We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Ravenstone Manor Hotel(Bassenthwaite)
US$151
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$147
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Scafell Hotel(Rosthwaite)
Book now, pay at stay
US$211
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$151
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$142
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$158/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Lodore Falls Hotel(Borrowdale)
US$290
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$280
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$118
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Free cancellation until 22/07
US$105
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$102
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$166
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$263
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
The Borrowdale Gates Hotel(Grange-in-Borrowdale)
US$311
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$300
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (423)
Filter reviews
423 results
Traveller rating
378
40
3
0
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
378
40
3
0
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsguest houseporridgewarm welcometown centreroom was spotlesspubs and restaurantsfull englishlovely guesthousewouldn't stay anywhere elsefive minute walkwould stay againset you up for the dayplenty of choicestreet parkinglovely breakfastexcellent staybed and breakfast
Filter
Updating list...
127 - 132 of 423 reviews
Reviewed 31 August 2013

A very clean, comfortable and friendly Guest House. Martin and Gilly very helpful in what
to see and do in The Lake District. Breakfast to keep you going all day. Thoroughly
recommend a visit to this pleasant property, within easy walking distant of Keswick and
Derwenteater.

Room Tip: All rooms clean and well appointed
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eileen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2013

Glendale is a gem! The rooms are spotless and very comfortable. Breakfasts are superb and set you up for the day. Hosts, Martin and Gilly, are extremely welcoming. Location excellent; just a 5 min stroll to the centre of the town. We will definitely book again. Faultless.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank savannah66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2013

My family have visited this guest house on a number of occasions and I wouldn't stay anywhere else.
Martin and Gilly are very welcoming and excellent hosts. The room was superior and breakfast was really good. On this occasion we took my brother in law who travels alot with his job and he was really impressed with the standard of accommodation. It is tremendously clean and only about 5 minutes into the centre.

We cant wait to go back. Full marks all round.

Many Thanks
Andrew Robinson

Room Tip: If you have a child you can ask for the family room.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AArobinson1138
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2013

This was our third visit to Glendale in the last 12 months, and again a hugely enjoyable week. The accomodation is kept spotlessly clean and tidy and is really comfortable. The power shower in the bathroom is great for waking up in the morning or relaxing after a hard days walking. Coffee and tea making facilities are excellent. Breakfast is superb with a great choice of cerals, fruit and yoghurt. The cooked breakfasts are quite simply delicious. In the heart of Keswick, Glendale provided a great opportunity for local walks and was just a short walk to all the Keswick Convention events. Although parking is on road, there was never a problem finding a space at what must be one of the busier times of the year. Martin and Gilly are wonderful hosts, always willing to share their extensive local knowledge, especially the local walking routes. With a combination of local paths, boats and buses its completly possible to explore the surrounding hills without using a car for days. Looking forward to the next visit.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Freshairisgoodforyou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2013

We really enjoyed our 3 night stay at Glendale. Lovely breakfast every morning. Very comfortable room and a great nights sleep. Great hosts in Martin and Gilly. Glendale is a very short walk to the town centre with all the town has to offer. Would highly recommend this guest house to all. Hope to return in the future.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jeffandval
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews