We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and Comfortable Room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Glendale Guest House
Ranked #62 of 173 Keswick B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong, China
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Clean and Comfortable Room”
Reviewed 10 April 2013

Our room is exactly how it appears on the website. It is furnished with good quality furniture. Tidy and not clustered. We particularly like the guest bathroom which is designed with thought and is very comfortable to use. It is a proper room. You won't feel cramped in it. The only confusing is that we were told our room has a king size bed, but in fact it is a double bed. It is still comfortable, but it would be better if the owner could use the accurate terminology to avoid future confusion.

Room Tip: The superior double suite is great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pickypinky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

406 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    363
    38
    3
    0
    2
See reviews for
40
293
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Normanton, null, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 2 April 2013

We stayed here Easter weekend ,second time we've stayed here ,very friendly owners made to feel very welcome.Rooms very clean and tidy ,would recommend this place to anyone. the only downside to this is parking we struggled to park our car near guest house.Breakfast was excellent plenty to choose from

Room Tip: my room was dark so slept well till central heating came on early
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingswinford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2013

Just returned from a four night stay at Glendale Guest House. Travelled up from the Midlands on the 23rd March 2013. The weather reports didnt put me off coming as there was very little snow in this part of Keswick. All the roads were open to Keswick from the Penrith approach. Although the weather was wild and bitterly cold outside the warmest of welcomes was there to greet me in Martin and Gilly, which was much appreciated. The house was warm and cosy and my room five was lovely and warm just what i needed to warm up. The room was spotless with an exellent power shower to take away those aches and paines from a days walking. The room has all the amenities that you require from a first class accomodation. The breakfasts are a first class requirement to prepare you for a day on the fells or your day out nicely prepared by Gilly and expertly presented by Martin. Weather reports were on hand every day and advice if sort was readily available from Martin and Gilly. What can i say further but if you require a first class Guest House then Glendale is the one to stop at in Keswick, it has everthing and the perfect base to explore the Lakes. Can't wait to stay again. Fully Recommend. Ashley from the Black Country.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ashleyh1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 March 2013

Found this B&B on the internet. Wasn't dissapointed. Room was very nicely decorated. Bed comfortable and had all the facilities you need. Hosts were very friendly and welcoming and helpful but not in your face all the time. Breakfast was very nice and had a good choice. B&B was only 5 minutes away from the town centre and well within walking distance to Derwent Water. Keswick is a lovely town and plenty of places to eat. Well worth a visit. Will be visiting again this year and hoping to book the same B&B. Good value for money.

Room Tip: I dont think it really matters which room you have as the street is not particularly noisy and our r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank foxsm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 March 2013

Just returned from a 4night stay at Glendale Guest House.We were met by hosts Martin & Gilly who were very friendly and helpfull. Our room was spotlessley clean. Breakfast was excellent pleanty of choice. The Guest House is ideally situated for all ammenaties. Just a 5min walk to Keswick centre where there are pleanty of good eating places. Would recommend and will definitely stay again.Thanks again.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank margaret S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clitheroe, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 March 2013

Took a chance from the web; A warm welcome on arrival by both Martin and Gilly, the room was spacious and spotless. The breakfast was well prepared by Gilly and presented by Maritn, a great start to a day out among the fells. Fantastic helpful hosts.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dennis503
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stourbridge
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2013

Have just returned from yet another great stay at Glendale Guest House!!We have visited many times now for us it is a brilliant base for Keswick and surrounding Lakes!! What can we say about our hosts Martin & Gilly nothing is too much trouble, we have stayed in most rooms all of which spotless and comfortable lovely showers just what you need after a days walking and the beds super comfy. Breakfasts cooked and served beautifully and Gillys porridge WOW!! We Will Be Back!!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gail P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Keswick hotels
0.0 mi away
Stonegarth Guest House
Stonegarth Guest House
#11 of 173 in Keswick
538 reviews
0.0 mi away
Rickerby Grange
Rickerby Grange
#7 of 9 in Portinscale
142 reviews
0.2 mi away
Babbling Brook Guesthouse
Babbling Brook Guesthouse
#42 of 173 in Keswick
183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Maple Bank Country Guest House
0.7 mi away
Laurel Bank B&B
Laurel Bank B&B
#14 of 173 in Keswick
268 reviews
0.7 mi away
Burnside B&B
Burnside B&B
#5 of 173 in Keswick
592 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glendale Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glendale Guest House

Property: Glendale Guest House
Address: 7 Eskin Street, Keswick CA12 4DH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #62 of 173 B&Bs / Inns in Keswick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Glendale Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"The Perfect Base To Explore The Lakes." We promise a warm welcome when you arrive at Glendale. In a quiet location just a few minutes’ walk from the town centre and the lakeshore of Derwentwater. Many walks can be started straight from the door and we are happy to advise on sutable routes.This four diamond silver award guest house provides comfortable rooms with en-suite or private bathrooms. All have colour TV and tea/coffee trays and hairdryers. Our extensive breakfast menu offers fruits, cereals and yogurts and a varied selection from a hearty Full English, with local Cumberland sausage, a light continental or vegetarian option.Freshly ground coffee, and homemade marmalade are a speciality. Free Wifi available throughout the house. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Glendale Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glendale Guest House Hotel Keswick
Glendale Guest House Keswick, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing