We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb stay”
Review of Dale Head Hall

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Dale Head Hall
Ranked #12 of 12 Hotels in Keswick
B
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Superb stay”
Reviewed 25 July 2014

Incredible location, wonderful atmosphere. Although the owners have changed, the place is still as magic as it used to be. The new owner is very kind and helpful, the rooms are splendid and the food delicious.
And the view is fantastic as the hotel is the only one along a lake that is quite inaccessible (so, not touristy) but very romantic. A place like nowhere else.
We'll be back.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dixy2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    76
    33
    25
    15
    25
See reviews for
25
110
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Stayed here for one night recently, lovely surprise when we were showed into the room - just like the descriptions online, excellent quality, beautiful views. We had a family room, not knowing what to expect I was surprised to have a four poster bed, with two single beds also, at the front of the house, and an amazing view over the lake. Lovely cumbrian property, steeped in the usual charm, rhododendrons and the like outlining a grassy centre grazed on by little rabbits! The property has some pathways around the grounds, but since we plan to return, we decided to go down to the lakeshore, through a private access gate, instead. Rocky/stoney lakeshore, views everywhere and most pleasing to the eye. Lovely nights sleep, so quiet, and the lakeland air ensured we slept well and long. No banging doors or rowdy visitors, just quality accommodation with respectful visitors. We only had breakfast but toast top-ups a plenty were offered, and the amiable gentleman, Philip (who also owns the property), spent not an inconsiderable amount of time answering my questions about the area, about the house and surrounds. Very friendly, and very genial host. Both my two daughters were also well treated with the same courtesy. The later checkout time was a pleasing surprise (11.00 a.m.). Looking forward to staying again. They also have some self catering apartments, separate to the hotel, and these are most reasonable, spacious and well equipped. I actually thought about not doing a review, since I really don't want lots of people to visit - I'd rather keep this one under my hat for myself and my friends!!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JamPanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We stayed at this place for one day.It is very quiet and peaceful place.We stayed in Room 3 which was very comfortable and recently refurbished. The view from the room is breath taking.The entrance and hallway has period charm but a bit rundown and in need of refurbishment . Breakfast was good.The path down to the lake was overgrown with weeds.There is a large garden overlooking the lake with tables to sit outside.
Don't rely on the GPS as it will lead you to some cottages .When coming from Keswick the hotel is on right side (GPS lead to left side) which is signposted..

Room Tip: The hotel is in a beautiful setting .Only downside is the entrance and hallway is bit rundown and th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ThomasUnitedKingdom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Slimbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

You know sometimes you plan a trip but on this occasion it was a case of calling in on the way back from Edinburgh to split the journey to the West Country and what a find! This hotel is the most peaceful classy hotel you could imagine. I cannott wait to stay again!

Great views - Great room and Great hosts!

Room Tip: The Hotel serves an excellent breakfast - But for an evening meal we went to the pub opposite the dr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tonycornock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rossendale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

We booked a last minute easter holiday at Dale Head Hall, what a pleasant surprise after simply booking the only hotel with an available family room in the county.
I love the lakes, but hate how busy it always is, this fantasticly located hotel stands in it's own grounds right by lake Thirlmere on the road between Ambleside and Keswick and offers breathing space from the hustle and bustle of the Lake District towns. Oh and the full english is to die for!!

Room Tip: Ask for a front room if staying in the hotel itself, oversees the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank duagwilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

My partner and I just couldn't face going home from the Lakes. So we searched the internet for a hotel that could provide us with a room there and then. I telephoned the family run Dale Head Hall, which overlooks Thrilmere just outside of Keswick and we were immediately offered a room at a discounted price. Even before we entered the hotel, its location took our breaths away. So imagine our reaction when we saw our upgraded room. The décor was absolutely beautiful and the facilities are fit for a king. Later that evening, we sat with the hotel owners in their bar, which by far, was the most comfortable of bars I have ever been in. The prices of the drinks were very reasonable and much cheaper than I expected to pay. The breakfast was absolutely delicious and cooked to perfection. Do I recommend Dale Head Hall? Absolutely. Will we go back? Definitely. My advice to you: treat yourself, you won't regret it.

Room Tip: The front of the hotel overlooks Thrilmere and gets the sun from mid-morning onwards.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Andrew R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014

We loved our three nights at the Dale Head. Stunning views of Thirlmere and we even had visits from the local deer at dinner and breakfast. plenty of other wildlife about. Our room (11) was large with great views and its own patio.

Dinners were varied and enjoyable - good value too. Breakfasts provided a very good start to the day.

The house was tucked away from the main road so it was a very peaceful location.

Our hosts made us feel very much at home and we felt well looked after.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob_n_Margaret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Keswick hotels
5.4 mi away
The Derwentwater Hotel
The Derwentwater Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portinscale
687 reviews
4.7 mi away
The Keswick Country House Hotel
6.8 mi away
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Under Skiddaw
601 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
The Skiddaw Hotel
The Skiddaw Hotel
#7 of 12 in Keswick
735 reviews
5.3 mi away
Lairbeck Hotel
Lairbeck Hotel
#9 of 12 in Keswick
197 reviews
4.7 mi away
Inn on the Square
Inn on the Square
#5 of 12 in Keswick
592 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dale Head Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dale Head Hall

Property: Dale Head Hall
Address: Lake Thirlmere, Keswick CA12 4TN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 12 Hotels in Keswick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Dale Head Hall 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Dale Head Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dale Head Hall Keswick, Lake District
Dale Head Hall Hotel Keswick

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing