We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A quality place to stay in the heart of Keswick” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Glendale Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Glendale Guest House
Ranked #57 of 177 Keswick B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
North Ayrshire
1 review
“A quality place to stay in the heart of Keswick”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2010

After a very poor experience at the last guest house we stayed at, the Glendale sets the standard for what to expect from a B&B. Very clean and well maintained, the bedroom was warm and comfortable and the ensuite shower room was spotless. Only the slightly too soft pillows were a problem for me (and pillows are a very personal thing). The owners made us welcome and had a good knowledge of local places to eat and visit and of walks to follow. And the breakfasts were excellent - good choice, generous portions and well-cooked quality ingredients. It's only a five minute walk into the centre of Keswick and the surrounding hills and mountains are directly accessible. And given that it's located in the middle of a residential area, the views are pretty good as well.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NitshillExile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

400 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    358
    37
    3
    0
    2
See reviews for
38
290
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
South Yorkshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2010

This is the second visit to Glendale Guest House and we again were not disappointed.
A beautiful traditional property on 3 levels with outstandingly furnished bedrooms kitted out with the usual mod-cons (TV, hair drier, tea/coffee making facility) as well as ensuite bathrooms in some.
The welcome we received was personal and warming and not in any way intimidating as we have experienced in some B & B's.
Breakfast is served from 08:30 till 09:30 and can only be described as 'just how mum would make it' with lashings of tea and coffee to hand.
We love Keswick and visit the town on a regular basis throughout the year, camping locally at Castle Rigg farm, but for the amount this cost compared to the luxuries of Glendale, you might be seeing a tent on eBay very soon!

A first class B & B, superbly priced and a lovely welcome every time

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sdpug306
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
burnley
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2010

This guest house had a lovely homely feel about it.Martin and Gilly were both there to welcome us on arrival,the rooms were bright and modern,the only negative was the shower wasn't very powerfull !!.
The breakfast was very nice ( kept you going for the day ) and they was a very good selection.
Martin was very helpfull in informing us on walk's, where best to eat .
overall very pleasent stay thank you .

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bradsgang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2010

Martin & Gilly were brilliant hosts and could not do enough for us during our stay. Our room was to a very high standard and the breakfasts each morning were brilliant with plenty of choice.
The Glendale is very well furnished and is in a perfect location for Keswick town centre.
We would thoroughly recommend the Glendale and will definitely visit again this year.
Thanks again, Brian & Karen

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Riverside054
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2010

As always, a lovely welcome from Gilly and Martin to start our stay. We always stay here when we come to Keswick and it is consistently excellent. The breakfasts are lovely with the best porridge in the business. It was my birthday when we stayed and a place which puts a birthday candle in your morning porridge can't be bad! Great location, nice clean rooms, friendly welcoming service - what more could you want!

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RosiePreston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wigan
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2010

We stayed for 2 nights bed and breakfast and found everything to be lovely.Warm and comfortable rooms (which was important as the temperature outside was minus 6!)Lovely breakfast with all the choice you could wish for.Hosts Martin and Gilly were really friendly and helpful providing us with weather forecasts and a lovely hot flask of coffee for our trip off into the snowy hills!!Location is good too only five minutes stroll into the centre of Keswick and pubs,shops and restaurants.All in all an excellent choice .

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WiganTaylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Co.Durham
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2010

Took the three night New Year special, excellent value for money. B+B was very clean, the owners, Martin and Gilly were very friendly and helpful, our room was a double on suite which was very clean and cozy. Breakfast was fantastic, cereals, fruit, muesli, fresh juice, croissants and of course the full english which was cooked to perfection and served piping hot.

A leisurely 5 min walk and You are in Keswick town centre, here you will find plenty of shops, pubs and restaurants. A 10 min walk and you are at lake Derwentwater which is a most beautiful place, surrounded by hills where you can take any number of walks.

All in all I would heartily recommend the Glendale, and cant wait to visit there again.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jimmypop68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Keswick hotels
0.2 mi away
Babbling Brook Guesthouse
Babbling Brook Guesthouse
#34 of 177 in Keswick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
0.0 mi away
Stonegarth Guest House
Stonegarth Guest House
#20 of 177 in Keswick
5.0 of 5 bubbles 498 reviews
0.3 mi away
Brundholme Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
LakeSide House
LakeSide House
#12 of 177 in Keswick
5.0 of 5 bubbles 541 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hall Garth Guest House
Hall Garth Guest House
#52 of 177 in Keswick
5.0 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
0.1 mi away
Avondale Guest House
Avondale Guest House
#9 of 177 in Keswick
5.0 of 5 bubbles 304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glendale Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glendale Guest House

Property: Glendale Guest House
Address: 7 Eskin Street, Keswick CA12 4DH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 177 B&Bs / Inns in Keswick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Glendale Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"The Perfect Base To Explore The Lakes." We promise a warm welcome when you arrive at Glendale. In a quiet location just a few minutes’ walk from the town centre and the lakeshore of Derwentwater. Many walks can be started straight from the door and we are happy to advise on sutable routes.This four diamond silver award guest house provides comfortable rooms with en-suite or private bathrooms. All have colour TV and tea/coffee trays and hairdryers. Our extensive breakfast menu offers fruits, cereals and yogurts and a varied selection from a hearty Full English, with local Cumberland sausage, a light continental or vegetarian option.Freshly ground coffee, and homemade marmalade are a speciality. Free Wifi available throughout the house. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Glendale Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glendale Guest House Hotel Keswick
Glendale Guest House Keswick, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing