We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Spot on!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Rowan Tree Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Keswick
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Rowan Tree Guest House
Ranked #48 of 177 Keswick B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Spot on!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014 via mobile

Perfect location, clean fresh rooms. After check in, strolled into town for some great food at the George Hotel as recommended by our hosts. Following morning saw a top quality (non greasy) traditional breakfast served with as much local knowledge for the day ahead as you needed.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank SnowbikePeople
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    124
    15
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
25
71
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Hexham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2014

I checked lots of B and B choices through the Keswick Tourist information site and settled on The Rowan Tree Guest House having been impressed by other reviews. Great choice. We stayed for two nights and well warmly welcomed on our arrival. Our bedroom was very comfortable and cosy and we had the most comfortable bed. Steve was very attentive to everyone during breakfast and nothing was too much trouble. There was a fabulous choice of breakfast choices, from cereal, yoghurts, fresh fruit, juices and then came the cooked breakfast. Plus the toast and loads of tea or coffee. Wow! The house was immaculate and location was spot on as only 5 minutes walking distance to shops. We didnt use the drying facilities but others did and Steve checked for us about a road closure and where we would find the Osprey viewing facilities and also recommended a local italian restaurant. We would highly recommend this b and b to anyone looking for accommodation in Keswick and shall definitely stay again. Thanks again to Steve and Amanda. Great hosts. Anne and Robin

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Foxylady94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2014

Stayed for two nights on a short break. The Guest House is nipping clean and the hosts were helpful and friendly. Breakfast was lovely with plenty of choice and good portions. The meat was quality butchers meat (not the plastic stuff). Steve made sure that I had plenty of fruit juice as I personally do not drink tea or coffee but my husband enjoyed the coffee which was also good quality and served freshly ground.
The room was comfortable and warm and the bed was comfortable. Not a speck of dust anywhere.
This guest house is also cycle friendly and has a drying room if you happen to get soaked.
I would not hesitate to recommend this guest house to anyone. It is a little gem situated within 5 minutes walking distance of pubs and shops

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Felicity56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda D, Owner at The Rowan Tree Guest House, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
Thank you so much for your lovely review. It's nice to hear that you and your family enjoyed your stay. We hope to welcome you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2014

Stayed for two days, short break, Amanda and Steve very welcoming and friendly. Nothing was too much trouble, lovely full English breakfast, the whole place is immaculately clean, location was great, it was very quiet and peaceful, Steve's knowledge about the local walks and area was very useful, highly recommended and will definitely return later in the summer.
Best wishes.
Bill and Jackie

Room Tip: Our bedroom was located at the back of the property, it so peaceful and quiet, the bed was extremely...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank William M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda D, Manager at The Rowan Tree Guest House, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We appreciate your very kind comments. It was lovely to meet you both and we look forward to welcoming you back in the summer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2014

We booked last minute through late rooms and had a fabulous stay. Great location. Helpful , friendly knowledgeable owner. Steve advised us on a gorgeous walk to meet our rambling skill level. The breakfast was hearty and delicious with lots of choice

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank aajohnson811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda D, Owner at The Rowan Tree Guest House, responded to this review, 13 March 2014
Thank you for your review. It was lovely to meet you both. We are really pleased that you enjoyed your stay and the local walks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gateshead, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2014

A great guest house within minutes of the centre of keswick. I stayed here for three nights and found the owners very welcoming and friendly. I stayed in one of the family rooms which was furnished to a high standard, well presented and spotlessly clean. Breakfasts were fantastic with plenty of choice and full english was cooked superbly using quality ingredients sourced locally. Plenty of car parking space outside in quiet location. Would definitely stay again and comes highly recommended. Well done Steve and Amanda!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank craig d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda D, Owner at The Rowan Tree Guest House, responded to this review, 13 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We appreciate your kind comments. It was lovely to meet you and your brother and great to hear how much you enjoyed your stay in Keswick. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014

Found this through Late rooms and all 3 of us enjoyed it. Steve and Amanda work really hard to meet every need and were very welcoming and accommodating. Room was lovely - first floor family room with en suite and a bay window. Food great and freshly cooked. definitely to be recommended. We will go again.

Room Tip: our room 2 was spacious and well equipped.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank joco613
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda D, Owner at The Rowan Tree Guest House, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Thank you for your lovely feedback and your recommendation. We are very pleased that you all enjoyed your stay. Steve and I look forward to welcoming you again soon!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Keswick hotels
0.1 mi away
Stonegarth Guest House
Stonegarth Guest House
#20 of 177 in Keswick
5.0 of 5 bubbles 497 reviews
0.2 mi away
Honister House
Honister House
#2 of 177 in Keswick
5.0 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
0.7 mi away
Laurel Bank B&B
Laurel Bank B&B
#14 of 177 in Keswick
5.0 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Littletown Farm
Littletown Farm
#43 of 177 in Keswick
5.0 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
0.0 mi away
Damson Lodge
Damson Lodge
#45 of 177 in Keswick
5.0 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
0.1 mi away
Herdwick Guest House
Herdwick Guest House
#83 of 177 in Keswick
5.0 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Rowan Tree Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rowan Tree Guest House

Property: The Rowan Tree Guest House
Address: 37 Eskin Street, Keswick CA12 4DG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 177 B&Bs / Inns in Keswick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rowan Tree is a Victorian slate guest house, which has been recently refurbished to an excellent standard. It is quietly situated, yet within a short stroll of Keswick’s market square, lake, theatre, cinema and surrounding fells. All rooms are en-suite and some have views of the fells. Facilities include, flat screen TV’s, tea and coffee making facilities, radio alarm clock with ipod docking and free WI FI access. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Rowan Tree Guest House Keswick, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing