We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely, relaxing break!!!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Keswick
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Cartwheel Guest House
Ranked #33 of 189 Keswick B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 October 2008

We stayed at the Cartwheel a few weeks ago, and i wanted to write on Trip advisor to say what a lovely, welcoming place it is. We have stayed at a number of B and B's in the Keswick area - over the years, but have never enjoyed our stay as much as we did at the Cartwheel.

The owners were very welcoming, and made us feel as if it was home from home!!!

We enjoyed a lovely cooked english breakfast, and were offered home baked cake on our return from our daily walk - in the evening. The owners also offered to dry our walking boots and coats - after our walk in the rain - so that they would be dry for our evening out!!!.

We will definately be going back to the Cartwheel for a short break next year.

Thanks

Emma and Stephen

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank butcher1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (292)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

278 - 284 of 292 reviews

Reviewed 16 October 2008

We were a Small Group of well behaved men having a weekend of exercise and relaxation based in the cartwheel. We found the welcome warm, breakfast sustaining and well cooked and the owners flexible enough to enjoy our challenges (boots, bikes, group men together). We respected the other tennents privacy also. We would use the Cartwheel again as it is perfectly placed, well maintained and welcoming.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Andyjwhite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2008

Stayed B&B for 3 nights in September, very easy to find and in a great location from town centre and walking. Breakfast was the best and really set you up for the day when out walking ! Rooms very clean and comfortable and Tina ( the owner ) was very helpful and had maps and anything else we needed for our stay,
Lovely place and people - Will definatley be going back !!!

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Harrison79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2008

If, like me, you arrive in The Lakes without a car then Keswick is the perfect place to stay. And you will not find better hosts - or better value for money - than that offered by The Cartwheel.

I stayed there for a week in September '08, walked the fells every day, and never used public transport once (though there are plenty of buses available). Tina and Bernie, your hosts, are most knowledgeable about fellwalking and how to get the most out of your stay.

I cannot fault the room, the breakfasts are splendid (quick service) and the packed lunches are well worth the extra few quid. As they have only been on the go for a little over a year Tina & Bernie are especially keen to please and most enthusiastic about their work.

Detailed weather forecasts are also provided on the notice board, and the town centre is just round the corner. Perfect!

If you have a car you may find it difficult to park (ask beforehand) - but this is a problem common to many guest houses in Keswick.

Thanks to Tina & Bernie for a great week.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank MickySk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2008

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank riponaquaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2008

We read the reviews about The Cartwheel before booking our 4 night stay, and as every report suggested this was a great B&B,with the exception of one,we decided to ignore the unpleasant one and see for ourselves.Thank goodness we ignored the unpleasant one.We could not have wished for more welcoming and helpful hosts in Tina and Bernie.From the moment we arrived we felt welcome and looked after.The room and the bathroom were both exceptionally clean and modern and the bed huge and very comfortable.The breakfasts were delicious every morning and the menu provided so much choice,a hearty full English, and several lighter breakfasts in case the full English wasn't your thing.
Whenever we returned in the late afternoon there was always freshly made cake on offer in the dining room and we were never able to pass by after a hard days walking without sampling Bernie's delicious cooking!
The Cartwheel has a super location in a quiet side street so no traffic noise,and it's less than a 5 minute walk into the market square and centre of Keswick which was great for eating out in the evening.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay with Tina & Bernie and will definately be returning.We would not hesitate to recommend The Cartwheel to anyone who enjoys a high standard of accommodation at a very reasonable price with very welcoming and friendly hosts for whom nothing is too much trouble.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stonyHerts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2008

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joandmike74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Keswick hotels
0.1 mi away
Edwardene Hotel
Edwardene Hotel
#26 of 189 in Keswick
282 reviews
0.7 mi away
Woodside Bed & Breakfast
Woodside Bed & Breakfast
#25 of 189 in Keswick
145 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cumbria House
Cumbria House
#27 of 189 in Keswick
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Parkfield Guest House
Parkfield Guest House
#29 of 189 in Keswick
222 reviews
0 mi away
Avondale Guest House
Avondale Guest House
#2 of 189 in Keswick
386 reviews
0.2 mi away
Swiss Court
Swiss Court
#17 of 189 in Keswick
177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cartwheel Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cartwheel Guest House

Address: 5 Blencathra Street, Keswick CA12 4HW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 189 B&Bs / Inns in Keswick
Price Range: £32 - £36 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nigel and Debra can assure you of a warm welcome at our traditional slate Victorian Guest House, conveniently located close to Keswick town centre, Derwentwater and the spectacular northern fells. We provide hearty lakeland breakfasts and can cater for most guest's dietary requirements (just let us know at time of booking). Packed lunches are available at a nominal cost and we will be pleased to fill your flask with tea or coffee free of charge, just drop it off at breakfast. When you arrive back from your busy day, home-made cake will be waiting for you! Whatever brings you to Keswick and the beautiful landscape of the surrounding lakes and fells, we aim to make your stay with us an enjoyable and memorable one, with good standards of accommodation and service for all our guests. We are Walker and Cyclist friendly. 2017 rates - Single rooms £ 35 - £ 40; Double /Twin rooms £74 - £80. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Cartwheel Guest House Keswick, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing