We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I now have to go a diet (doug)”

Jenkin Hill Cottage
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Keswick
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Jenkin Hill Cottage
Ranked #156 of 189 Keswick B&B and Inns
Reviewed 26 June 2011

What a find. Our first trip was four years ago,and it hasn't changed one bit,maybe one.Waking up to the morning call of the hens. No cockrell. what a super host and hostess. Food brilliant,sticky toffee pudding a must for my wife.I had cheese and biscuits with apple. Good wine.Also good company with a lovely young couple who we met at mealtimes. Nothing was to much for our hosts .A big thankyou.Hoping to return later this year for a weeks stay.Two days not long enough. If you are thinking of a quiet relaxing weekend/holiday look no further. My wife is a coelic,all meals were gluten free.Christine our hostess is well trained in this field and it was nice to know my wife was well catered for and so she was well and truly at ease.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dougsales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (17)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 17 of 17 reviews

Reviewed 2 May 2011

We stayed at Jenkin Hill Cottage over the May Bank Holiday - our room was nicely furnished and the bed very comfortable
Our hosts were lovely and very accommodating and as I am Coeliac I knew that all food begin served was being prepared
by Christine who totally understood my dietary requirements which made for a very pleasant stay indeed. We had 4 dinners' in' and
all were 'yummy' and Christine's 'Sticky Toffee' pudding
was to die for! Fresh eggs at breakfast from the chickens in the garden also added that extra special touch

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JazzieGill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2011

Last September my wife and I stayed in this B&B for 5 nights and had a marvellous time. The room was lovely and the bed so very comfortable that we slept like babies. We took the evening dinners there on two nights and found them to be of better quality and value than the meals at a local hotel restaurant.

We prefer to use public transport (bus) when we are away, rather than drive everywhere. I mentioned this to the proprietor at breakfast the first moring and within 20 seconds was handed a booklet of Lake District bus timetables with advice about the various routes. So thoughtful.

Needless to say, we are going back later this year - I have just booked it.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jimbrownstaffs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2007

My wife and I plus my wife's mother and stepfather stayed at Jenkinhill Cottage for seven days in September. As they only have two letting rooms we were the only guests and had a most wonderful time. The food was excellent, freshly cooked and always served hot and catering for my mother-in-laws' needs as a diabetic seemed to be no problem at all. The friendly chat at meal times was well appreciated, as was the advice on where to go and what is likely to be open and accessible to my mother-in-law, who has some difficulty walking.

The location was just right for us, a nice quite village, close enough to Keswick but without the noise and traffic - no shops here, though, so I learned to wait to read the daily paper which I bought from a small shop in Braithwaite, about a mile away.

I used to holiday with my uncle who lived in Threlkeld just 5 miles away, so know this area well, but it is 15 years since I was last here. The Lake District has not changed. If anything it has become more beautiful.

I'd recommend this place to anyone who enjoys relaxing in good company and a quite location.

As a bonus my wife got to see red squirrels for the first time.

Mark

    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Mark57Buxton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
York
15
Reviewed 15 July 2006

This was the first time we have stayed in a guesthouse, as we have always stayed in hotels, but having been severely disapointed with a recent stay in a hotel near Thirlmere we decided to try something different. And different it was!

On arrival we were made to feel perfectly at home and given a lovely room overlooking a wooded hillside, a really lovely setting. The room had all we could wish for and the food was lovely, obviously freshly cooked with vegetables just how we like them. By the time we had eaten the sticky toffee pudding we barely had room for the cheeses and buiscuits that followed. But we did our best. A short stroll around the village showed us just what a quiet and picturesque place this is.

The owners of Jenkin Hill Cottage, Kelvin & Christine, go out of their way to make sure everything is just fine, and create a very relaxed "fun" atmosphere, just right for a holiday break. We will be going back!

  • Stayed: May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Eastcote, Northamptonshire
15
Reviewed 24 September 2003

I am a coeliac and Jenkin Hill Cottage was first class. Kelvyn and Christine Sheppard completely understand the need for a gluten-free diet and I trusted them completely. Every food offered to non-coeliacs was offered to me (in a gluten-free form).

The house has a warm and welcoming atmosphere and my husband and I settled in immediately.

Kelvyn and Christine had thought of everything that we might need and the accommodation was of a very high standard. I would recommend this establishment without reservation.

5  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
29
Reviewed 11 November 2002

I have gluten intolerance (coeliac disease) so it was a great relief to me to find some accommodation in the Lake District that specialises in catering for such problems. Not only was I able to enjoy excellent quality @safe@ home cooked food, but the proprietors went out of their way to ensure everything was OK for me. On top of that the guest house is in the most beautiful location in a village not far from keswick.

5  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Keswick hotels
7.4 mi away
The White Horse Inn Bunkhouse
2.2 mi away
The Derwentwater Hotel
The Derwentwater Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portinscale
768 reviews
1.6 mi away
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Under Skiddaw
652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
The Keswick Country House Hotel
7.2 mi away
The Lodge in the Vale
The Lodge in the Vale
#1 of 2 in Thirlmere
318 reviews
4.9 mi away
Lodore Falls Hotel
Lodore Falls Hotel
#5 of 5 in Borrowdale
2,183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jenkin Hill Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jenkin Hill Cottage

Address: Thornthwaite, Keswick CA12 5SG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #156 of 189 B&Bs / Inns in Keswick
Price Range: £35 - £60 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Jenkin Hill Cottage 4*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Thornthwaite Village, Keswick, this is a quality, small guest house offering a personal, informal and friendly service. VisitEngland rated 4 Stars with Silver award for hospitality. There are two en-suite rooms with views over gardens and the slopes of Thornthwaite Forest.Excellent home cooked food is served in our dining room (evening meals optional). We can cater for all dietary requirements, including gluten free.There is a car park & free WiFi available. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Jenkin Hill Cottage Keswick, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing