We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasant but not four star” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dale Head Hall

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Dale Head Hall
Ranked #12 of 12 Hotels in Keswick
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Pleasant but not four star”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2010

We booked into the self-catering, Leatheswater, apartment. It is on the first floor and accessed by a flight of steps up the outside of the building which do need some careful negotiation especially in the wet. Inside, access is via the bedroom into a middle hallway which then leads to a kitchen/lounge/dining area. The bathroom leads off from the lounge. The location is truly beautiful with views across Thirlmere. The grounds are a little overgrown but we personally liked that. There is a path that leads down to the main footpath around the lake. Despite being on the main road between Keswick and Grasmere it is set well back along a driveway in trees and very quiet. Thirlmere is actually a reservoir and one of the quieter lakes – there are no powered boats. Despite other comments on here there are plenty of walks to be had including permissive signed routes and of course, Helvelyn.

The apartment is generally clean but some attention is needed to the windows and in particular the entrance door which is covered in dead spiders. On the penultimate day of our stay we opened the door and were shocked to encounter a swarm of flies that had been nesting in the door frame.
The bed was extremely hard and uncomfortable. Yes, mattresses are a personal preference but the springs could be felt digging into your back and it needed to be replaced. Adequate blankets were provided and the heating was on in the evening. The windows are of a traditional sash-type but do have doubled glazed panes.

The kitchen is joined to the lounge so any cooking smells are present there too although there is a filter fan above the oven. We were worried about activating the fire sensor so opened the window whilst cooking. The kitchen has the usual facilities. As expected in a remote location the oven is electric. There is a dishwasher, fridge/freezer and toaster, kettle etc. The seal around the oven door requires replacement so I would not want to cook anything that needed to rise.. There is a notice about using the dishwasher sparingly due to the septic tank but disappointingly there are only two sets of plates, cutlery etc so it is not possible to wait for a full load. There are no recycling facilities which is unacceptable, especially in a national park were green tourism is now a hot topic.

The television is very small and the reception is poor with a loud buzzing noise on all the channels and disappointing in an age where we all expect large plasma/LCD screens. The sofas were two individual chairs which were comfortable but even though the apartment is for a couple do not allow you to sit together as a couple.

The bathroom is clean and spacious. There is a shower above the bath which is warm and powerful enough. There is a heated towel rail powered by a switch in the lounge The water is from a borehole (which we were told about during booking). It does have a brownish colour but is perfectly safe to drink and tastes fine.

We enquired about food in the hotel and were told that it was fine dining at forty-odd quid a head and there was a pub nearby. Perhaps were were being over-sensitive but we were left with the impression that they didn't want us there. Later in the week we enquired about the menu which changes each day. In the end we decided to eat at Morrels in Keswick.

Overall the setting is excellent. I manages to balance quiet seclusion with easy access to popular parts of the Lakes. However, the apartment is starting to look tired. Some attention needs to be made to sorting out the basics like the hard bed and the inadequate TV. Also a good clean of the doors and windows would improve things enormously. In fairness we probably should have raised these concerns at the time with the owners.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlanClaire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    72
    31
    24
    15
    24
See reviews for
24
103
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wisbech, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2010

We stayed in the self catering cottage - The Tack Room. On arrival our first impressions were 'lovely location' which it was, but was very disappointed when was shown to tack room. As soon as you walked in a very 'wet dog' pungent smell greeted you - luckily I had taken some air freshner with me - and the main living area was smaller than expected. After unpacking I inpsected the rest of cottage and found that the overall cleanliness of the rooms was not very good. Behind the door in the kitchen was the iron board and it was obvious that housekeeping had not moved the ironing board or cleaned behind this door for some time, and some of the equipment / utensils needed to be updated. Oh and the cereal bowls were ridiculous, they were more like plates than dishes. The bathroom was ok but there was a layer of dust on the toilet roll holder and along the skirting boards but overall toilet, sink and shower were clean and the towels were lovely - although you only got 1 bath towel and 1 hand towel each for the whole week and if you wanted a change of towels there was a charge of £5. You are not allowed to flush sanitary wares down the toilet due to their septic tank system and although there was a holder on the bathroom wall for sanitary disposal bags there wasnt any in there.
The bed linen was lovely and clean and found the bed comforable but after removing duvet cover and sheets on our departurer found a few stains on the mattress! Yuk!!!
As I had taken some cleaning products with me I had a little clean around and was happier once this was done but obviously I shouldn't have needed to do this. Whether this was a once off I don't know but judging from the dust laying around I dont believe this room had been cleaned properly for some time.
Although the setting was lovely and most of the grounds were kept well, little details like no flowers / plants were in the window boxes outside any of the cottages / room and the path to the lake shore was very overgrown.
I do not know whether the owners of the hotel are the actual owners of the 5 self catering cottages within in the grounds.
I do have to say though that the gentlemen who was on duty in the evenings in the hotel was very helpful and accommodating when we had a slight problem with the microwave oven.
It is very peaceful and although there were other guests in the other cottages and guests in the hotel we didnt see above two other guests the whole week we was there.
Obviously we had a few cleanliness issues with the Tack Room but we did have a lovely week staying there and just feel that if a little more care and attention was undertaken then you would see nothing but good reviews given!! So to summarise - the tack room was within nice location, needs to be cleaned more thoroughly, some items need to be updated and just a little more attention to detail given overall.
If the cleanliness was improved then I would have no hesitation in recommending the cottage for anyone to stay in.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SJParrish_59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Getgoing
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2010

Peace in a home from home in the Lake District. Perfect weather, lovely location and friendly helpful staff. Best breakfast in the Lake District.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GetgoingGetgoing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
norton stockton
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2010

I made a mistake in not informing the proprietors of my disability until late. They could not have been more helpful or accomodating,changing our room,and looking after us, and giving helpful advice. A wonderful setting in the Central Lakes with stunning views out across Thirlmere, opposite Ravens Crag(climbing day memories) and Harrop Tarn Orienteering memories), and surrounded by the high fells on which I have spent so many happy hours.Will definately be back. I would mention the room but want to be able to book it next time!!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jonathandavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bali
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2010

What an amazing place. So beautiful and luxurious. The perfect romantic getaway. My girlfriend and I loved our stay here. The service was excellent and the food sublime. We will definately be returning to this hotel on our next visit to the Lake District. Thank you for a wonderful stay!!!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BaliRob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumbria
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2010

We booked after seeing a 50% offer for a double room with breakfast for £110 and therefore assumed we would find a quality hotel. Far from it; it looked as if our room (room 2) and the other parts of the hotel that we saw hadn't received any refurbishment for several years. The room was damp and cold as was the bed which was also saggy. We were very disappointed and packed our bags and went home without even attempting to go to sleep. We asked for a refund but received a defensive response and are still waiting.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank hootsjimmie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Keswick hotels

Scotland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2010

My husband and i stayed in the tack room (allegedly) self-catering cottage. On arrival we found a used plaster sticking to the side of the bath, orange mould between the tiles a dirty ill equipped kitchen and discovered on the first night that the bed was neither comfortable or long enough for either of us (my husband is 5ft 9 in). The shared laundry service promised on the booking site was actually the hotel owners doing your laundry and charging an exhorbitant amount per item, hardly useful on a walking holiday.As for towels ONE set was provided for the whole week and should you have the audacity to require a fresh set a charge of FIVE pounds is levied.
Another bizzare experience was having our heating and hot water controlled by the hotel owners from the locked boiler room adjoining our accomodation, on returning wet and cold from a day walking we had to ask them twice to put the heating on. I have never before stayed in a self catering cottage where the basic elements of being self sufficient have been deliberately withdrawn for such obvious financial gain for the owner. This cottage cost us £416 and was not worth one penny of it,in fact we left a day and a half early.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank alli52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Keswick
4.7 mi away
The Keswick Country House Hotel
6.8 mi away
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Under Skiddaw
4.5 of 5 bubbles 570 reviews
8.8 mi away
The Derwentwater Hotel
The Derwentwater Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portinscale
3.5 of 5 bubbles 660 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Inn on the Square
Inn on the Square
#4 of 12 in Keswick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 548 reviews
3.1 mi away
Mary Mount Hotel
Mary Mount Hotel
#3 of 12 in Keswick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 483 reviews
7.8 mi away
Langdale Hotel and Spa
Langdale Hotel and Spa
#7 of 12 in Ambleside
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dale Head Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dale Head Hall

Property: Dale Head Hall
Address: Lake Thirlmere, Keswick CA12 4TN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 12 Hotels in Keswick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Dale Head Hall 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, SpeedyBooker.com and Priceline so you can book your Dale Head Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dale Head Hall Keswick, Lake District
Dale Head Hall Hotel Keswick

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing