We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb value for money, amazingly friendly staff!”
Review of Ravensworth House

Ravensworth House
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ravensworth House
Ranked #127 of 173 Keswick B&B and Inns
Norwich - England
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Superb value for money, amazingly friendly staff!”
Reviewed 27 May 2012 via mobile

Myself and my partner just stayed here for 2 nights! We stayed in 'walla craig' room! The room was beautifully decorated and perfectly clean complete with spa bath that was massively needed after 5 nights out in the mountains! Alison and steve were fantastic hosts very helpful and friendly they went above and beyond tO help! Breakfast was amazing with loads of cooked and cold options! Would defiantly visit again!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CarlaNorwich_England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    87
    18
    10
    4
    2
See reviews for
6
88
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2012

My wife and I decided to book a couple of days in Keswick for our May holidays, we have visited Keswick loads of time and stayed in our usual B&B in the village but decided to look for somewhere different this time and after looking through various web sites decided on the Ravensworth. Were we glad we did, we stayed in the Derwentwater room, four poster, cuddle chair and jacuzzi, what more can you ask for!! The hotel is centrally located for all amenities including walking and shopping. The room was immaculate and the breakfast too, yes you had to let them know what you wanted the day before but it was,nt any problem and it meant that there was no wastage as Jason then knew what he was cooking for the next day. Nothing was a problem for either Jason or Alison, Alison even phoned me the day before we were arriving just to make sure what time we would be there as there was something happening at the school and she just wanted to make sure we were not hanging around.She even recommended a lovely restaurant for us which we had not tried before but again will definitely be going to again. We will definitely be staying there again as the whole experience was very enjoyable and we cannot praise them enough, hopefully this does,nt mean that we will not be able to book again as its too busy!!

Room Tip: The Derwentwater is a lovely large room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LindznMue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 May 2012

This B & B is probably the most central in Keswick. We spent 2 nights over the bank holiday weekend at The Ravensworth and could not fault it. Alison and Jason are the most friendly and professional hosts and nothing is too much trouble. In fact Jason went out and bought a map of an area we wanted to walk in as a previous guest had not replaced the one they'd loaned them. The rooms were immaculate if compact, and the breakfasts delicious. We couldn't believe that we got booked at only 1 days notice, as many of the B & Bs in keswick were full, although they were much further out of the centre. We will definitely return.

Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Melanie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2012

We stayed here last week and found it to be lovely. Perfect location in the centre of town, with restaurants, shops and the lake all within walking distance. We stayed in the Derwentwater room and thought the spa bath and cosy chair were well worth the extra money. Bed was also extremely comfy! Breakfast was well cooked with a good selection to choose from. Overall we found the whole place to be clean and well maintained. Our only slight issues occurred on the third day when we returned to find door to our room was unlocked (but closed), and we had used glasses the night before which had just been rinsed under the tap rather than washed and dried ready to be used again (still a bit sticky!) Overall though, we would definitely recommend and would stay here again in the future.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StarryOwl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2012

This is a nice B&B, it was clean throughout the room & bathroom, breakfast was lovely, owners were very welcoming and helpful - Would reommend for a weekend in the lakes.
Keswick is a lovely little village, plenty of pubs and places to eat, which are on the doorstep of the Ravensworth.
While your staying with them they provide a parking permit for a local carpark, I would recommend checking in collecting it, then dropping your car off before you go anywhere - they even offered it to us even after checking out if we were going round the village that day - very kind.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gosforth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2012

I have just returned from Keswick where we stayed at the Ravensworth Hotel for 4 nights. It was the first time we have stayed in the centre, previous times we have driven into town from just outside, I can say now how much of a relief this was, walking distance of everywhere.

We were greeted well, showed to our room (Derwentwater) and explained the breakfast routine for us, which like every other B&B I have stayed in, you leave a note the night before so it is ready for the morning, not a problem at all.
The room itself was amazing, very spacious, comfy bed and a really comfy chair to sit in, perfect after a long walk.
The cooked breakfast was delicious, plenty of tea/coffee and juice along with cereal/yoghurt and fruit.

Both Jason and Alison were really friendly and helpful, recommended walks and places to eat when we asked, these places didn't disappoint!!

Parking was not a problem either, parked just down the road, less than a 2 minute walk with a permit provided which is good value for money.

I will definitely consider Ravensworth Hotel the next time we visit Keswick. Prime location, perfect hosts and a perfect place to stay!

Room Tip: Derwentwater has a Jacuzzi bath and a massive chair to relax in, perfect after a long day out!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank earlist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2012

Hotel did not live up to expectations.

The standard room we stayed in was 'Standard'. Owners are very pleasant and breakfast is what you would expect, but the bedroom and bathroom was disappointing. We stayed in a standard room and it was small, dated and the view out of the window was of a brick wall.

Also if there was charge for clean towels if you needed them changed before 3 days usage.

Room Tip: Don't choose the Hawes room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jenm03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RavensworthHotel, Owner at Ravensworth House, responded to this review, 9 January 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I am genuinely sorry and saddened that you feel that our photographs do not represent a true reflection of how our rooms are, however, I would have to strongly disagree with this.

Having booked on line via our website on 6th December 2011 for the New Year period, we had 2 rooms remaining for the period at the time of booking and you choose the Hawes End room. You had access to our 360 degree image of our bedrooms. We have taken great care in trying to give our prospective guests as much detail and access as possible about our rooms, with the facility of 360 degree images of each room on our website. This substantially cost us to do this in order for guests to look on our site and allowing them to see each room for themselves and make a decision based on this, something that we get much positive feedback from. These images, we feel, show the positives and negatives of all of our rooms. I am also saddened that you describe the Hawes End room as 'small and dated'. Our 360 degree images give a true image of exactly how the rooms are, we have not used trick photography to gain any advantages.

Our Hawes End room was refurbished in 2009 with a complete new bathroom, bed, bedding, curtains and lighting so I am surprised that you found it dated after only 2 and 1/2 years. Unfortunately, our rooms do get marked in areas (such as woodwork) as they are used so frequently and as a result of this, we re-paint all of the rooms on a 2 year basis. Ironically, the Hawes End room, Catbells room and Skiddaw room are currently closed (9th January 2012) as we are doing this work.

I am willing to give a money back guarantee for the whole of 2012 to anyone wanting to stay in our Hawes End room (or any other of our rooms for that matter) from now if they feel that our 360 degree image of that particular bedroom is not a true reflection of the room.

Hopefully by doing this we are showing our committment to giving a true and fair portrayal of our accommodation. We work hard to give our guests the best time possible whilst they stay with us and want them to go home happy and satisfied. If we were to 'trick' or 'con' customers by falsely glamourising our bedrooms we would not be in business very long!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Keswick hotels
4.7 mi away
Dale Head Hall
Dale Head Hall
#11 of 12 in Keswick
179 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Keswick Country House Hotel
1.0 mi away
The Derwentwater Hotel
The Derwentwater Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portinscale
718 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Inn on the Square
Inn on the Square
#5 of 12 in Keswick
625 reviews
2.1 mi away
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Under Skiddaw
622 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Kings Arms Hotel
The Kings Arms Hotel
#8 of 12 in Keswick
461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ravensworth House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ravensworth House

Property: Ravensworth House
Address: 29 Station Street, Keswick CA12 5HH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #127 of 173 B&Bs / Inns in Keswick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ravensworth House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Ravensworth House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ravensworth House Keswick, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing