We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best in Keswick”
Review of Ravensworth House

Ravensworth House
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ravensworth House
Ranked #133 of 189 Keswick B&B and Inns
Reviewed 24 April 2008

We have just returned from a wonderful holiday in Keswick. We feel very fortunate to have stayed at the Ravensworth House with Jason and Alison and their adorable son's James and Oliver. We arrived in the evening and was met by the owner, Jason , who was extremely pleasant and a pleasure to meet , he very kindly carried our luggage up to our room and explained to us what we had to do to order breakfast the following morning. Our room was immaculate and it was plain to see that a lot of thought and hard work had gone into customer satisfaction.
We ordered breakfast for 8-30am and what a breakfast it was , I have never, ever, tasted one like it , it was truly delicious. It was served by Alison who went out of her way to make sure we were both happy with everything, she informed us that Jason cooked everything himself and he told us how important it is to them both that they serve only the best local produce.
We truly adored our stay at the Ravensworth , it had everything and more we could have wished for , the only thing was , we could'nt stay longer than a week , needless to say we have booked to go back in August for two weeks

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank StellaKingbarton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (124)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

107 - 113 of 124 reviews

Reviewed 13 April 2008

We have stayed at The Ravensworth several times and have always found it excellent. Jason and Alison are always happy to help with anything, and the breakfasts are fab!. The location is great, central for evrything... Top Notch

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank barnandfreda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2008

First class Hotel with very high standards from Hoteliers Jason and Alison who’s cleanliness, services, food etc is all second to none. Superb surroundings and location dead in the centre of Keswick. Both Jason and Alison advised my partner and me where to eat and visit - of which both were great! Take no notice of poor reviews regarding reservations - must be some stuck up toff, you get them everywhere! We had no problems what so ever and will be in touch to book during the summer time.

  • Stayed: January 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Millerman007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2008

My wife and I are intending to walk the Cumbrian Way over the Easter period and had successfully reserved accommodation in Ulverston, Conistion, Dungeon Ghyll and Caldbeck.
We also had a telephone booking for the Ravensworth Hotel, made last October.
This week we received a call from the Hotel saying they had not realised the booking was for the Easter period and, as they have a minimum 3-night policy, they were cancelling the reservation.
There was no apology.
All very disappointing , inconvenient and unprofessional.

  • Stayed: January 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
7  Thank peritomoreno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2007

Myself and my wife stopped at this hotel inbetween Christmas and New Year and were very impressed.
The hotel is located just on the edge of the centre of Keswick, only a minute or so walk away from all the shops, pubs and restaurants. Car parking is a 2 minute walk away and you are provided with a disk to allow you to leave your car parked at no extra cost.
The 3 main things I tend to look out for in a hotel are cleanliness, good location and good food. This hotel boasts all 3. We stopped in the Derwentwater suite which was of a very large size, very clean and also came supplied with ample magazines, tea/coffee and a decent sized tv which is always handy for me watching match of the day whilst the wife is snoring her head off after a strenious day shopping for more shoes and handbags.
The owners of the hotel are very friendly and are always on hand to give any tips including good restaurants and local walks. They even have a collection of menus from some of Keswicks many restaurants to help you make a choice.
The breakfast was very nice. The food was produced locally and was grilled, which makes a nice change from the usual greasy English breakfasts that are dished out in many places. The breakfast is served between 8.30 and 9.15am but there is also some flexibility around this if anyone wanted something earlier.
I would definately recommend this hotel and will be booking here again when we return to Keswick.

Stayed: December 2007
4  Thank Darlo672
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2007

Totally agree with the last post. The owners are so helpful with advice on where to walk, eat and drink. We were made to feel welcome on arrival. Breakfast was superb and you know that it is freshly cooked and not just heated up. Could not fault bthe place and I recommend it to anyone staying in Keswick. Will definitely be staying there again!

Stayed: November 2007
Thank StanHibbert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2007

We were made to feel at home right from the start. We we greeted at the door and shown to our room. We were advised that we were right on the top floor and the lady kindly offered to help carry our bags. We were advised of the times breakfast is served and asked to order the night before to avoid food wastage, which seemed like a great idea. Breakfast was fantastic. Rooms were clean and comfortable. Proprieters were both very friendly and extremelly helpful. Can't fault the place and we will definitely be back. The location couldn't have been better.

  • Stayed: November 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank lakesrgood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Keswick hotels
1 mi away
The Derwentwater Hotel
The Derwentwater Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portinscale
769 reviews
5.1 mi away
The White Horse Inn Bunkhouse
2.1 mi away
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Under Skiddaw
652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Keswick Country House Hotel
4.2 mi away
The Lodge in the Vale
The Lodge in the Vale
#1 of 2 in Thirlmere
318 reviews
2.9 mi away
Lodore Falls Hotel
Lodore Falls Hotel
#5 of 5 in Borrowdale
2,183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ravensworth House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ravensworth House

Address: 29 Station Street, Keswick CA12 5HH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #133 of 189 B&Bs / Inns in Keswick
Price Range: £91 - £100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ravensworth House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Evoline ltd and Agoda so you can book your Ravensworth House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ravensworth House Keswick, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing