We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Atmosphere”
Review of Golden Lion

Golden Lion
Ranked #37 of 130 Restaurants in Keswick
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Blackpool
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Great Atmosphere”
Reviewed 25 March 2014

A pub with great atmosphere, the staff were very friendly, there is a good choice of beers. certainly worth a visit.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Robert T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

308 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    138
    107
    43
    13
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Merseyside
Level 6 Contributor
215 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
“Great food”
Reviewed 5 March 2014 via mobile

Visited here over the weekend and good was excellent, good choice for young children as well. Bar staff very friendly has good atmosphere, will visit again next time.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank psteer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Maybe an off day....?”
Reviewed 19 February 2014

12 of us came here on a Saturday afternoon at about 2pm and ordered food. Unfortunately it didn't go quite according to plan. We ordered in small groups and somehow even though we were the first couple that ordered and paid for their food we didn't get it. The waiter had brought everyone's food out but not ours. We asked the waiter if it was coming, he disappeared and didn't come back. While our other friends ate we went and ordered another drink while we waited and had to ask at the bar what was going on as the waiter did not come back. The bartender said sorry but they had forgotten our order and were on with it. We got our food after everyone else finished and it was ok but clearly rushed. The steak was ordered as medium but came very rare and the chips were very anaemic looking! Two others in our group also ordered steaks and they also had not been cooked to how they had asked for it. The table next to us had a similar problem, a family of 7 but only 6 got meals, the 7th had been forgotten and he got it after the rest had finished. We also were sat for an hour after the meal and no-one cleared our plates away. In the end one of our group moved the dishes to an empty table. On a positive the prices were very reasonable, the portions were big and the bartender was excellent, remembering our drinks orders after just one order which was a nice touch. We went back at nighttime and it had a good atmosphere for drinking, there was a stag do in and we stayed here for some time and if I go on anpther night round Keswick i would definitely come here again. Going off previous positive reviews maybe we just caught them on a bad day food wise...?

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Amy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Times change”
Reviewed 10 February 2014 via mobile

We have been in here before in the past and not stayed long but this time things do seem to have changed. Always good to find that a place improves! We watched the England Scotland game so a England won maybe this made the afternoon go with a smile but I don't think it was totally down to the result of the game!

There was a good mix of locals and Lakeland visitors and although we did not eat plenty of others were so perhaps we will on our next visit.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Adam K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Friendly, but disappointing food”
Reviewed 15 January 2014 via mobile

Very friendly, and especially helpful with our toddler, but the food was disappointing. Ok if you're going primarily to drink, but the food was not a highlight.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Henry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Golden Lion also viewed

Keswick, Lake District
Keswick, Lake District
 
Keswick, Lake District
 

Been to Golden Lion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing