We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best B&B”
Review of Sandon Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sandon Guest House
Ranked #99 of 189 Keswick B&B and Inns
Reviewed 31 July 2013

We have been staying at Sandon for a week every year for the last 8 years. The en-suite accommodation is excellent, tastefully decorated, and has recently been refurbished and upgraded. There is a great variety of food available for breakfast, which is always expertly cooked by Stephen and served by Margaret, who always offer us a warm welcome and help with the luggage. You will have to go a long way to find a B&B as good as this one.

Room Tip: Rooms 1,2 and 3 are on the first floor, 4,5 and 6 on the 2nd floor.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen C, Owner at Sandon Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2013

Thank you for your kind remarks, as you know we try our very best to make you welcome and your stay one of the best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (65)
There are newer reviews for Sandon Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

51 - 57 of 65 reviews

Reviewed 21 July 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights last weekend to attend the Convention and found it excellent. The twin room was lovely, with everything you needed and very clean. The breakfast was lovely with a nice choice of fruit for starters. Steve and Margaret made us very welcome and we will certainly be back to stay with them again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Colaud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen C, Owner at Sandon Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2013

Thank you for your comments,we try our very best to make your stay comfortable.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2013

Very friendly owners and clean rooms. A short walk from the town centre so close enough for easy access, but not too close to be plagued by noise. Would definitely stay again on my next trip to the lakes.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bogalogjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen C, Owner at Sandon Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2013

Thank you for your response,we do try to do our very best to make our guests welcome and make sure they have a great stay at sandon.We look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2013 via mobile

Sandon is in the city center but very quiet and about 15 mins to walk to the Derwent Water. Overall the location is good.
The breakfast is excellent and room is modern and clean.
This b&b is good value and worth to stay.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank YuanXu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen C, Owner at Sandon Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2013

Thank you for your response,we hope you will visit us again and we will continue to make sure you have a great stay at sandon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2013

Have stayed here for 5 nights over the last few years. It's in a great location with free on street parking. Steve and Margaret always make us very welcome and the breakfasts are delicious.
The rooms are very well eqipped, comfortable and everywhere is spotlessly clean and well decorated. There are lots of extras in the shower; shower gel and cap, body lotion, shampoo and conditioner, sewing kit, shoe cleaning set etc. There are always biscuits with the hot drink making facilities with chocolates on arrival.
2minutes walk and you're in the town square and it's an ideal place to stop for walkers or just to admire the views.

Room Tip: All rooms are very comfortable
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Denise E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen C, Owner at Sandon Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2013

Thank you Denice and John,you know we try very hard to please everone and we look forward for your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013

just got back from an overnight stay at the Sandon, lovely place, modern decor, very very clean, comfy bed, ample breakfast, nice friendly owners, good location, reasonable price...what more can i say, we stayed there before a couple of years ago and we got the same exellant service...give it a go you wont be dissapointed.

Room Tip: home from home.
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sharron32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen C, Owner at Sandon Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2013

Thank you for your comments it looks like we haven't lost our touch.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2013

Stayed for 2 nights at Easter 2013. Fantastic B&B, in a brilliant quiet location, yet only a short walk from Keswick centre. The room was spacious and decorated to a high standard and ours even had a excellent view of the fells! Loads of choice at breakfast and the food was delicious. The owners were extremely helpful on where to eat and what to see. Brilliant place and thanks for the Keswick Mountain Festival info hope to come up and stay again soon!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 841andym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen C, Owner at Sandon Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2013

Thank you for your comments ,we try to please everyone, and it makes it easier if the weather is good which it was.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Keswick hotels
0.0 mi away
Dorchester House
Dorchester House
#107 of 189 in Keswick
69 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bluestones Guest House
Bluestones Guest House
#116 of 189 in Keswick
50 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dolly Waggon Guest House
Dolly Waggon Guest House
#82 of 189 in Keswick
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Strathmore Guest House
Strathmore Guest House
#62 of 189 in Keswick
146 reviews
0.1 mi away
Harvington House
Harvington House
#43 of 189 in Keswick
149 reviews
0.0 mi away
Avondale Guest House
Avondale Guest House
#4 of 189 in Keswick
370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandon Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandon Guest House

Address: 13 Southey Street, Keswick CA12 4EG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #99 of 189 B&Bs / Inns in Keswick
Price Range: £89 - £94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sandon Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sandon is a 4 star silver and breakfast award Victorian Lakeland Stone Guesthouse with 5 en suite rooms,The rooms are flexible so they can be double,superking,Twin,and single,or we can do single occupancy for a larger room.We are about 10 minutes from Lake Derwentwater and minutes from the popular walks,we also have storage for ten bicycles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Sandon Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandon Guest House Keswick, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing