We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our 2nd home.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Glendale Guest House
Ranked #65 of 176 Keswick B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Keighley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Our 2nd home.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2014

Yet another great stay a perfect retraeat with the best hosts superb rooms and a breakfast that will set you up all weekend!
A perfect base for walking,cycling or just wandering round town.
Thanks once again Jilly and Martin hope to see you again soon.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank simon s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin L, Owner at Glendale Guest House, responded to this review, 13 February 2014
Great to hear your comments Simon S. Your "second home", thats brilliant and we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us again.
Best wishes to you both and we will see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

400 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    358
    37
    3
    0
    2
See reviews for
38
290
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Oldham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2013 via mobile

This guest house is located an easy 5 minutes walk from the centre of Keswick and has on road parking. irectly outside and in nearby streets.

Martin and Gilly, our hosts were very welcoming and made us feel right at home. Equipped with plenty of local knowledge, they're able to assist in helping you plan your day with good advice on what's on, where to go and how to get there.

The accommodation is maintained to a very high level and spotlessly clean. Our room was comfortable and plenty big enough, with drink making facilities and a TV.

Breakfast was served between 8:30 and 9:00 and was of Excellent quality and there was a good selection available. There's even a printed weather report to peruse whilst enjoying it.

We had a fabulous weekend in Keswick (29/11-1/12) and I can certainly recommend The Glendale.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gadget_mgs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin L, Owner at Glendale Guest House, responded to this review, 13 February 2014
We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay at Glendale Guest House.
We always work hard to make your stay as comfortable as possible and it gives us a real boost to hear such positive remarks.
We do hope that you visit again soon when you will see some of the improvements we have been making.

Best wishes from

Martin & Gilly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2013

We have just returned home from a weekend in Keswick ,It was our 1st stay at the Glendale Guest House and it was fabulous. Very clean ,comfortable and everything to a high standard,
Breakfast the following morning was delicious and very generous Martin and Gilly are perfect hosts and are very helpful, Loved it, would certainly recommend the Glendale Guest House.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robert w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin L, Owner at Glendale Guest House, responded to this review, 13 February 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave your comments. we really appreciate the positive comments and really enjoy reading them.
We run a business and you are the customer but it still gives us a real boost to know that you have enjoyed your stay at Glendale Guest House.
Thanks again
Best wishes
Martin & Gilly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingswinford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013

Just returned from a Six night stay at Glendale Keswick. A very warm welcome from Martin and Gilly. As returning guests to Glendale the standards are second to none excellent through out as always. That's why we keep returning a perfect base to explore the Lake District from a perfect Guest House. See you soon

Room Tip: Room Six is good but all rooms are of equal standard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ashleyh1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin L, Owner at Glendale Guest House, responded to this review, 13 February 2014
It's great that you chose to spend your special birthday in Keswick and we appreciate hearing your comments.
We remember that you had a very full programme of activities while you were here as well as celebrating and we hope you didn't go home too exhausted.
We really enjoyed reading you review and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Thank you

Martin & Gilly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level Contributor
108 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2013

We have just stayed for 2 nights in this very nice guest house. Very comfortable and squeaky clean.The room was well furnished with a quality finish throughout.The breakfast was beautifully cooked to order with lovely fresh fruit yogurts and cereals to start. Everything was of a high standard and well presented ...helpful owners with advice and ideas to make our trip memorable.We would certainly stay again if visiting Keswick.A short 5 minute walk to town an about 10 to the lovely Dewentwater...we took a boat trip to Ladore falls just behind the hotel....amazing.....we were recommended a visit to the pencil museum which is also worth a visit fir adults and children...

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lgateshead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin L, Owner at Glendale Guest House, responded to this review, 13 February 2014
What a smashing review, thank you.
We love to read about our little B&B described as 1st Class and it sounds like you had a really good time exploring the area. There is so much to do in and around Keswick and wqe hope that you visit again soon to see more or perhaps do it all again.
We are always happy to recommend walks and places to visit and have loads of maps etc.

See you soon

Martin & Gilly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013

We stayed at Gilly and Martin house in August 2013 to discover the beautiful Lake District from an animated and traditional city but also, close to mountains. The perfect place was all found with this very charming and so british house into Keswick. As a young french couple, we loved this peaceful and cocooning place and for sure, the local know-how at the breakfast or the local bathroom products (the shop is a five minutes walk away). Our room was not ensuite but we had our own bathroom next to the room. Last but not least, Gilly and Martin are very nice and helpful. Anna & Delphin

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nanadvisor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin L, Owner at Glendale Guest House, responded to this review, 20 February 2014
Thank you Anna & Delphin.
We were delighted to meet you and we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us.
Thank you for your many compliments and we hope to see you again soon.
Martin & Gilly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dover, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2013

we stayed here in september for my husbands 70th birthday. we had a lovely room, spotless. Food was great and all made so welcoming by Gilly and Martin. Would definately return here again, cannot fault it one bit. Top place and top people.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marissatull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Keswick hotels
0.2 mi away
Babbling Brook Guesthouse
Babbling Brook Guesthouse
#36 of 176 in Keswick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
0.0 mi away
Stonegarth Guest House
Stonegarth Guest House
#20 of 176 in Keswick
5.0 of 5 bubbles 512 reviews
0.3 mi away
Brundholme Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
LakeSide House
LakeSide House
#12 of 176 in Keswick
5.0 of 5 bubbles 554 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hall Garth Guest House
Hall Garth Guest House
#61 of 176 in Keswick
5.0 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
0.7 mi away
Laurel Bank B&B
Laurel Bank B&B
#15 of 176 in Keswick
5.0 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glendale Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glendale Guest House

Property: Glendale Guest House
Address: 7 Eskin Street, Keswick CA12 4DH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #65 of 176 B&Bs / Inns in Keswick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Glendale Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"The Perfect Base To Explore The Lakes." We promise a warm welcome when you arrive at Glendale. In a quiet location just a few minutes’ walk from the town centre and the lakeshore of Derwentwater. Many walks can be started straight from the door and we are happy to advise on sutable routes.This four diamond silver award guest house provides comfortable rooms with en-suite or private bathrooms. All have colour TV and tea/coffee trays and hairdryers. Our extensive breakfast menu offers fruits, cereals and yogurts and a varied selection from a hearty Full English, with local Cumberland sausage, a light continental or vegetarian option.Freshly ground coffee, and homemade marmalade are a speciality. Free Wifi available throughout the house. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Glendale Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glendale Guest House Hotel Keswick
Glendale Guest House Keswick, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing