ordering the packed lunch which was very good value and very filling with freshly made sandwiches, home made cake, crisps, fruit and juice. As I had forgotten to bring a flask, Tina kindly loaned us one.
Bernie bakes wonderful cakes and as I love cake I enjoyed trying out the daily bake after a day out walking. I wont be looking any further than the Cartwheel for our next trip to Keswick. Thanks Tina and Bernie for a lovely weekend.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank susanlois333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheCartwheelKeswick, Owner at The Cartwheel Guest House, responded to this review, 18 January 2013
We trust you both had a great Christmas and New Year and we really appreciate you taking the time to share your thoughts about The Cartwheel. Thank you for your very kind comments. We are pleased to hear that you felt relaxed and enjoyed your stay with us in our home and would love to see you both here again in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 2 December 2012

We have just got back from a weekend in Keswick where we stayed at The Cartwheel. We arrived to a very warm welcome and couldnt have asked for more. Our room was cosy and immaculately clean, breakfast was delicious but more importantly Bernie and Tina really go the extra mile to add the little touches that makes their Guesthouse special.
A lovely couple who took the time to have a good chat with us and made us feel at home. We will definitely be going back!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CarlyTM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheCartwheelKeswick, Owner at The Cartwheel Guest House, responded to this review, 3 December 2012
Bernie and I would like to say thank you for your kind comments. We are pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and that we went someway into to making it feel a homely and friendly one. It would be nice to have you both back to stay with us again. In the not too distant future, we hope!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Keswick hotels
0.1 mi away
Babbling Brook Guesthouse
Babbling Brook Guesthouse
#42 of 173 in Keswick
183 reviews
0.1 mi away
Honister House
Honister House
#9 of 173 in Keswick
326 reviews
0.7 mi away
Woodside Bed & Breakfast
Woodside Bed & Breakfast
#22 of 173 in Keswick
131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Howe Keld
Howe Keld
#19 of 173 in Keswick
96 reviews
0.7 mi away
Craglands Guest House
Craglands Guest House
#78 of 173 in Keswick
138 reviews
0.1 mi away
Edwardene Hotel
Edwardene Hotel
#23 of 173 in Keswick
270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cartwheel Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cartwheel Guest House

Property: The Cartwheel Guest House
Address: 5 Blencathra Street, Keswick CA12 4HW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 173 B&Bs / Inns in Keswick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nigel and Debra can assure you of a warm welcome at our traditional slate Victorian Guest House, conveniently located close to Keswick town centre, Derwentwater and the spectacular northern fells. We provide hearty lakeland breakfasts and can cater for most guest's dietary requirements (just let us know at time of booking). Packed lunches are available at a nominal cost and we will be pleased to fill your flask with tea or coffee free of charge, just drop it off at breakfast. When you arrive back from your busy day, home-made cake will be waiting for you! Whatever brings you to Keswick and the beautiful landscape of the surrounding lakes and fells, we aim to make your stay with us an enjoyable and memorable one, with good standards of accommodation and service for all our guests. We are Walker and Cyclist friendly. 2017 rates - Single rooms £ 35 - £ 40; Double /Twin rooms £74 - £80. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Cartwheel Guest House Keswick, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing