We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Clean B&B in an excellent location. NOT a Hotel though!”
Review of Ravensworth House

Ravensworth House
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ravensworth House
Ranked #128 of 173 Keswick B&B and Inns
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A Clean B&B in an excellent location. NOT a Hotel though!”
Reviewed 9 May 2013

A very nice B & B with clean rooms, helpful owners and a superb location. Our rooms view was over the roof-tops to the hills, but others had a wall for their view.

We just felt it should be called a "Guest House" or "Bed and Breakfast", rather than a Hotel.

Very reasonable and great for walkers, however for those of us less energetic we found the lack of a lounge, or indeed anywhere to sit and chat other than our room, was a disappointment.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view and a bath!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lesley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RavensworthHotel, Owner at Ravensworth House, responded to this review, 10 May 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to write such of a pleasant review and for your kind comments.

We are genuinely sorry if you thought that we were a hotel but with the greatest of respect confused as to why you would. Our name is Ravensworth House, our website domain does not mention the word 'hotel' but does mention the word 'house', the signs on our property refer to us as Ravensworth House and we feel that our website does not give the impression of anything other than us being a guest house so we are sorry if you have for some reason being lead to believe that we were a hotel. The only reference for us having 'Hotel' in the name is the Tripadvisor page, which unfortunately for us, we have absolutely no control over as Tripadvisor insist on referring to us by the name of Ravensworth Hotel and not our real name of Ravensworth House.

We feel that we must advise that there are only 2 bedrooms out of our 9 bedrooms that have a wall for their view and these are our ground floor room Skiddaw and our double room Hawes End. Our Buttermere room has a slight view of the fells between two walls and over our car park and yard. With the nature of our town centre location and us having neighbouring properties either side of us, we do have walls of buildings visible but by no means the sole view.

In 2007 we made the decision to convert our lounge area into another bedroom as for 2 years previous to this it was hardly ever used mainly due to the fact that we were so centrally located and our guests preferred to sit in the towns pubs and sadly this resulted in a waste of a room that required heating and lighting. However we are fully aware that very occasionally we have a guest who would appreciate the use of a lounge and as a result we have plans to create a lounge and bar area in the near future.

May we take this opportunity to advise anyone wanting to find out more information on us to only look at our official website and nothing else in order to guarantee the correct and most up to date information.

Many thanks again, we look forward to meeting you both again in the near future.

Jason and Alison
Proprietors, Ravensworth House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    86
    18
    10
    4
    2
See reviews for
6
87
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2013

Fantastic service they couldn't do enough for us...we stayed in the Hawes room and unfortunately there was a brick wall as our view but that didnt matter too much because we was tired from all the things around nearby the hotel. ..it was in a great location. 2min walk to the centre. ..and 5/10min walk to the lakes through the shops. The hotel recommended things to do and they knew exactly what we wanted....:)

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emma0418
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RavensworthHotel, Owner at Ravensworth House, responded to this review, 7 May 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write such of a lovely review. We hope that you can return to us in the future and enjoy the views from one of our upper floor rooms such as Lords Seat or Friars Crag.

We did explain to your partner when he called at 10.50pm at night enquiring about the availability of a room with a view that our only room available was our Hawes End room and that it didn't have a view at all as it was on the first floor. Having decided to telephone us again the next day to book the room we are sorry if you were surprised that it didn't have a view.

Bank Holidays and weekends are very busy throughout Keswick so we would genuinely recommend booking well in advance and not the day before if you require a room with a view as they are more popular than those without, whether it be with us or one of the many other guest houses in the town.

We are particularly happy that you found our recommendations of Lucas Restaurant and The Pheasant to your satisfaction, they are two businesses that we always receive good feedback from by our guests, along with Lakes Bar and Bistro next door to us and Casa Bella across the road from us. We are always cautious when recommending somewhere for our guests to eat as we want our customers to have an enjoyable experience and eating out isn't cheap so we are always happy to hear that our guests enjoyed our recommendations.

Can we please say that we would have hoped that you thought our location was better than the 3/5 you have scored us, particularly with you having said yourself in your review 'it was in a great location. 2min walk to the centre. ..and 5/10min walk to the lakes through the shops'

We also feel that the £39 per person per night that you paid over a bank holiday in Keswick for an award winning guest house with an award winning breakfast and a parking permit given free to allow you to park free of charge in many car parks in the area warrants more than the 3/5 that you have scored us for value for money and we would hope that the majority of our guests feel that we offer something that is good value for money.

Again, many thanks for taking the time to write your review, we hope to see you again soon, hopefully in a room with a view!

Jason and Alison
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackburn, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2013

We were really impressed with the cleanliness and the welcome we received. The room, Lords Seat, was great and had a wonderful panaromic view. We stayed 3 nights, and it was a lovely central place to see & explore Keswick and the surrounding countryside - we didn't need to touch the car again until in was time to go home. The breakfast was lovely, and we will definitely return. We followed up on the owner, Alison's, recommendations of where to eat and were not disappointed. The Pheasant Inn was a gem - lovely log fire.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2013 via mobile

If you need a base from which to explore Keswick, this is the place! We got a lovely welcome and a great room with a 4poster bed and the best ever swivel chair! According to our 11year old.it was spotlessly clean with a jacuzi bath and big telly. Smack bang in the middle of town it is so close to some great pubs and restaurants. Jason and Alison are great hosts and our every need was met, even down to suggesting the best pubs and restaurants. The breakfast was also fantastic. Especially the sausages. Everything is local and very fresh. All in all we had a great time and will definitely stay again

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AdeR44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kilburn, Derbyshire, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2012

We stayed here for our anniversary weekend and it was fantastic. The owners Alison and Jason were very friendly and made us feel welcome as soon as we arrived. We stayed in the Derwentwater room and it was superb. The room was spotlessly clean, the breakfast hot and very tasty (I now understand why previous reviewers have raved about the bacon!) We will definitely be returning and recommending it to all our friends.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gillian T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2012

We returned last week after spending a few days celebrating our anniversary and must say it was fab
On arrival we were greated very warmly by Alison, who explained the breakfast procedure, parking and also gave a few recommendations for places to eat. We arrived early so our room the Derwentwater was not ready but she gave us a time that it would be let us store our bags in the dining room.
The room was fantastic, huge bed, comfy chair, hot tub bath and big tv with dvd's.
We had also ordered a bottle of champers for the room which was really tasty and for £25 a good price.
The breakfast was lovely and tasty defnitely one of the nicest I have had in a b&b.
We will denitely be returning.

Room Tip: Stay in the derwentwater room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LynneM306
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2012

We have just stayed at the Ravensworth (September 2012) we received a warm welcome from Alison and Jason, who were very attentive but at the same time very discreet. The room we stayed in had a comfy bed and plenty of storage. Dvd/s of local area were left in room to view.
Breakfast was superb, with plenty of fresh fruit, cereals and gorgeous porridge with honey, the full cumbrian breakfast was excellent with well cooked local produce. (bacon was so tasty)
After a wet day of walking our boots were rather wet, Jason stuffed them with newspaper and put them in a warm cupboard to dry out, we had lovely cosy boots the next day.
This is a hotel we will certainly return to. Once again top marks to Alison and Jason.

Room Tip: Our room had a shower which we were happy with, but next time we would probably chose a room with a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 186340David_sue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Keswick hotels
0.2 mi away
The Keswick Country House Hotel
0.1 mi away
Inn on the Square
Inn on the Square
#5 of 12 in Keswick
608 reviews
4.7 mi away
Dale Head Hall
Dale Head Hall
#12 of 12 in Keswick
176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Highfield Hotel
Highfield Hotel
#6 of 12 in Keswick
386 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Skiddaw Hotel
The Skiddaw Hotel
#7 of 12 in Keswick
744 reviews
0.0 mi away
Keswick Park Hotel
Keswick Park Hotel
#118 of 173 in Keswick
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ravensworth House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ravensworth House

Property: Ravensworth House
Address: 29 Station Street, Keswick CA12 5HH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #128 of 173 B&Bs / Inns in Keswick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ravensworth House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Evoline ltd, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Ravensworth House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ravensworth House Keswick, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing