We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“super!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Ravensworth House

Ravensworth House
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ravensworth House
Ranked #126 of 176 Keswick B&B and Inns
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“super!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2010

Friendly, and efficient service. Plenty of advice form the owners without being in your face. Nothing too much trouble, and as perfect a poached egg as i've ever seen or tasted!
If your in the lakes you couldn't really find better for more money. Would definately visit again.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank piliavinuik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    86
    18
    10
    4
    2
See reviews for
6
87
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2010

Just came back with a friend from our first trip to the Lake District. In Keswick we stayed with Jason and Alison for three nights. Having visited their website, and having read other reviews on the web before booking, we were already pretty sure we'd land very well in Keswick. But all turned out to be even better than we could've possibly imagined. A very warm welcome, fantastic beds in a very clean room and what must be the best very full English/ Cumberland breakfast we've ever had, Jason and Alison were also more than helpful in recommending good restaurants, alternative walking routes, supplying us with maps, and last but not least, recommending the best shop to help solve my aching foot problem (go to the fab George Fisher's!). Am sure we'll visit Keswick again, and will then certainly try to reserve a room at the Ravensworth Hotel again. Thanks again Jason and Alison! Best regards from Pieter and Katrin (Amsterdam and Berlin.)

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tinder12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sunderland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2010

My wife and I stayed at the Ravensworth Hotel over the valentines weekend and we had a really enjoyable stay. I only booked the room after viewing their website where it looked cosy but not too small and it seemed to give the impression that it might have a decent view.
We phoned prior to arrival and the owner said they were on the school run and wouldnt be long. (unlike another reviewer I think hoteliers are allowed a life!) Alison,one of the owners warmly greeted us upon arrival and was open to any information we needed. Once up to our room (named Lords Seat) we were amazed by the view of the hills and mountains overlooking Keswick,we could even sit back on the bed and just gaze. The room was spanking crisp,clean and comfortable and the bathroom equally clean and modern with a very welcome spa bath. The breakfasts were mouthwatering and plenty of it.
Overall I think you could do a lot worse than give this hotel a try.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carbonbike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
middlesbrough
Level Contributor
58 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2009

after just returning from what i can only describe as a very relaxing weekend staying at the ravensworth hotel i would recomend it to any one Alison and Jason made our weekend seem just like home from home they should be very proud of themselves they are doing a wonderfull job they offer lovely rooms and breakfasts to die for that fill you up for the rest of the day .

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paulaMiddlesbrough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
south yorkshire
Level Contributor
135 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2009

Our first stay here. We were not shown to our room which is always a nice touch, told we had to ring before our arrival to ensure they were in, bit bizarre for a business!! The room was nice enough, smaller than expected, comfy bed and adequate bathroom although there was mould on the shower curtain. The kettle doesn't fit under the sink tap and there is no table lamp to one side of the bed! Breakfast is a very samll window and pre-ordered if possible. Two nights out of the three our hosts left a note to say that they had 'gone to friends and would be back later'.

Towel change ony occurrs after the 3rd night or there is a charge of £5 for any towel or linen change in between.

Location wise it is ok, car park pass is provided for the car park just down the road.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank waldershelf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RavensworthHotel, Proprietor at Ravensworth House, responded to this review, 15 October 2009
We thank the reviewer for their comments and take them on board. We would like to explain our situation. We have 2 children of school age who are very busy with different clubs after school, whether it be football, rugby, scouts or beavers. The football and rugby clubs are just 5 minutes walk away. We simply ask our guests to give us a call when they are 10 minutes away so that one of us can come back to check them in. We have taken this option as we have had guests in the past advising that they will arrive at 4pm and still at 7pm they have not arrived. We operate our business openly on these terms and when we ask our guests to give us a call 10 minutes before they arrive, we explain why. In this particular instance, we had football training and also involvement with scouts (I help out with the local scout group along with other parents). We also sometimes get out at night time with friends for dinner. In these instances, we never leave a note stating 'Gone out for a meal back later'. We leave a note to advise where we are, what time we will be back and that our telephone is transfered onto the mobile phone and if anyone requires any assistance, to please give us a call and we can return immediately.

We are a family run guest house not a hotel with a manned reception so unfortunately we are not present at the property all of the time, although we can always be contacted when we are not here and there is always a note left out advising this.

We always also ask our guests if they require assistance with their luggage and taking/showing to their rooms. In this instance, I checked the guests in and requested this and this was declined.

Our laundry policy is that we change bed linen and towels after every 3rd night. This is in line with Visit Britain guidelines and recommendations. We feel that this is acceptable and completely within reason. We advise in all of our rooms that we make a charge of £5.00 if our guests wish clean linen and towels before this time.

We are also puzzled by the kettle comment as we have checked and had no problem filling it from the sink if you lift the lid on the kettle.

May we take this opportunity to thank all people who take the time to write a review, both positive and negative. We take all comments on board and make changes where we feel necessary.

Jason Dodson
Proprietor, Ravensworth House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, TX
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2009

My wife and I stayed two nights in mid August and only made reservations the day before we arrived. Again, I used TA to find the highest rated B&Bs around Keswick and this was one of them.

The facilities were great, the room was a little small but it had a king-sized bed and I'd rather have a little room with a big bed than a big room with a little one!!

The B&B provided washcloths (I’d forgotten that that’s not a common practice in many hotels and B&Bs in Britain.)

Breakfast was marvelous and our host, Jason, suggested a walk up to Castle Head for the view and suggested we take a sandwich and drink and have a picnic while we were there.

We took his advice and picked up some sandwiches and drink from a shop in Keswick (which was along the walk!). The weather was wonderful and the view was extraordinary.

The B&B is centrally located and there's a Spar just down the lane from the B&B that sells Ice!! (a must for Americans who like Ice in their drinks!!)

I'd definitely recommend this B&B to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HaggisNscotch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SE22
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2009

Stayed for two nights towards end of July, Ravensworth was under temporary management as owners on holiday. Very warm welcome from "substitute manager", quickly checked in and shown room. Had booked room on top floor - so was expecting stairs. Room was clean, tidy and comfortable bed. Angled ceiling, but I am 6ft 4 and had no problems. Very good breakfast. No issue with ordering in advance. Much rather have food cooked to order than awful buffets that seem to be everywhere now. When I travel, normally do 5 star. The bigger hotels in Keswick all looked pretty average, so took plunge and went B&B. Not dissapointed - had a great stay, would go back.

Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank RovingPup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Keswick hotels
2.1 mi away
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Under Skiddaw
4.5 of 5 bubbles 578 reviews
4.7 mi away
Dale Head Hall
Dale Head Hall
#12 of 12 in Keswick
3.5 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Keswick Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Keswick Park Hotel
Keswick Park Hotel
#144 of 176 in Keswick
3.5 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
0.2 mi away
Stonegarth Guest House
Stonegarth Guest House
#20 of 176 in Keswick
5.0 of 5 bubbles 512 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Royal Oak at Keswick
The Royal Oak at Keswick
#49 of 176 in Keswick
4.0 of 5 bubbles 579 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ravensworth House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ravensworth House

Property: Ravensworth House
Address: 29 Station Street, Keswick CA12 5HH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #126 of 176 B&Bs / Inns in Keswick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ravensworth House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd, Odigeo, Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Ravensworth House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ravensworth House Keswick, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing