We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely guest house”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Glendale Guest House
Ranked #58 of 189 Keswick B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 June 2012

We had a delightful 3 night stay through the rigours of the Diamond Jubilee and our hosts couldn't do enough for us. The standard of décor was very high, as was the terrific cooked breakfast - and 5 stars for the porridge on it's own. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (415)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

192 - 198 of 415 reviews

Reviewed 7 June 2012

This is the second year in a row my wife and I have stayed at the Glendale, and the second visit was very much as good as the first. The host Martin and Gilly are friendly and very accommodating.
It is only as short walk from the town centre and is a good starting point for the many walks in the surrounding area. I would highly recommend.

Many thanks Bill and Tracy (Hinckley)

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bill W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2012

We stayed for one night last weekend and we were not made very welcome at all, we are a same sex coupke and this obviously did not go down well. breakfast was just ok and I will say the room was spotless apart from the noisy shower !. I am still awaiting a goodbye and my £4 change !! maybe he thought it was a tip for the warm welcome we were given !!

Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
5  Thank jdckwk24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2012

This was our 3rd or 4th stay with Martin and Gilly and I must stay their standards are still as high as the first time. The rooms are very comfortable and the breakfasts are excellent. They are also so helpful when you are trying to plan your day. We have already booked our next stay in August.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2012

We stayed for 2 nights and, as always, Gilly and Martin made us feel very welcome. It was good to see them again as we first stayed here ten years ago with our children. The ensuite rooms are well furnished and comfortable. We always enjoy the cooked breakfast, and it is a perfect start if you have an energetic day planned. Martin has some good tips for planning day trips and bus timetables on hand if required. The on-street parking is the only downside, but for us this is outweighed by being able to walk such a short distance to the town centre and have the choice of different restaurants - and we have always found a parking space - just not directly outside the door.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank C_and_S_from_York
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2012

Gilly and Martin always make you feel welcome at Glendale. The rooms are spotlessly clean and nicely furnished yet a little cosy in size. The breakfast is good quality and really sets you up for a day on the fells. Martin is extremely knowlegeable about all the fells and mountains in the whole of the lake district and if you have a plan to take on a big climb that day, I guarentee he can improve the route for you. Gilly and Martin are really interested in making sure you get the best out of your visit. We have stopped in several B and B's in Keswick over the past few years and this one is one of the best. The Glendale is about 300 yards from the main street in the town and yet is in a really quiet area, so there are absolutely no street disturbances on an evening. On street parking only is the one and only negative, but it's a long street. We will be going back to Keswick later in the year for another three days on high level exercise and will have no hesitation at booking into the Glendale Guest House again. Perfect.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nathan O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2012

Were recommended to stay here by friends and what a good recommendation for our 4 night stay. Spotless room, comfortably furnished,quiet street,near the centre of things. Excellent breakfasts, lovely hosts full of information about this and that of the area. We,ve booked again for next year's jazz festival.

Room Tip: Take your pick unless you can't climb stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FarleygreenSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Keswick hotels
0.4 mi away
Brierholme Guest House
Brierholme Guest House
#8 of 189 in Keswick
607 reviews
0.2 mi away
Babbling Brook Guesthouse
Babbling Brook Guesthouse
#44 of 189 in Keswick
190 reviews
0.7 mi away
Burnside B&B
Burnside B&B
#3 of 189 in Keswick
604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Stonegarth Guest House
Stonegarth Guest House
#12 of 189 in Keswick
560 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sunnyside Guest House
Sunnyside Guest House
#93 of 189 in Keswick
128 reviews
0.3 mi away
Crow Park Hotel Keswick
Crow Park Hotel Keswick
#68 of 189 in Keswick
282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glendale Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glendale Guest House

Address: 7 Eskin Street, Keswick CA12 4DH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 189 B&Bs / Inns in Keswick
Price Range: £81 - £95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Glendale Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"The Perfect Base To Explore The Lakes." We promise a warm welcome when you arrive at Glendale. In a quiet location just a few minutes’ walk from the town centre and the lakeshore of Derwentwater. Many walks can be started straight from the door and we are happy to advise on sutable routes.This four diamond silver award guest house provides comfortable rooms with en-suite or private bathrooms. All have colour TV and tea/coffee trays and hairdryers. Our extensive breakfast menu offers fruits, cereals and yogurts and a varied selection from a hearty Full English, with local Cumberland sausage, a light continental or vegetarian option.Freshly ground coffee, and homemade marmalade are a speciality. Free Wifi available throughout the house. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers and Priceline so you can book your Glendale Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glendale Guest House Hotel Keswick
Glendale Guest House Keswick, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing