We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another fantastic weekend!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Keswick
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Cartwheel Guest House
Ranked #30 of 189 Keswick B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 February 2011

This was our second visit to The Cartwheel and it was just as enoyable as the first. Tina and Bernie are excellent hosts and nothing is too much trouble. They make you feel really welcome and their knowledge of Keswick is spot on. The breakfast was hearty and sets you up for a day out walking. The bedroom we stayed in was clean and modern. Bernie's cakes in the afternoon were gorgeous - just what you need when you come in from a day out walking. Will be returning for another stay all being well next year.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joca86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KeswickThecartwheel, Owner at The Cartwheel Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2011

Thank you very much for your kind comments. It's always good to know that our guests have enjoyed their stay with us and it means a great deal when they come back for a return visit.
We guess we must be doing something right. It's a real vote of confidence in the service we offer. Thank you again and we look forward to seeing both again next year.. if not before.
Kind regards
Tina and Bernie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (293)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

203 - 209 of 293 reviews

Reviewed 2 January 2011

Nice warm welcome from the owners. Great selection for breakfast (ordered the evening before). Just a short walk to Keswick town centre. Modern rooms, and very clean.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WelshyK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2011

This guest house has everything you need. Owners friendly with a huge amount of hospitality. Great breakfast with a lot of foods to choose from as well as a cake in the afternoon. Rooms nicely decorated, very clean, warm and with good beds. Situated in a quiet and calm part of Keswick only a few minutes walk to the Market sq.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank annette_lennerling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2010

Stayed for a weekend, and rated this B&B very highly. Firstly, its just a few minutes from the centre of town, so you can walk in to eat, shop etc. Although there is no allocated parking, it was no problem to park on the street nearby, even at the wekend.

We had the one of two rooms which does not have an en-suite. However it does have its own toilet just out side the room, and the shared b/room is just with another single room. We paid less than the en-suite rooms, and it was excellent value. The place is very clean, warm and had a very comfortable bed. The breakfast was excellent, and the hosts genuinely welcoming and friendly. An excellent choice.

  • Stayed: December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WalkerCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2010

This was my first visit to Keswick, organised as part of a birthday present for my better half TS. As I had never visited Keswick before, I was relying solely on the recommendations from other travellers on Trip Advisor. I did read through a lot of reviews and made some enquiries with B&Bs directly but then figured, all these positive comments surely cannot be wrong and booked the Cartwheel Inn. And I am glad I did.

We were slightly late at our arrival but it was not an issue at all and we received a lovely warm welcome from Tina and Bernie (it always adds a special touch when you are met at the door and greeted by your name I think - common courtesy is so valuable these days!). Bernie kindly helped me with my (overpacked as always...!) suitcase and then left us to settle in.

The room was very tidy and nicely decorated and it felt very fresh. We had a kettle, tea, coffee and hot chocolate readily available (as well as a hairdryer!). Tina creates some very sweet animals out of towels and these added a warm touch upon our arrival (...and the towels were really soft...!). We were also nicely surprised by a small bottle of wine that was left for us on the bed as it was TS's birthday.

We were left a couple of leaflets to fill out with our breakfast requests for the next morning (the selection included the usual suspects of full english / full veggie english / porridge / scrambled egg on toast (with or without smoked salmon) / cereals / yoghurt / fruit / tea and coffee). We both opted for full english for the first morning (I felt slightly guilty and had scrambled egg the second morning!). Both were delicious! I do not particularly enjoy beans and made a note of that on my breakfast form - this was very kindly noted and there were none on my plate the next morning. Tina seemed to know immediately when you came downstairs and as soon as you sat down, you were offered tea, coffee and shortly after your breakfast was brough in - I did feel that the service was excellent. It is so nice to be served breakfast rather than making it yourself!

We received plenty of tips for walks in the area and had some lovely days out. Tina also helped us with pub and food recommendations.

A couple of notes for future travellers to Keswick who are looking to stay at the Cartwheel:

- as most of the visitors are keen to have en suite bathrooms when travelling (and the houses do not have rubber walls!), our bathroom felt quite compact. It wasn't really an issue for us but some more sizeable visitors might want to double-check that before booking;
- the rooms are based on 3 floors and the only way up is a staircase.

Overall, we had a lovely time. It really comes across from Tina and Bernie that they love their business and really care about it. They do make you feel very welcome from the moment you step through the door. I do really hope that the positive reviews from this site inspire other vistors to give them a chance!

TO and TS

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trin_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2010

Had the pleasure of staying at the Cartwheel for my birthday weekend. The guesthouse is in a superb location, on a quiet street but less than 2 minutes from the centre. Tina and Bernie really make the stay special, they are so friendly and thoughtful and make you feel very welcome. The rooms are equipped with everything you need including a great selection of hot drinks. Breakfast is superb with a huge choice available. Tina and Bernie have a wealth of knowledge and are more than happy to advise on places to eat and things to do. They were even kind enough to leave a little birthday gift in my room when they discovered my cards in the room.
This was the first time we stayed here but i'm sure it's not the last.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank claretsumo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2010

We have stayed at the Cartwheel many times and always look forward to a warm sincere welcome from Tina and Bernie. "Our " bedroom is always beautifully presented and breakfasts are delicious. There are fresh cakes in the dining room every afternoon for guests to enjoy after a day on the fells.

Tina and Bernie really are superb hosts.

Thank you. Hilda and Trish

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hils48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Keswick hotels
0.2 mi away
Stonegarth Guest House
Stonegarth Guest House
#10 of 189 in Keswick
572 reviews
0.1 mi away
Edwardene Hotel
Edwardene Hotel
#29 of 189 in Keswick
284 reviews
0.2 mi away
Parkfield Guest House
Parkfield Guest House
#31 of 189 in Keswick
222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Woodside Bed & Breakfast
Woodside Bed & Breakfast
#26 of 189 in Keswick
145 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cumbria House
Cumbria House
#27 of 189 in Keswick
100 reviews
0 mi away
Avondale Guest House
Avondale Guest House
#2 of 189 in Keswick
391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cartwheel Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cartwheel Guest House

Address: 5 Blencathra Street, Keswick CA12 4HW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 189 B&Bs / Inns in Keswick
Price Range: £32 - £36 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nigel and Debra can assure you of a warm welcome at our traditional slate Victorian Guest House, conveniently located close to Keswick town centre, Derwentwater and the spectacular northern fells. We provide hearty lakeland breakfasts and can cater for most guest's dietary requirements (just let us know at time of booking). Packed lunches are available at a nominal cost and we will be pleased to fill your flask with tea or coffee free of charge, just drop it off at breakfast. When you arrive back from your busy day, home-made cake will be waiting for you! Whatever brings you to Keswick and the beautiful landscape of the surrounding lakes and fells, we aim to make your stay with us an enjoyable and memorable one, with good standards of accommodation and service for all our guests. We are Walker and Cyclist friendly. 2017 rates - Single rooms £ 35 - £ 40; Double /Twin rooms £74 - £80. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Cartwheel Guest House Keswick, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing