We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“good pub grub”
Review of Golden Lion

Golden Lion
Ranked #39 of 129 Restaurants in Keswick
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Child-friendly, Bar Scene
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Brunch, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“good pub grub”
Reviewed 2 December 2013

always surprised by the quality and freshness of the food when i dine here.really good pub grub
at resonable prices

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank martin a a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

291 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    130
    100
    42
    12
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
37 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Eating out”
Reviewed 18 November 2013

Went in on Friday night for a drink with the view to moving on elsewhere for a meal but as food arrived at other tables we changed our minds as it looked good.glad we did as both me and the wife ordered the steak and what a great choice it was.cooked to perfection homemade chips small salad tomatoes and mushroom served with peppercorn sauce at no extra charge all for only £10.95 FANTASTIC

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Border999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighouse, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Twice in three nights!”
Reviewed 2 November 2013

We went on our first night in Keswick. A lovely, good quality pub meal. When deciding where to go on the third night our three year old declared "please we can go to The Golden Lion!". Again the service was excellent and it was a lovely Autumn evening in front of the fire...

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jess716
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Top meal and atmosphere”
Reviewed 29 October 2013 via mobile

Visited late one Friday evening following a long journey from the Midlands. Just managed a large order at 8.50pm before the kitchen closed, but it was welcomed and the order taken with care and attention by one of the two excellent bar staff.

Food was cooked quickly and was all very good quality. Portion sizes varied a little, but no real complaints. Chips were amazing (you'd have thought they were chip shop chips!)

Great range of beers on the bar and I will again mention the excellent bar staff - it make such a difference!

Will definitely return next time.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Scott M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Motherwell
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“The Homely Touch”
Reviewed 11 October 2013

Great food and a really good atmosphere, visited this restaurant while on holiday in the Lake District and was most impressed with the quality and choice of food on the menu.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Snappybookworm27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Golden Lion also viewed

Keswick, Lake District
Keswick, Lake District
 
Keswick, Lake District
Keswick, Lake District
 

Been to Golden Lion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing