We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very enjoyable weekend in Keswick”
Review of Ravensworth House

Ravensworth House
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ravensworth House
Ranked #131 of 189 Keswick B&B and Inns
Reviewed 30 July 2013

Would recommend this B&B to anyone looking for a comfortable, clean and enjoyable stay in Keswick. Jason and Alison are excellent hosts and you will feel very welcome in their home. Excellent location right in centre of town too.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank phantom22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (123)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

42 - 48 of 123 reviews

Reviewed 5 July 2013

We would just like to say from first arriving at Ravensworth we were made to feel welcome even though we actually arrived in the middle of breakfast! Our room which had pre booked was lovely and homely and extremely clean and tidy. Breakfast was one of the best we have had at any guest house please try Jason's smoked kippers with poached egg, my husband is trying to perfect this as we are now home! Both Jason and Alison are very hospitable and friendly so if you want to stay in a lovely place in a fantastic location to all the great amenities on offer please stay here. Keswick itself is beautiful and has lots to do and extremely friendly people. This is why my husband and I are going to book again in August as we had a fantastic stay and time. I would just like to say thank you to Jason and Alison for a great last day we really enjoyed it!

Room Tip: there are different rooms to choose from depending on your stay, please view the website directly as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dawnieSheffield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

We have stayed four times at this superb B&B managed by Alison and Jason. Rooms are very clean, comfortable and individual. Great choice of superb breakfasts. Proprioters have always been as helpful as possible at this well located and well maintained property. We'll be back and fully recommend. John and Gina, North Tyneside.

Room Tip: We have stayed in 3 different rooms, sizes vary, all value for money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank latics2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2013

I stayed here for two nights and I was extremely impressed. It was reasonably priced and the room was excellent. The proprietors were very friendly and the cooked breakfast I had in the morning was delicious kept me full until early evening as I was out enjoying the local walks. I would recommend this charming B&B to anyone.

Peter

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2013

We had not booked any accommodation for our trip to Keswick for three nights - we thought we would just look around and see what was available. We came across the Ravensworth and on entering the owner Jason was really friendly and showed us what rooms he had available for the three nights which were all lovely - very clean, modern and lovely decor. We chose the Friars Crag Room - it had lovely views of the hills and a huge bed. The place is spotless - room cleaned thoroughly every day. The owners Jason and Alison are a great team and can't do enough to be helpful - Jason was particularly helpful in suggesting various walks and how to get there even printing off directions for us! He recommended three lovely restaurants - Luca the Italian and India Spice were both brill and so glad Jason steered us in the right direction rather than going to the Indian which was constantly giving out leaflets in the town centre, We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in Keswick all helped by the fact we had such lovely accommodation - not mentioning the excellent breakfast each morning - the ingredients of which Jason advised are all locally sourced - yummy! The location could not be better for access to the town centre and we were provided with a parking permit for a car park down the road which was brill! Thank you for making our stay so good and we will be back! This is a fab B & B.

Room Tip: Friars Crag has a lovely view - however the large room at the front was lovely - Derwent - with a f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CooperOldham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2013

Just returned home from very good weekend in Keswick , looked around for accommodation for ages until I found This guest house and having to find accommodation for our friends as well was a bit worrying but we both really liked it rooms were well presented and clean, toilet was a tiny bit cramped but still nice and very clean.
Breakfast was really lovely and plenty of it , just me but would of maybe liked a choice of croissants. Location was perfect 2 minutes and your right in the middle of town. Car park was just round corner and free pass for weekend and even let us use it after we had checked for rest of day.
Would like to thank all the staff for really going out there way to make our weekend nice and also thanks to there young son for looking after us at breakfast.

Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Tezzewezza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2013

A very nice B & B with clean rooms, helpful owners and a superb location. Our rooms view was over the roof-tops to the hills, but others had a wall for their view.

We just felt it should be called a "Guest House" or "Bed and Breakfast", rather than a Hotel.

Very reasonable and great for walkers, however for those of us less energetic we found the lack of a lounge, or indeed anywhere to sit and chat other than our room, was a disappointment.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view and a bath!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lesley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RavensworthHotel, Owner at Ravensworth House, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2013

Many thanks for taking the time to write such of a pleasant review and for your kind comments.

We are genuinely sorry if you thought that we were a hotel but with the greatest of respect confused as to why you would. Our name is Ravensworth House, our website domain does not mention the word 'hotel' but does mention the word 'house', the signs on our property refer to us as Ravensworth House and we feel that our website does not give the impression of anything other than us being a guest house so we are sorry if you have for some reason being lead to believe that we were a hotel. The only reference for us having 'Hotel' in the name is the Tripadvisor page, which unfortunately for us, we have absolutely no control over as Tripadvisor insist on referring to us by the name of Ravensworth Hotel and not our real name of Ravensworth House.

We feel that we must advise that there are only 2 bedrooms out of our 9 bedrooms that have a wall for their view and these are our ground floor room Skiddaw and our double room Hawes End. Our Buttermere room has a slight view of the fells between two walls and over our car park and yard. With the nature of our town centre location and us having neighbouring properties either side of us, we do have walls of buildings visible but by no means the sole view.

In 2007 we made the decision to convert our lounge area into another bedroom as for 2 years previous to this it was hardly ever used mainly due to the fact that we were so centrally located and our guests preferred to sit in the towns pubs and sadly this resulted in a waste of a room that required heating and lighting. However we are fully aware that very occasionally we have a guest who would appreciate the use of a lounge and as a result we have plans to create a lounge and bar area in the near future.

May we take this opportunity to advise anyone wanting to find out more information on us to only look at our official website and nothing else in order to guarantee the correct and most up to date information.

Many thanks again, we look forward to meeting you both again in the near future.

Jason and Alison
Proprietors, Ravensworth House

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Keswick hotels
0.1 mi away
The Skiddaw Hotel
The Skiddaw Hotel
#12 of 17 in Keswick
768 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Derwentwater Hotel
The Derwentwater Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portinscale
750 reviews
0.2 mi away
Stonegarth Guest House
Stonegarth Guest House
#12 of 189 in Keswick
560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Keswick Park Hotel
Keswick Park Hotel
#105 of 189 in Keswick
131 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ferndene Guest House
Ferndene Guest House
#49 of 189 in Keswick
278 reviews
0.1 mi away
George Hotel
George Hotel
#87 of 189 in Keswick
228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ravensworth House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ravensworth House

Address: 29 Station Street, Keswick CA12 5HH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #131 of 189 B&Bs / Inns in Keswick
Price Range: £91 - £100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ravensworth House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Evoline ltd and Agoda so you can book your Ravensworth House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ravensworth House Keswick, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing