We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable Welcoming B&B” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Rowan Tree Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Keswick
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Rowan Tree Guest House
Ranked #48 of 177 Keswick B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Scotland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Comfortable Welcoming B&B”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

Our 1st stop on our C2C.Great location, in a quiet street yet a few minutes stroll from the town centre. ( which offers a wonderful small independent local cinema 2 minutes walk away). Amanda & Steve offer exactly the right level of welcome and helpful friendliness. Rooms were very comfortable and clean with good showers. Good breakfast to send us on our way. Thank you.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank SUPTON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    124
    15
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
25
71
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Bryan, Texas
Level Contributor
60 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights in June. We had 2 rooms and both of them were great. Steve and Amanda made us feel very welcome and were excellent hosts. The breakfast was perfect. My daughter and I were going to do some hiking while here and Steve gave us great directions on how to begin and also a guidebook that gave exact directions while on the hike since there was
very few signs on the trails on which way to go. Thank you Steve and Amanda for making this a very relaxing and enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank msroy616
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

Stayed for 2 nights here over the weekend. We were made to feel very welcome straight from the start. My boyfriend had a triathlon whilst we were staying there and they kindly stored his bike safely for him. The day of the triathlon we were up too early for breakfast but they were so thoughtful and cooked us some food for later that morning when we arrived back.
The guest house was beautifully decorated and very clean. Location was perfect.... 5mins walk to the town centre and about 7mins walk to the lake.
Will definitely return, thanks again.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebeccathetrecker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

My friend and I were made very welcome by Steve and Amanda, who work hard at looking after their guests.

A cup of tea on arrival would not have gone amiss - the only B&B where we were not offered one - but that was a minor point and they might have simply forgotten.

The bikes were securely locked away overnight.

Advice on places to eat was welcome: we went to The George - excellent.

A good breakfast helped to send us on our way feeling refreshed. We'd stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank zufuss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntly
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014

We stayed with Amanda and Steve for two nights in the middle of May, in the family room 2. They were perfect hosts. Beautiful house and garden, immaculately clean, fresh, amazing breakfast and very friendly and welcoming. They coped with our special diet brilliantly. In short, this is the best guest house we have ever stayed in! They were great with our son, who is nine. We wished we could have stayed for longer! Hope to go back next year for a long weekend, and enjoy exploring Keswick more. Thank you Amanda and Steve for all your attention to detail and hard work, that helped to make our stay with you so relaxing and enjoyable. Many thanks.

Room Tip: Room 2 is a family room and a good size. Comfortable for three. Could be used by a couple who wanted...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bkhenderson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire
Level Contributor
69 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2014

We stayed here for two nights (we wanted to stay for three but we booked only a few days before and it was already booked!). Great location, lovely rooms, very clean and modern. Steve and Amanda are very friendly and helpful. We chose the Rowan Tree as we had mountain bikes, and they provide a lockup area for the bikes. They also provide a drying room for you to put your rain soaked clothes to dry out, ready for the next day. Breakfast was fabulous, lots of choice.
For lunch we ate at Merienda cafe and would recommend the Hallumi. In the evening we had a great pizza at the Orange Square.
If you are a mountain biker you must go to Whinlatter Forest. It is about 4miles ride (uphill!) from keswick, but the trails once you get there are quite a white knuckle ride.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ClarinCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, UK
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed one night 12 May to extend a short break in The Lakes and we were not disappointed. Rooms immaculate, crisp white bedding, tasteful decor and breakfast was as lovely as our host Steve. We had room 3 on 2nd floor at back which was very quiet. We also dined at The George which is short walk from GH and would def recommend. The chicken stuffed with venison was delicious - just wish I hadn't had starter as bit too much for me!
We will return without a doubt.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PurpleAudrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Keswick hotels
0.1 mi away
Stonegarth Guest House
Stonegarth Guest House
#20 of 177 in Keswick
5.0 of 5 bubbles 498 reviews
0.7 mi away
Laurel Bank B&B
Laurel Bank B&B
#14 of 177 in Keswick
5.0 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
0.2 mi away
Honister House
Honister House
#8 of 177 in Keswick
5.0 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Littletown Farm
Littletown Farm
#42 of 177 in Keswick
5.0 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
0.0 mi away
Damson Lodge
Damson Lodge
#45 of 177 in Keswick
5.0 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
0.1 mi away
Strathmore Guest House
Strathmore Guest House
#43 of 177 in Keswick
5.0 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Rowan Tree Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rowan Tree Guest House

Property: The Rowan Tree Guest House
Address: 37 Eskin Street, Keswick CA12 4DG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 177 B&Bs / Inns in Keswick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rowan Tree is a Victorian slate guest house, which has been recently refurbished to an excellent standard. It is quietly situated, yet within a short stroll of Keswick’s market square, lake, theatre, cinema and surrounding fells. All rooms are en-suite and some have views of the fells. Facilities include, flat screen TV’s, tea and coffee making facilities, radio alarm clock with ipod docking and free WI FI access. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Rowan Tree Guest House Keswick, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing