We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic!”
Review of Sandon Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sandon Guest House
Ranked #93 of 173 Keswick B&B and Inns
1 review
“Fantastic!”
Reviewed 17 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the elegant Sandon Guest House for 1 night. We wished we could have stopped longer. Extremely friendly atmosphere and we were really welcomed when we arrived. Our room was fantastic, with everything we needed and more. Ample room inside the bedroom itself and a nice modern en suite. The location of the guest house is ideal. Literally a short walk to the centre of Keswick where there is a great selection of shops.
Overall our stay was above and beyond what we expected and we would/ will stop there again. Thank you.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ady P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen C, Owner at Sandon Guest House, responded to this review, 19 April 2014
Thank you for your great review, we do try to do our best for our guests and we hope you will return in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    55
    10
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
27
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
durham
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2014

We have stayed here a few times now over the years both as a couple and with family and always look to stay here on our trips to Keswick. Margaret and Steve are always there to greet you with a warm welcome and both always come to see you off when you check out. The rooms are fantastic and the breakfasts superb. It's location is second to none and a 2 min walk from the main street. We stayed as a family on 1 occasion and Margaret and Steve had arranged all 3 tables together so we could sit as a family which was a nice touch. Defo recommend anyone to stay here and will be coming back on our next visit which cant come soon enough

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dc4053
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen C, Owner at Sandon Guest House, responded to this review, 13 April 2014
Thank you for your kind review,we do try to make everyone welcome at Sandon and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penrith
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2013

We have been staying at Sandon for years and it has always been fab. On this visit Margaret and Steve knew it was my birthday and left a card in my room which was lovely. We stayed in room 2 which has a brand new ensuite and a huge bed. Breakfast is very hearty. Highly recommended.★★★★★

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kellyheer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen C, Owner at Sandon Guest House, responded to this review, 18 December 2013
Thanks for the review Kelly, its nice to have someone who lives not far away come and stay with us and I am glad you liked the ensuite.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Welwick, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2013

Great place in the centre of Keswick. The rooms are spotless and beds comfortable. The breakfast is superb and the hosts, Steve and Margaret make your stay welcoming. A great base to experience the lakes.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HTIMSRICHARD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen C, Owner at Sandon Guest House, responded to this review, 30 September 2013
Thank you for your review,we will try make sure that your stay will be as enjoyable possible and we hope we will see you the next time you come to Keswick.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2013 via mobile

I've just returned from my 3rd visit to this fantastic guest house in the heart of Keswick. Steve and Margaret are great hosts and nothing is too much trouble for them. The guest rooms are immaculate with very comfortable beds. You can choose your breakfast from a wide selection of fresh fruits and cereals or Steve will cook you a bowl of porridge or a great traditional English breakfast.
You're only 5 min walk from Keswick town centre and their is Spar shop round the corner for your morning paper. If you're looking for a brilliant Guest House in a town full of Guest Houses this is the place to stay.

Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Colinlyoung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen C, Owner at Sandon Guest House, responded to this review, 9 September 2013
Thanks for your review, we are very glad you had a great time and you had good weather to. Hope to see you and the family again next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 August 2013

Stumbled on the Sandon many years ago and have been coming back ever since.
Just returned from a weeks stay and must say, if possible, the standards are higher than ever.
Breakfasts as great as ever.
Stayed in our favourite room no.4 which has just been refurbished.

Many thanks Margaret and Steve.

Anne and Dennis from Durham

Room Tip: Rooms at rear have mountain views
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dennis_cowley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen C, Owner at Sandon Guest House, responded to this review, 31 August 2013
Thank you for your review, its great having guests who come back year after year, its one big family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crook, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2013

We found this fabulous guesthouse via an internet search and how pleased we were to find it! From the initial telephone enquiry I felt such warmth from Margaret, and was so pleased they could accommodate our booking. We arrived late afternoon and were greeted by Steve and again the friendliness continued. After a chat Steve showed us to our bedroom and it was delightful. The furnishings were of the highest standards, and there was an instant comfort and relaxation atmosphere. The en-suite was very well appointed and the cleanliness was fantastic. The hospitality tray was one of the best I have ever experienced - the usual tea/coffee but with extras like small chocolate bars, lovely biscuits and sachets of dilute juice - excellent. Then we experienced the breakfast - wow!! There was a lovely variety of cereals, fresh fruit, yogurts etc., followed by a wide range of hot food, whether it be a full English or just a boiled egg - whatever you wanted could be provided and Margaret certainly made sure we had everything we needed. So a very big thank you to Steve and Margaret for their hospitality, we will certainly be back and will highly recommend their delightful b&b

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vikki A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen C, Owner at Sandon Guest House, responded to this review, 31 August 2013
Thank you for your review, we do try to make our guests very welcome and make there stay comfortable and await there return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Keswick hotels
0.1 mi away
Dolly Waggon Guest House
Dolly Waggon Guest House
#84 of 173 in Keswick
73 reviews
0.1 mi away
Strathmore Guest House
Strathmore Guest House
#50 of 173 in Keswick
146 reviews
0.2 mi away
Swiss Court
Swiss Court
#15 of 173 in Keswick
161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
West View Guest House
West View Guest House
#60 of 173 in Keswick
132 reviews
0.1 mi away
Honister House
Honister House
#11 of 173 in Keswick
330 reviews
0.0 mi away
Avondale Guest House
Avondale Guest House
#4 of 173 in Keswick
358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandon Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandon Guest House

Property: Sandon Guest House
Address: 13 Southey Street, Keswick CA12 4EG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #93 of 173 B&Bs / Inns in Keswick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Sandon Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sandon is a 4 star silver and breakfast award Victorian Lakeland Stone Guesthouse with 5 en suite rooms,The rooms are flexible so they can be double,superking,Twin,and single,or we can do single occupancy for a larger room.We are about 10 minutes from Lake Derwentwater and minutes from the popular walks,we also have storage for ten bicycles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Sandon Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandon Guest House Keswick, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing