We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and welcoming”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Keswick
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Cartwheel Guest House
Ranked #26 of 175 Keswick B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Comfortable and welcoming”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

I have stayed at the Cartwheel several times and would not think of booking anywhere else in Keswick. Tina and Bernie have read the book on running successful B&Bs and followed it to the letter - everything is in place to make the stay comfortable and enjoyable.

Some of the many touches, beyond the comfortable, well provided rooms, that make this a lovely place to stay:
The breakfast - superb choice (which you make on a selection sheet the night before) using the best ingredients. Great flexibility whether you want a large or small breakfast.
The afternoon cakes - made fresh every day, ready and waiting when you get back from your hike.
Spotlessly clean and tidy rooms.
The exceptionally friendly reception - always helpful, nothing is too much trouble.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LowMotes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheCartwheelKeswick, Owner at The Cartwheel Guest House, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Hi. Thanks ever so much for your comments and recommendation. It is especially well appreciated from guests who have stayed with on several occasions, as it means we still seem to be getting it right. We aim to provide a welcoming, clean and comfortable "home from home". Our breakfast ingredients are all locally sourced to ensure we can always provide a quality breakfast. In a nut shell.. that's what it's about in a B&B... a warm welcome, a comfy bed and not forgetting a great breakfast! Thanks again and hopefully we'll continue to see you here with us in the future.
Tina & Bernie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

274 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    262
    10
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
12
139
44
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Warm welcome by the hosts , lovely room, i satyed in a single room which was spotless, i felt like i was home from home. Fantastic food and choice of breakfast, nice treats when you return form your walk to have with a coffee. Nothing too much trouble.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jayne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheCartwheelKeswick, Owner at The Cartwheel Guest House, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Thank you Jayne for your review of your recent stay with us. We are pleased to know that you felt at home and that you particularly enjoyed Bernie's baked treats. You certainly earned them with all the walking you undertook! We hope your cycle ride was as enjoyable. Take care and maybe when you're back in the area in future, you may like to stay and take it a little easier next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

We liked the outside of the house - the flowers showed someone cares.
The care that we got surpassed what we expected. It was better than home from home!
Tina and Bernie should be used as an example to all budding B&B operators - and to many who have already started!
We have not had a better reception anywhere - and we have done quite a few over the years.

Room Tip: Some rooms have firm mattresses - others soft. Ask for whichever suits you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robert_buck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheCartwheelKeswick, Owner at The Cartwheel Guest House, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Oh my gosh praise indeed! Thank you so much for your very kind comments. We always say that we are who we are. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed our welcome, time spent in our company and especially in our home. We trust you enjoyed the remainder of your trip home and we look forward to seeing you both again in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014

It is a while since we stayed at the cartwheel but what i can remember is

1. Nicest hosts we have met so far at b and b establishment.
2. Most homely feeling
3. Nice touches to make you feel individuals rather than customers
4. Nice location

Have stayed at a few bed and breakfasts all over the lakes and this is my favourite so far.
Thankyou.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank daisyrock985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheCartwheelKeswick, Owner at The Cartwheel Guest House, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
WOW! what can we say, except thanks ever so much for such a glowing review and for taking the trouble and time to write it after a long while since your stay. We always say that we are who we are and that you have to be genuine in this business, or you would be soon found out and we aim to make our guest's stay with us in our home a comfortable, memorable one and we guess in this case we appear to have succeeded. Thanks again Tina & Bernie.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 27 April 2014

This B&B has felt like a home from home for almost 3 years now and I love coming back. The rooms are spit spot clean, all newly decorated and cosy.
Tina and Bernie not only offer a warm welcome to their guest, they really do their utmost to make your stay with them as comfortable as possible.
The breakfast offers a wide range of fresh fruit, cereal and juice, and you can newly combine your cooked breakfast every day as you wish. It is absolutely delicious! Tina's home made bread is really lovely, and it is also used for their legendary lunch bags - I always get one for the walks in the fells because it always contains cake as well. When you come back from a long walk you will almost always be greeted with the scent of freshly baked complimentary cake, which Bernie makes for the guests.
This place to me is just as much about a cosy place to rest my head as it is about the hosts and I would never consider staying anywhere else when in Keswick. You can feel that they have invested a lot of TLC and thoughts into this bed and breakfast to make it a perfect place to stay. Can't wait to be back again!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheCartwheelKeswick, Owner at The Cartwheel Guest House, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Hi. Thank you for taking the time to submit this review. Bernie and I are always pleased to know how our guests have rated their stay. It keeps us on the ball so to speak and it's good to know that after several stays with us, you and your partner still feel at home in our house and company. It's like having old friends to stay and we look forward to welcoming you both back to share our home again very soon. Thanks again for your continued custom. Perhaps you could also arrange to bring some of the lovely weather experienced over the Easter break back with you on the train for your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Thanks to Tina and Bernie for another enjoyable time after staying for a week over the Easter break. My partner and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay with superb breakfast in the morning just the thing before a day hiking!! The added choice of a packed lunch and full thermos of tea is an added bonus which was ready for us before we left each day. The Cartwheel is ideally located close to the town, to the local amenities and bus services for access to walks and the hosts are more than welcome to point in the right direction for walking routes and places to go for dinner. We have always enjoyed our previous stays here and will definitely be returning as always to the Cartwheel (especially for the homemade bread and cake) as we see it as a home away from home where we can relax and feel comfortable. Hope to return soon, Nathan

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nathan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheCartwheelKeswick, Owner at The Cartwheel Guest House, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Hi Nathan. Bernie and I would like to thank you for leaving this review. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed you stay with us and that we kept you well fed both inside the house and out on the fell during your recent visit. A well fed guest is often a happy guest. It would be lovely to see you and your significant other back with us some time in the very near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2014

Just wanted to say a big Thankyou to Bernie and Tina for a wonderful four nights stay !!
Having just returned after a totally chilling restful break in this wonderful Keswick B&B.
We were totally spoiled by our hosts. Breakfast was superb, so much choice and so beautifully cooked. Our room was so comfortable and with all those special little touches that you do.... the towel "animals" you make Tina, and that wonderful home made cake made by Bernie every afternoon...... It was so special.
Can't wait to return again..... Very soon we hope..... Thanks again. Robert and Ruth

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sophiepoppins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheCartwheelKeswick, Owner at The Cartwheel Guest House, responded to this review, 6 April 2014
Hi Robert and Ruth. Bernie and I would like to thank you for taking the trouble to write this review. We are pleased to hear that you really enjoyed your time with us in our home and that you left having had a chilled and relaxing stay. Take care and we would love to have you back to stay with us.. don't leave it too long!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Keswick hotels
0.1 mi away
Babbling Brook Guesthouse
Babbling Brook Guesthouse
#41 of 175 in Keswick
181 reviews
0.0 mi away
Avondale Guest House
Avondale Guest House
#7 of 175 in Keswick
336 reviews
0.7 mi away
Woodside Bed & Breakfast
Woodside Bed & Breakfast
#21 of 175 in Keswick
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Honister House
Honister House
#3 of 175 in Keswick
321 reviews
0.2 mi away
Howe Keld
Howe Keld
#20 of 175 in Keswick
91 reviews
0.1 mi away
Herdwick Guest House
Herdwick Guest House
#74 of 175 in Keswick
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cartwheel Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cartwheel Guest House

Property: The Cartwheel Guest House
Address: 5 Blencathra Street, Keswick CA12 4HW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 175 B&Bs / Inns in Keswick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nigel and Debra can assure you of a warm welcome at our traditional slate Victorian Guest House, conveniently located close to Keswick town centre, Derwentwater and the spectacular northern fells. We provide hearty lakeland breakfasts and can cater for most guest's dietary requirements (just let us know at time of booking). Packed lunches are available at a nominal cost and we will be pleased to fill your flask with tea or coffee free of charge, just drop it off at breakfast. When you arrive back from your busy day, home-made cake will be waiting for you! Whatever brings you to Keswick and the beautiful landscape of the surrounding lakes and fells, we aim to make your stay with us an enjoyable and memorable one, with good standards of accommodation and service for all our guests. We are Walker and Cyclist friendly. 2017 rates - Single rooms £ 35 - £ 40; Double /Twin rooms £74 - £80. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Cartwheel Guest House Keswick, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing