We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (425)
Filter reviews
425 results
Traveller rating
380
40
3
0
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
380
40
3
0
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews guest house porridge warm welcome town centre room was spotless pubs and restaurants full english wouldn't stay anywhere else lovely guesthouse five minute walk would stay again set you up for the day plenty of choice lovely breakfast excellent stay street parking bed and breakfast
Filter
Updating list...
128 - 133 of 425 reviews
Reviewed 31 August 2013

Went there for the long weekend (24th to 26th August), and the stay was absolutely wonderful! Stayed in the superior double room, which was spacious, clean and WELL worth the money! Breakfast was delicious, the area was a 10 min walk away from the lake and town.. On top of this, the couple that run the place, Martin and Gilly Lankester, were very friendly.. The only downside was the noisy shower.. But hey, it was only that one thing. Like the title says, my girlfriend and I are definitely staying here again, the next time we visit. :)

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anojan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2013

A very clean, comfortable and friendly Guest House. Martin and Gilly very helpful in what
to see and do in The Lake District. Breakfast to keep you going all day. Thoroughly
recommend a visit to this pleasant property, within easy walking distant of Keswick and
Derwenteater.

Room Tip: All rooms clean and well appointed
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eileen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2013

Glendale is a gem! The rooms are spotless and very comfortable. Breakfasts are superb and set you up for the day. Hosts, Martin and Gilly, are extremely welcoming. Location excellent; just a 5 min stroll to the centre of the town. We will definitely book again. Faultless.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank savannah66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2013

My family have visited this guest house on a number of occasions and I wouldn't stay anywhere else.
Martin and Gilly are very welcoming and excellent hosts. The room was superior and breakfast was really good. On this occasion we took my brother in law who travels alot with his job and he was really impressed with the standard of accommodation. It is tremendously clean and only about 5 minutes into the centre.

We cant wait to go back. Full marks all round.

Many Thanks
Andrew Robinson

Room Tip: If you have a child you can ask for the family room.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AArobinson1138
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2013

This was our third visit to Glendale in the last 12 months, and again a hugely enjoyable week. The accomodation is kept spotlessly clean and tidy and is really comfortable. The power shower in the bathroom is great for waking up in the morning or relaxing after a hard days walking. Coffee and tea making facilities are excellent. Breakfast is superb with a great choice of cerals, fruit and yoghurt. The cooked breakfasts are quite simply delicious. In the heart of Keswick, Glendale provided a great opportunity for local walks and was just a short walk to all the Keswick Convention events. Although parking is on road, there was never a problem finding a space at what must be one of the busier times of the year. Martin and Gilly are wonderful hosts, always willing to share their extensive local knowledge, especially the local walking routes. With a combination of local paths, boats and buses its completly possible to explore the surrounding hills without using a car for days. Looking forward to the next visit.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Freshairisgoodforyou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews