We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Glendale Guest House
Ranked #58 of 189 Keswick B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 November 2012

Had a short break at the Glendale (2 nights). Received a very warm welcome from Martin and Jilly. Our room was beautifully clean, cosy and the bed very comfortable. The ensuite sparkled! Breakfast was very good. Our hosts were always on hand to provide advice on walks and where to eat. A very enjoyable and relaxing break!

Room Tip: The street is quiet generally. Ours was a superior room so we got a king size bed. Otherwise it was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank waltyluft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (416)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

158 - 164 of 416 reviews

Reviewed 29 October 2012

Lovely stay. Great value for money. Excellent breakfast & hospitality. Only a short walk into town and to the lake. The George hotel is a lovely place to have a meal, as is Casa Bella. Would highly recommend this B&B.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aizgreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2012

We received a warm welcome from the owners and they offered to help us with our bags. The room was en suite and well appointed and spotlessly clean. The owners will provide recommendations for places to eat or guest recommendations are in a book in the hall. The owners will recommend walks to suit all abilities. The breakfast was excellent with plenty of choice. We will definitely be returning soon.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StephenandIrene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2012

This was our first time at this superb guest house, it was spotless, the owners were welcoming and friendly, the location was fantastic, very quiet, but walking distance to the town centre and the beautiful lake. our room was cosy and warm and we slept like logs, the breakfast was lovely, nothing was to much for our hosts, who cooked my husbands egg just the way he likes them. we will be back.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank christina g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2012

Had a fantastic time at Glendale guest house which is very comfortable and spotless. Martin and Gilly made us feel at home with their hospitality. The breakfasts were great and Martin pointed us in the right direction for a couple of walks to Cat Bells and Latrigg where the views were spectacular. Cant wait to come back to Keswick!

Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank Simon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2012

This guest house is lovely with very friendly and helpful owners, bedroom and bathroom were very clean and modern. There was lots of choice for breakfast, especially liked the sausages. Location of the guest house is good, just a few minutes to the centre of Keswick. Will definitely recommend to friends.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2012

If you're looking for great value B+B in Keswick then Glendal Guest House is it! The slate-built terraced house is a short stroll from the town centre and is very clean, fresh and well cared for by excellent hosts. My wife and I visited with two freinds and we received a warm friendly welcome on arrival with useful advice on where to eat on the Friday night. Breakfast was very good and advice on where to go during the day led to a very enjoyable trip around the lake with stops to enjoy the waterfalls behind the Lodore Hotel and the village of Portinscale from where we took a 15 minute walk back to Keswick. We enjoyed our weekend and would certainly revisit Glendale House as it met all our expectations, gave us nothing to complain about and was great value. We'd score it 10 out of 10!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dennis B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Keswick hotels
0.3 mi away
The Kings Arms Hotel
The Kings Arms Hotel
#13 of 17 in Keswick
478 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Derwentwater Hotel
The Derwentwater Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portinscale
759 reviews
7.0 mi away
Lane Head Farm Country Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hall Garth Guest House
Hall Garth Guest House
#81 of 189 in Keswick
111 reviews
0.3 mi away
LakeSide House
LakeSide House
#13 of 189 in Keswick
616 reviews
0.2 mi away
Babbling Brook Guesthouse
Babbling Brook Guesthouse
#45 of 189 in Keswick
191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glendale Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glendale Guest House

Address: 7 Eskin Street, Keswick CA12 4DH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 189 B&Bs / Inns in Keswick
Price Range: £81 - £92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Glendale Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"The Perfect Base To Explore The Lakes." We promise a warm welcome when you arrive at Glendale. In a quiet location just a few minutes’ walk from the town centre and the lakeshore of Derwentwater. Many walks can be started straight from the door and we are happy to advise on sutable routes.This four diamond silver award guest house provides comfortable rooms with en-suite or private bathrooms. All have colour TV and tea/coffee trays and hairdryers. Our extensive breakfast menu offers fruits, cereals and yogurts and a varied selection from a hearty Full English, with local Cumberland sausage, a light continental or vegetarian option.Freshly ground coffee, and homemade marmalade are a speciality. Free Wifi available throughout the house. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Priceline so you can book your Glendale Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glendale Guest House Hotel Keswick
Glendale Guest House Keswick, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing