We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfort, quiet and scenery”
Review of Dale Head Hall

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Dale Head Hall
Ranked #12 of 12 Hotels in Keswick
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Comfort, quiet and scenery”
Reviewed 19 April 2014

We loved our three nights at the Dale Head. Stunning views of Thirlmere and we even had visits from the local deer at dinner and breakfast. plenty of other wildlife about. Our room (11) was large with great views and its own patio.

Dinners were varied and enjoyable - good value too. Breakfasts provided a very good start to the day.

The house was tucked away from the main road so it was a very peaceful location.

Our hosts made us feel very much at home and we felt well looked after.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob_n_Margaret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    75
    32
    25
    15
    25
See reviews for
25
108
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Keswick, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 9 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed here on our wedding night and have to say our special day was made even more so after spending a night here. Our room overlooked the lake and had the perfect combination of olde world charm and sophisticated luxury. Parts of the hotel are clearly very very old giving the place a wonderful atmosphere. Perfect for walkers ( helvellyn just up the road) or visitors to Keswick. Breakfast was faultless. Thank you

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Yantraman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
212 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 218 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014 via mobile

I actually quite liked it here. I don't want to go on and on so I'll say it how it is and be truthful. This place is not for everyone. It's quite out of the way even though it's off a main road and not up the lanes or anything. It is the only property on the lake so feels very exclusive and lovely. The location is second to none. There is a nice pub nearby over the road too so that's handy. But that's where the positives have to stop. Although the location is beautiful and it's lovely in the spring / summer to sip some wine outside in the front, we found that other 'areas' of the 'hotel experience' to be lacking and very lacking in some cases. It just depends on what your expectations are like and what sort of person you are. This place isn't luxury and I think it lacks investment and certainly lacks attention to detail and customer service. It doesn't feel like it's geared up sufficiently to be a hotel or B&B. Service was generally poor and certain things were not available. There wasn't much choice on the menu and the kitchen seemed badly prepared. The room was a good size and had a good view but we felt the overall package was somewhat below par. It was more like staying at a house that belonged to friends of friends. I thought that compared with other hotels and B&Bs in the lakes, this place has room to improve. Having said all that, if location, peace and isolation are the chief prerequisites with nothing else mattering as much, then give this place a go. I am in two minds about firmly recommending this place because when one spends £140 ++ per night, you feel you deserve some quality service and treatment for your money. Here the building and location are the wow factors and not much else.

Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank gastronaut2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lichfield
Level Contributor
7 reviews
Reviewed 20 October 2013

I arrived in the dark and had to ask for directions as the sat nav directs you to some cottages half a mile away but once I arrived I knew that the view tomorrow morning would be worth it....and it was was. We got upgraded to a room with a lakeside view which would otherwise be well worth the money.
Breakfast was a hearty affair with a good selection to choose from but you can't go wrong with their porridge and full English.
We ate in the Kings Head across the road both nights which is also also excellent (good food and ales, plus friendly staff) but take a torch for the walk as this is the middle of the countryside!
The true benefit of Dale Head Hall struck home to me when I popped into Keswick which in contrast is a bustling tourist trap and I was only too glad to retreat back to more peaceful surroundings. As it is the only occupied property on the lake you feel that you have the valley to yourself which unusual for the Lakes. I would recommend a quick yomp up the nearby hill (Great How?) so you can look down upon your fiefdom and take in the full panorama ( and get a phone signal!).
I would

Room Tip: Rooms 11 and 15 have lake views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosenator_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penzance, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 10 October 2013

We stayed in the Tack Room in the last week of September and were blessed with lovely weather. This is our second visit and certainly will nto be our last. The Tack Room is warm,comfortable and clean with most things being catered for. The cottage is superbly placed for a walking holiday and the location means that there are many walks straight from the door without taking the car!
The Tack Room was competitively priced and accomodated us and our large doberman very well. The lakeside walk is superb especially first thing in the morning. We found the owners very helpful without being intrusive. There are many walks still to do and so we will be back!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2013

Unpleasant hosts who provide overpriced dirty accommodation & demand payment in advance, do not provide restaurant service to self catering guests. The bedding was too small for bed old blankets and old dirty pillows resulted in us having to go and buy new pillows & cases the bathroom toilet & shower was dirty, TV only had limited channels & DVD video did no work, no phone signal and arm chairs were very uncomfortable Would not recommend to my worst enemy

Room Tip: Avoid and book somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Keswick hotels

Manchester, England, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 15 September 2013

A beautiful setting by the lake. Friendly staff. Excellent breakfast. We had been upgraded to a junior 4 poster room which was a stunning room and completely unexpected. Only reason not five stars is it advertises a restaurant which is not promoted and the entrance is a bit tired which is a shame as its out of keeping with other areas. Throughly enjoyed our stay and look forward to staying again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Keswick hotels
4.7 mi away
The Keswick Country House Hotel
5.4 mi away
The Derwentwater Hotel
The Derwentwater Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portinscale
3.5 of 5 bubbles 678 reviews
6.8 mi away
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Under Skiddaw
5.0 of 5 bubbles 588 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Inn on the Square
Inn on the Square
#4 of 12 in Keswick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 584 reviews
4.7 mi away
Highfield Hotel
Highfield Hotel
#6 of 12 in Keswick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 374 reviews
4.7 mi away
The Skiddaw Hotel
The Skiddaw Hotel
#7 of 12 in Keswick
4.0 of 5 bubbles 721 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dale Head Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dale Head Hall

Property: Dale Head Hall
Address: Lake Thirlmere, Keswick CA12 4TN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 12 Hotels in Keswick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Dale Head Hall 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Dale Head Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dale Head Hall Keswick, Lake District
Dale Head Hall Hotel Keswick

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing