We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely break”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Keswick
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Cartwheel Guest House
Ranked #33 of 189 Keswick B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 October 2013

Stayed in September for a few days. A very warm welcome, to a clean comfortable room. The breakfast was tasty and the fruit salad was excellent. our favourite bit was the afternoon cake to welcome us back from our ramblings. We would be happy to recommend this accommodation to others.

Dave and Hazel

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank davebrown999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (292)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

122 - 128 of 292 reviews

Reviewed 12 October 2013

A gem of a place owned by such a wonderful couple. No request was too much trouble including walking routes, supplying of O.S.maps , best places in Keswick to eat and a great array of Lakeland reading matter. The single room had everything I needed, was extremely clean and well decorated. The hearty breakfast and afternoon home baked teas were delicious. Tina and Bernie were amazing hosts so warm and friendly. They and their many talents would easily grace an establishment anywhere. Brilliant free parking, only 2mins from Keswick town centre. The whole vacation was enhanced by my stay at the Cartwheel and I intend to stay again I will certainly recommend it to everyone. Great value for money(too cheap!) and this from a well travelled Yorkshireman

Room Tip: Do not worry about the single room with a sheared bathroom~~~I never had a problem. The power shower...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank john w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheCartwheelKeswick, Owner at The Cartwheel Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2013

Compliments indeed and as you say "from a Yorkshire man..." thank you. May we say that we too enjoyed your stay here with us. It was a joy to hear your cheerful whistling in the mornings. We're pleased to know that our traditional B&B offering more than met up to your expectations and that everything was in place to enable you to enjoy your visit. Take care and we hope to see you back here with us in Keswick in the not too distant future. Tina & Bernie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

My boyfriend and I were looking for somewhere to stay for a few nights that was comfortable and good value for money. We couldn't have asked for a better short break than our stay at the Cartwheel. Tina and Bernie were so welcoming from the moment we entered - despite being a little earlier than expected! They offered us delicious home made cakes each evening; provided us with spotless rooms; delicious hot breakfasts and hearty lunches to take away on our walks - we couldn't have asked for anything more!

Their friendly and personable approach made us feel right at home and Tina even let us borrow her walking book, so that we could explore the local area.

It was perfectly located, very clean, incredibly comfortable and we will be staying back here for years to come. I would recommend The Cartwheel to everyone - you must visit to appreciate this wonderful guest house.

Thank you so much again for everything!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Harriet_seb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheCartwheelKeswick, Owner at The Cartwheel Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2013

Hi Harriet and Seb. Thanks for your thoughtful comments regarding your recent stay with us in our home at The Cartwheel. It's always good to hear that our guests have felt very much at home from the moment they step through our door, that we provide clean comfortable accommodation and that you also felt it to be good value for money, an important issue during these testing financial times. We like to think that the people who choose to stay with us, arrive as guests, but leave as friends. We look forward to seeing you both again the next time you come to Keswick.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2013

staying in Keswick The Cartwheel Guest House is the place to stay would like to thank Bernie and Tina for making us feel really welcome from the minute they greet you at the door
the room was very comfortable to be in and spotless it had everything you needed with extras in it
the breakfast was wonderful tasty and also you had plenty of choice piping hot tea and hot toast to go with it
they guesthouse is just a few minutes away from the town centre and you can also park near the house
they also can give you any information about the area they are in and tell you they best places to go better than reading a book I would go back to stay there when I go back so once again thank you both for a nice stay June C

Room Tip: I stayed in room 6 had twin beds the toilet was on same landing and the bathroom was two floors down...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank june c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2013

We've just returned from a weekend at the cartwheel. It's the first time we had stayed in a B and B as we prefer the holiday lets when in the lakes, however I would have no problem returning here. The owners were friendly and keen to ensure guests had the best possible stay from checking whether we needed a restaurant reservation to helping another guest to plan a walk. The free scones and homemade chocolate biscuits were an added bonus :)

Room Tip: Book early to get on of the en suite rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Annmarie338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheCartwheelKeswick, Owner at The Cartwheel Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2013

Bernie and I would like to thank you for your comments. We're pleased that we were able to make your first stay in a B&B a comfortable and happy one. You never know, you could just get used to having your breakfast cooked for you .... far better than any self catering option eh! Take care and hopefully you'll come back for another taste very soon and may be next time take it a bit easier..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2013

I stayed for two nights at the Cartwheel B&B after reading about it on Tripadvisor. All I can say is what a lovely stay I had there. I had a very comfortable en-suite room. The room had everything I could want and more. The bathroom was immaculate and the bed was soft and welcoming.

There was no problem finding free parking In the street The location is only a short walk to town.
Tina and Bernie(the owners)made me feel like a guest in their home rather than a customer. I had ordered a veg breakfast which was delicious and prepared me for the day ahead. They went just that little bit further than other accommodation I have stayed at to make their guests comfortable.
The day I checked out I ordered a packed lunch which was most generous including yummy sandwiches, crisps, fruit and cakes.

All in all if you're looking for a great B&B in Keswick I cannot recommend this establishment enough. Thanks very much to you both and for noticing my "left luggage"

Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
Thank Joel28061966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheCartwheelKeswick, Owner at The Cartwheel Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2013

Thank you Joel for taking time out of your trip to write this review, it is most appreciated. We are always pleased to hear when our guests have enjoyed their stay with us and particularly that you felt more than just a paying customer. After all, that's what it's all about, ensuring our guests feel welcome and at home. With regards to your left luggage, we are just pleased that you had decided to go for a walk before leaving Keswick, so we could return them to you as quickly as possible. Take care and hopefully you may pass this way and stay with us again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2013

We found The Cartwheel by accident having arrived in Keswick for an overnight stay and hadn't booked anywhere to stay! Bernie and Tina couldn't have been any better hosts and helped us out over and above the call of duty when we had a little car trouble! The Cartwheel is warm and welcoming, and in a lovely quiet area but only a short walk from the town centre. Our room was beautifully decorated and spotlessly clean and comfortable. The facilities were excellent and the breakfast was absolutely fantastic, with lots of choice and everything perfectly cooked. Thanks again for a more than pleasant stay. Would recommend The Cartwheel to anyone.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tracy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheCartwheelKeswick, Owner at The Cartwheel Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2013

Hi Guys. Thank you for writing this review, we're pleased to hear that even for such a short while you enjoyed your stay with us in our home. We take it that your car behaved itself long enough to get you both safely home and we're only happy that we were able to help, if only in a small way. Take care and transport willing, we'll hopefully see you both again some time in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Keswick hotels
0.1 mi away
Edwardene Hotel
Edwardene Hotel
#26 of 189 in Keswick
282 reviews
0.7 mi away
Woodside Bed & Breakfast
Woodside Bed & Breakfast
#25 of 189 in Keswick
145 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cumbria House
Cumbria House
#27 of 189 in Keswick
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Parkfield Guest House
Parkfield Guest House
#29 of 189 in Keswick
222 reviews
0 mi away
Avondale Guest House
Avondale Guest House
#2 of 189 in Keswick
386 reviews
0.2 mi away
Swiss Court
Swiss Court
#17 of 189 in Keswick
177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cartwheel Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cartwheel Guest House

Address: 5 Blencathra Street, Keswick CA12 4HW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 189 B&Bs / Inns in Keswick
Price Range: £32 - £36 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nigel and Debra can assure you of a warm welcome at our traditional slate Victorian Guest House, conveniently located close to Keswick town centre, Derwentwater and the spectacular northern fells. We provide hearty lakeland breakfasts and can cater for most guest's dietary requirements (just let us know at time of booking). Packed lunches are available at a nominal cost and we will be pleased to fill your flask with tea or coffee free of charge, just drop it off at breakfast. When you arrive back from your busy day, home-made cake will be waiting for you! Whatever brings you to Keswick and the beautiful landscape of the surrounding lakes and fells, we aim to make your stay with us an enjoyable and memorable one, with good standards of accommodation and service for all our guests. We are Walker and Cyclist friendly. 2017 rates - Single rooms £ 35 - £ 40; Double /Twin rooms £74 - £80. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Cartwheel Guest House Keswick, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing