We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Food At Good Prices” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Filling Station

The Filling Station
Ranked #19 of 126 Restaurants in Keswick
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$1 - US$10
Cuisines: Cafe, British, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Drinks, Brunch, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Family friendly 60's themed cafe diner on the outskirts of Keswick, just 150yds from the A66 with off road private parking and outside seating. 'Highly Commended' by Cumbria Life Magazine in the 2013 Food & Drink Awards and finalists again in 2015. We offer freshly ground coffees and an extensive menu including all-day breakfasts, a wide range of Lakeland Steakburgers and sweet or savoury American Buttermilk pancake stacks in addition to a wide range of vegetarian dishes.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent Food At Good Prices”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

Visited this cafe on the recommendation of a friend and wasn't disappointed.
Ordered the BBQ burger with sweet potato fries .... WOW!!!!
The burger was massive (i was a fatty and went for the extra stack of an additional 6oz burger)
The sweet potato fries were delicious and it was all served with a smile. The staff were great and friendly but not over familiar and treated us respectfully ...... Like an old friend they hadn't seen for a few years :-)

Was too stuffed to have a dessert but the cakes in the chiller looked scrumptious ..... A good enough excuse for me to return soon.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank WonkyD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

637 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    459
    110
    30
    22
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great grub”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

From huge full English breakfasts to great burgers and the best raspberry milkshakes ever, we love the Filling Station. I have a weak spot for their steak eggs Benedict but would happily work my way through the menu, while the missus - a coffee fan - loves their lattes. "Any chance of just a plate of bacon and sausages for the fussy wee fella?" "Of course". There's always an array of motorbikes for him to eye up, too. The only drawback is that the great booths mean it often fills up so be prepared to wait for a seat or grab an outside table. A brilliant place.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Alan2203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Workington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great Food and atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

I love coming to the Filling Station.
I'm not vegetarian but I don't like eating too much meat.
There is a good choice of meat free options.
I usually go for the Veggie A66 burger. It's so tasty,nice big portions and great chips.
Depending on who's serving, the service isn't always as good as the food...

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Heart_Cheese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“EXELENT cafe.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

Had a trip out from York on the Goldwing especially to visit the cafe as we had heard so much about it.
The staff were very welcoming and friendly.
Plenty of seating inside and out and not cramped.
A good variety of food available, something for everyone even if your a vegetarian.
We had a A66 burger and a Stilton burger both with chips, served on very hot plates which makes a good change and both were very good.
Latte and cappuccino equally good.
I am sure we will be returning.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Allan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlisle, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“over rated,over priced dirty cutlery.not impressed.unfilling station.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

Popped in with girlfriend to try A66 burger.2 A66's with fries just short of £20.dirty cutlery.small burgers and fries.should rename unfilling station.not impressed.makes MacDonald's look five star.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
7 Thank Paul69p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Filling Station also viewed

 

Been to The Filling Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing