We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic!!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Keswick
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Cartwheel Guest House
Ranked #29 of 189 Keswick B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 September 2013

We found The Cartwheel by accident having arrived in Keswick for an overnight stay and hadn't booked anywhere to stay! Bernie and Tina couldn't have been any better hosts and helped us out over and above the call of duty when we had a little car trouble! The Cartwheel is warm and welcoming, and in a lovely quiet area but only a short walk from the town centre. Our room was beautifully decorated and spotlessly clean and comfortable. The facilities were excellent and the breakfast was absolutely fantastic, with lots of choice and everything perfectly cooked. Thanks again for a more than pleasant stay. Would recommend The Cartwheel to anyone.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tracy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheCartwheelKeswick, Owner at The Cartwheel Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2013

Hi Guys. Thank you for writing this review, we're pleased to hear that even for such a short while you enjoyed your stay with us in our home. We take it that your car behaved itself long enough to get you both safely home and we're only happy that we were able to help, if only in a small way. Take care and transport willing, we'll hopefully see you both again some time in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (292)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

128 - 134 of 292 reviews

Reviewed 6 August 2013

have just got back from Keswick with the best friend had a fantastic stay at the cartwheel B&B. the hosts are fantastic they really make you feel welcome and cant do enough for you... the room was fab had a great nights sleep and fab breakfast. you get to choose what you want... its a home from home and a real find one of the best we have stayed in.Tina and Bernie are a fantastic couple who cant do enough for there guests and there little treasure Blue the fab dog. thanks for making us very welcome and hope to see you next year if we can get booked in.. so book early ands avoid dissapointment

Room Tip: room 5 bed fantastic great nights sleep
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marie t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheCartwheelKeswick, Owner at The Cartwheel Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2013

Bernie and I would like to thank you for writing this review and for your very kind comments. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and felt it a "home from home" and Blue is always happy to say hello to any guests who wish to greet him..he certainly enjoyed your company too. Take care and hopefully we'll see you back with us next year, if not before.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2013

Just got back from a fantastic weekend in Keswick (we visit Keswick a lot). We stayed at the Cartwheel for 2 nights and it was perfect. The room was adequate, comfortable and very clean Tina and Bernie were excellent hosts and nice and friendly. They cooked a lovely breakfast on both mornings and had a good knowledge of local walks. They also told us about the best places to eat. We'll definitely be going back again. An excellent bed and breakfast!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank michael h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2013

We loved our stay at the Cartwheel Guest House. The location was perfect, Street parking worked out fine. Our room was clean and comfortable, and Tina and Bernie were friendly and knowledgable, offering helpful information and advice. Breakfasts were great! We would certainly stay there again, and we highly recommend it to others.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheCartwheelKeswick, Owner at The Cartwheel Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2013

Hi Guys. Thanks ever so much for taking a little time out of your trip to write this review. It's always great to hear that our guests have enjoyed their stay with us and that you feel able to recommend us to others. Not sure where you'll be on right now, but trust you enjoyed Scotland and the weather wasn't too unkind to you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

Very clean and very comfortable and lovely friendly hosts Tina and Bernie. Thanks again for the lovely home baking it goes down a treat after a long walk in the hills. Good breakfast. Our 3rd visit to The Cartwheel and it wont be our last. We took our friends to visit Keswick they loved it when they go again they will stay at The Cartwheel which is so close to the centre only few minutes walk from all the pubs and restaurants.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank patricia h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheCartwheelKeswick, Owner at The Cartwheel Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2013

Hi Guys. Thanks for your comments, we are only sorry that we were unable on this occasion to accommodate you for the last night of your break. It's good to hear that your friends enjoyed their stay with us and their very first visit to the lakes. It would be lovely to have you all back here with us in the not too distant future and we'll do our utmost to make sure we have all the nights you need!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2013

Tina and Bernie welcome you into their home with advice on the area, wonderful breakfasts and home made bread. Clean, comfortable, very welcoming and with easy access into the town centre - 200 metres. We were looking to work within a budget so chose one single and one twin room without en-suite bathrooms. The bathroom and toilet were either on the same floor or down one flight of stairs but did not feel like a restriction at all (for the use of our two rooms only).

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2013

We were greeted warmly by Tina and Bernie when we arrived and they continued to be wonderful hosts throughout our stay.  They are now very experienced having run their B&B for several years.  Bernie's home baked biscuits were provided on arrival and a delicious piece of cake when we returned from our activities the following day.  His breakfasts are delicious and kept us going all day.
The house is centrally located in Keswick, about a 3 minute walk into the town centre for restaurants and shops.  Our room was very clean, comfortable and tastefully decorated.
Tina and Bernie are really genuine people who are very interested in what their guests are doing, and provide great recommendations and good information on activities.  Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Halcyontwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Keswick hotels
0.1 mi away
Cumbria House
Cumbria House
#26 of 189 in Keswick
99 reviews
0.1 mi away
Larry's Lodge
Larry's Lodge
#85 of 189 in Keswick
181 reviews
0.0 mi away
Avondale Guest House
Avondale Guest House
#2 of 189 in Keswick
383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Stonegarth Guest House
Stonegarth Guest House
#11 of 189 in Keswick
564 reviews
0.2 mi away
Underhill Guest House
Underhill Guest House
#27 of 189 in Keswick
101 reviews
0.6 mi away
Riverside Escape
Riverside Escape
#23 of 189 in Keswick
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cartwheel Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cartwheel Guest House

Address: 5 Blencathra Street, Keswick CA12 4HW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 189 B&Bs / Inns in Keswick
Price Range: £32 - £36 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nigel and Debra can assure you of a warm welcome at our traditional slate Victorian Guest House, conveniently located close to Keswick town centre, Derwentwater and the spectacular northern fells. We provide hearty lakeland breakfasts and can cater for most guest's dietary requirements (just let us know at time of booking). Packed lunches are available at a nominal cost and we will be pleased to fill your flask with tea or coffee free of charge, just drop it off at breakfast. When you arrive back from your busy day, home-made cake will be waiting for you! Whatever brings you to Keswick and the beautiful landscape of the surrounding lakes and fells, we aim to make your stay with us an enjoyable and memorable one, with good standards of accommodation and service for all our guests. We are Walker and Cyclist friendly. 2017 rates - Single rooms £ 35 - £ 40; Double /Twin rooms £74 - £80. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Cartwheel Guest House Keswick, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing