We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great B&B in Keswick"”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Keswick
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Cartwheel Guest House
Ranked #33 of 189 Keswick B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 April 2009

I have stayed in a few B&Bs in Keswick and the Cartwheel is the friendliest and best value for money I have found.
The location is central but in a quiet street, away form most of the bustle of the night life, making for an undisturbed nights sleep.
The Breakfast was excellent along with the home made cake after a days walking.
The room (single ensuite) was spacious and clean.
Look forward to staying here on future visits to Keswick

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cockneywalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (292)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

267 - 273 of 292 reviews

Reviewed 5 April 2009

I stayed at the Cartwheel for two nights recently on a walking break with a friend and will certainly be returning.

Although our twin room was described as "standard" owing to it not being ensuite the two bath robes thoughfully provided made sure it was never felt inconvenient to walk the one flight of stairs to our bathroom. Our room had tea and coffee making facilities, tv etc and was easily big enough for the two of us.

Breakfast was excellent, the car stayed parked right outside for two days as we were able to go on foot directly from the guest house to the fells, and the town centre is only a few hundred yards away.

Recommend it.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank roybWarwickshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2009

We have stayed in a few B&Bs and Hotels around the Keswick area The Cartwheel is by far the most friendliest, cleanest and welcoming that we have ever stayed in. Now looking at website hoping to stay mid April.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thewilsons86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2009

Tina & Bernie were perfect hosts, their knowledge of the area was great. The room was clean and comfortable (Room 1 four poster) the location was just 2 minute walk from town centre. Food was great including excellent packed lunch at really reasonable price. As mentioned in previous review home made cake was delicious. Our travel partners had booked elsewhere at MUCH higher costs and did not enjoy such a warm homely welcome or a peaceful stay. They are joining us at the Cartwheel next time!! A perfect base to a stunning time in the lakes!!!

James & Caroline

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrnMrsDownes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2009

We stayed at The Cartwheel in February. We wouldnt have asked for a warmer welcome. The breakfasts were fantastic, the complimentary homemade cake in the afternoons was something to look forward to after a hard day walking and the knowledge and welcome from Tina and Bernie was certainly very welcome.

We stayed in room 1 which was the four poster room. a lovely, warm room with a nice en suite.

We would recommend this B&B to anyone wanting to stay in Keswick. Even the weather was what we ordered!!

Cant wait to go back again.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank traceyblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2009

Bernie and Tina made us feel very welcome from the moment we got there - nothing was too much trouble for them. The B&B is very conveniently located about a minutes walk from the main Market Square. We stayed in room number one which was a very nice size, had a four poster bed and a well-sized en-suite. Breakfast was incredible - we had the full english which more than set us up for a day out walking around the lake. The B&B is nicely decorated and the room comes with everything you would need - tea and coffee making facilities, tv and local info.
Would definitley recommend and visit again.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jacqui83Leeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2009

we stayed three nights in the four poster bed, great bnb excellent breakfast nothing too much trouble for tina and bernie thankyou for drying our coats out ! the homemade cakes in the afternoon were very nice after a days walk !

hope to see you again
julie and andrew

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hikerjones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Keswick hotels
0.1 mi away
Edwardene Hotel
Edwardene Hotel
#27 of 189 in Keswick
282 reviews
0.7 mi away
Woodside Bed & Breakfast
Woodside Bed & Breakfast
#26 of 189 in Keswick
145 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cumbria House
Cumbria House
#25 of 189 in Keswick
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Parkfield Guest House
Parkfield Guest House
#29 of 189 in Keswick
222 reviews
0 mi away
Avondale Guest House
Avondale Guest House
#2 of 189 in Keswick
386 reviews
0.2 mi away
Swiss Court
Swiss Court
#15 of 189 in Keswick
177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cartwheel Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cartwheel Guest House

Address: 5 Blencathra Street, Keswick CA12 4HW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 189 B&Bs / Inns in Keswick
Price Range: £32 - £36 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nigel and Debra can assure you of a warm welcome at our traditional slate Victorian Guest House, conveniently located close to Keswick town centre, Derwentwater and the spectacular northern fells. We provide hearty lakeland breakfasts and can cater for most guest's dietary requirements (just let us know at time of booking). Packed lunches are available at a nominal cost and we will be pleased to fill your flask with tea or coffee free of charge, just drop it off at breakfast. When you arrive back from your busy day, home-made cake will be waiting for you! Whatever brings you to Keswick and the beautiful landscape of the surrounding lakes and fells, we aim to make your stay with us an enjoyable and memorable one, with good standards of accommodation and service for all our guests. We are Walker and Cyclist friendly. 2017 rates - Single rooms £ 35 - £ 40; Double /Twin rooms £74 - £80. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Cartwheel Guest House Keswick, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing