We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderfully situated, great base for the northern Lake District”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Glendale Guest House
Ranked #56 of 189 Keswick B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 June 2014

We stayed here recently and found the hosts (and breakfast) to be above average. We were glad we were there for a few days in the lakes - there is plenty of hiking, and the proprietors have maps you can borrow and good advice on what to do. Our room was comfortable and very well put together; everything in the house has been modernized so no worries about old plumbing or saggy furniture.

Room Tip: The room that can be a twin or a double (#1) is quite large; other than having to walk out of the ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Floridian32308
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (417)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

89 - 95 of 417 reviews

Reviewed 8 June 2014

The guest house is really well located for attending events in Keswick or the surrounding area. It is only a few minutes walk from the town or local park. The hosts, Martin and Gilly, were very attentive to any dietary requests for breakfast. The room we had was very clean and well provisioned in tea/coffee etc. I would strongly recommend this guest house to fellow runners.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014

After three weeks in various B&Bs, we have found one of the best. Our hosts, Martin & Gilly were so welcoming and provided heaps of information. The rooms were spotless and beautifully decorated - Gilly even made all the curtains. The table linen at breakfast was immaculate and the breakfast was wonderful. Thank you both for looking after us so well.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Muffin9999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We had such a great time last year that we came back again. Martin and Gilly are perfect hosts providing great breakfasts, lovely rooms and everything is spotless. Glendale is very convenient for all the amenities in the town being only a few minutes walk from the centre of Keswick. Martin and Gilly have a wealth of information with regard to local attractions. No doubt this will not be our last visit.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

We have just returned from three nights stay at Glendale - there are literally B&B's at every step I. Keswick but thus one is really worth a trip. Martin and Gilly are both kind and generous with their hospitality. Great breakfasts. lots of info available about the local area - both in leaflet form and the local knowledge of our hosts!!! It is a 5 min walk to the centre of Keswick. Rooms and bathroom spotless. We had a lovely stay and a great weekend.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bex_Si22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2014

If you are looking for a really comfortable place to stay in Keswick with a well cooked breakfast choice then you should stay here! Martin and Gilly are excellent hosts who take a great interest in their guests. They have a fund of local knowledge and have made Glendale into such a welcoming b&b. The location is very convenient to the town and the house is beautifully kept. We are very happy to give our highest recommendation and can assure you that you will not be disappointed. We are already planning a return visit!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GMTForestRow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014 via mobile

Great location near to lots of lovely places to eat and drink, great rooms and superb breakfast.
Would recommend to anyone looking to visit.
Lots of information available from the guys at the hotel such as maps, routes, great local knowledge.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Philsalem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Keswick hotels
1.1 mi away
The Derwentwater Hotel
The Derwentwater Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portinscale
769 reviews
7 mi away
Lane Head Farm Country Guest House
0.2 mi away
Hall Garth Guest House
Hall Garth Guest House
#83 of 189 in Keswick
112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Stonegarth Guest House
Stonegarth Guest House
#11 of 189 in Keswick
570 reviews
0.7 mi away
Craglands Guest House
Craglands Guest House
#85 of 189 in Keswick
142 reviews
0 mi away
Tarn Hows Guest House
Tarn Hows Guest House
#78 of 189 in Keswick
163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glendale Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glendale Guest House

Address: 7 Eskin Street, Keswick CA12 4DH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 189 B&Bs / Inns in Keswick
Price Range: £79 - £93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Glendale Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"The Perfect Base To Explore The Lakes." We promise a warm welcome when you arrive at Glendale. In a quiet location just a few minutes’ walk from the town centre and the lakeshore of Derwentwater. Many walks can be started straight from the door and we are happy to advise on sutable routes.This four diamond silver award guest house provides comfortable rooms with en-suite or private bathrooms. All have colour TV and tea/coffee trays and hairdryers. Our extensive breakfast menu offers fruits, cereals and yogurts and a varied selection from a hearty Full English, with local Cumberland sausage, a light continental or vegetarian option.Freshly ground coffee, and homemade marmalade are a speciality. Free Wifi available throughout the house. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Glendale Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glendale Guest House Hotel Keswick
Glendale Guest House Keswick, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing