We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (425)
Filter reviews
425 results
Traveller rating
380
40
3
0
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
380
40
3
0
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews guest house porridge warm welcome town centre room was spotless pubs and restaurants full english wouldn't stay anywhere else lovely guesthouse five minute walk would stay again set you up for the day plenty of choice lovely breakfast excellent stay street parking bed and breakfast
Filter
Updating list...
123 - 128 of 425 reviews
Reviewed 17 September 2013

Glendale is an outstanding B&B. Martin and Gilly are excellent hosts. The rooms are finished to a high standard and spotlessly clean. There is plenty of choice for breakfast and the quality of the food is very high. This was our third visit to Glendale and we hope to stay again soon.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank StephenandIrene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2013

run by Martin and Gilly, this is an excellent place to stay, very cosy and clean and Martin and Gilly are very friendly and make you very welcome. I well recommend you stay here if you are visiting Keswick. Ray & Linda Felt

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Raymond F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin L, Owner at Glendale Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2013

Thank you for your glowing comments Ray.
We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and we trust you had a good journey home. The weather was "a bit mixed" during your stay but you didn't let it get you down.
It's great to hear from you and we hope to see you again soon.
Martin & Gilly

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2013

We have stayed at Glendale several times over the years and this visit was as good as all the rest. Martin and Gilly are excellent hosts and their local knowledge is exceptional. We mention an area we wish to visit and a suggested walking route is immediate. The accommodation is clean and modern. The food is first class. We would recommend Glendale guest house to anyone visiting the Lakes

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Judith H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin L, Owner at Glendale Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2013

Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback on your stay at Glendale Guest House.

We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and that the information we provide is useful.
We don't like to over power our visitors with information but we are passionate about the Lake District and are only too pleased to share some of our experiences with you.

Thanks again for all your kind comments.

Martin & Gilly

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2013

A really great place - welcoming, excellent breakfast, quiet very clean room and real value for money. Our second but not our last visit. We have stayed at Glendale before and the standard is as good as ever. We travel a good deal so have some experience of the best and the worst and this is certainly one of the best.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Terence D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin L, Owner at Glendale Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2013

Thank you Terry for taking the time to leave some comments about your stay with us. We are always delighted when guests make a return visit as it really demonstrates that you enjoy your visit and it really is the greatest compliment you can pay us.
We do hope that you visit us again.
Best wishes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

A drive down from Edinburgh to the charming town of Keswick in the late evening of August 27th was pleasant with some scenic countryside roads.... until a little bit of distress (on my part) sets in given that we didn't have any accommodation booked for the night and there were one too many 'No Vacancies' displayed on windows of guesthouses.

But a knock on Glendale's front door with Martin's surprised expression and a warm smile greeted our apologetic faces. He graciously showed us a double room on the first floor and we loved it! The little chandelier lighting gave the room a warm and cosy glow and reflected how well-kept the room was. Needless to say, we had a very comfortable night.

Breakfast the next morning was superb with generous portions.. And a chat with Martin and Gilly about places to visit was incredibly helpful. We took a drive to places that they recommended and were absolutely thrilled with it!

We couldn't have expressed our gratitude more towards Martin and Gilly for being gracious hosts.. A definite A++ for service and we will definitely make another visit should we be there the next time... Knocking much earlier of course!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rachel T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin L, Owner at Glendale Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2013

Hello Rachel.
Thank you for writing a review and we are pleased you enjoyed your day in the Lake District after you left us and that our suggestions were helpful.

I must have looked a little surprised as I remember it really was quite late when you arrived. We are pleased to know that you had a comfortable nights sleep and that breakfast was what you needed.

Perhaps you will return on your next trip to the UK.

Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews