We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Glendale Guest House
Ranked #65 of 176 Keswick B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2012

We received a warm welcome from the owners and they offered to help us with our bags. The room was en suite and well appointed and spotlessly clean. The owners will provide recommendations for places to eat or guest recommendations are in a book in the hall. The owners will recommend walks to suit all abilities. The breakfast was excellent with plenty of choice. We will definitely be returning soon.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StephenandIrene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

400 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    358
    37
    3
    0
    2
See reviews for
38
290
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Loughton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2012

This was our first time at this superb guest house, it was spotless, the owners were welcoming and friendly, the location was fantastic, very quiet, but walking distance to the town centre and the beautiful lake. our room was cosy and warm and we slept like logs, the breakfast was lovely, nothing was to much for our hosts, who cooked my husbands egg just the way he likes them. we will be back.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank christina g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2012

Had a fantastic time at Glendale guest house which is very comfortable and spotless. Martin and Gilly made us feel at home with their hospitality. The breakfasts were great and Martin pointed us in the right direction for a couple of walks to Cat Bells and Latrigg where the views were spectacular. Cant wait to come back to Keswick!

Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Simon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2012

This guest house is lovely with very friendly and helpful owners, bedroom and bathroom were very clean and modern. There was lots of choice for breakfast, especially liked the sausages. Location of the guest house is good, just a few minutes to the centre of Keswick. Will definitely recommend to friends.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2012

If you're looking for great value B+B in Keswick then Glendal Guest House is it! The slate-built terraced house is a short stroll from the town centre and is very clean, fresh and well cared for by excellent hosts. My wife and I visited with two freinds and we received a warm friendly welcome on arrival with useful advice on where to eat on the Friday night. Breakfast was very good and advice on where to go during the day led to a very enjoyable trip around the lake with stops to enjoy the waterfalls behind the Lodore Hotel and the village of Portinscale from where we took a 15 minute walk back to Keswick. We enjoyed our weekend and would certainly revisit Glendale House as it met all our expectations, gave us nothing to complain about and was great value. We'd score it 10 out of 10!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dennis B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newcastle,england
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2012

Our fourth visit to this guest house was lovely. After flirting with other guest houses in Keswick we stuck with this one after our first visit. Just the right level friendliness from Martin and Gilly who are perfect hosts. Food lovely at breakfast and perfect setting. Will be back!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonner1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Hollywood, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2012

Such a perfect and beautiful stay. Beautiful & quiet room, fantastic delicious breakfast, most wonderful guesthouse. Great location. This is the place to be when visiting any area in the Lake District!! Thank You!!

Room Tip: Stayed in #5 which has luxury spa-type ensuite features.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Guest G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Keswick hotels
0.2 mi away
Babbling Brook Guesthouse
Babbling Brook Guesthouse
#36 of 176 in Keswick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
0.0 mi away
Stonegarth Guest House
Stonegarth Guest House
#20 of 176 in Keswick
5.0 of 5 bubbles 512 reviews
0.3 mi away
Brundholme Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
LakeSide House
LakeSide House
#12 of 176 in Keswick
5.0 of 5 bubbles 554 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hall Garth Guest House
Hall Garth Guest House
#61 of 176 in Keswick
5.0 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
0.7 mi away
Laurel Bank B&B
Laurel Bank B&B
#15 of 176 in Keswick
5.0 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glendale Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glendale Guest House

Property: Glendale Guest House
Address: 7 Eskin Street, Keswick CA12 4DH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #65 of 176 B&Bs / Inns in Keswick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Glendale Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"The Perfect Base To Explore The Lakes." We promise a warm welcome when you arrive at Glendale. In a quiet location just a few minutes’ walk from the town centre and the lakeshore of Derwentwater. Many walks can be started straight from the door and we are happy to advise on sutable routes.This four diamond silver award guest house provides comfortable rooms with en-suite or private bathrooms. All have colour TV and tea/coffee trays and hairdryers. Our extensive breakfast menu offers fruits, cereals and yogurts and a varied selection from a hearty Full English, with local Cumberland sausage, a light continental or vegetarian option.Freshly ground coffee, and homemade marmalade are a speciality. Free Wifi available throughout the house. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Glendale Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glendale Guest House Hotel Keswick
Glendale Guest House Keswick, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing