We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved Keswick but not the Paddock Guest House”

Paddock Guest House
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Paddock Guest House
Ranked #114 of 173 Keswick B&B and Inns
Weston-super-Mare, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
“Loved Keswick but not the Paddock Guest House”
Reviewed 26 August 2011

From the moment we arrived we had a cold feeling about the place. Having been travelling since 6am that morning we arrived about 10 minutes before official opening time. One member of staff watched me perform a difficult manourvre into a very tight car park then told me we were too early. Not what I needed to hear upon arrival. The twin bedroom was average with little cupboard space. and one of the two beds was rather worn. We had a good breakfast but it had to be ordered the night before and was served between 08:15 and 08:45. We thought this a little too regimental for someone supposed to be on a relaxing, sightseeing holiday. Keswick is a wonderful place for walkers and sightseers of all ages, with an abundance of B&Bs around. There are no end of things to see and do in and around the area. I have stayed in some super B&Bs, but, unfortunately this was not one we will consider to make a return visit.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    52
    19
    3
    1
    3
See reviews for
7
53
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tiverton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2011

Good position for a stroll into town and a good position to drive away from the town from.Very good breakfast , well cooked. All rooms very clean and lots of nice touches.Bedroom more than adequate but a touch on the small side and nice and quite. Parking easy in there yard or on the street.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shrimper3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ellesmere Port
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 May 2011

Arrived on Sunday afternoon and very pleasant owner immediately came out to assist us in parking and carrying our cases up stairs to the spotlessley clean room with en-suite. We felt very relaxed and comfortable and enjoyed an undisturbed nights sleep, so quiet. In morning went down to find a very pleasant breakfastoom room and very welcoming and friendly host. Plenty to choose from for breakfast and we left feeling very happy and refreshed for our walk around the beautiful Derwentwater. PS Also in great spot opposite the park and couple minutes walk to centre of Keswick.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank getupangonow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2011

Val & Alan are the perfect hosts , nothing is to much trouble , off road parking for the motorbikes is a plus , clean rooms , hearty breakfasts , within walking distance of the town , what more could you ask for , we keep going back !

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LadyHarleyRider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2011

Nice bed and breakfast. Value for money with a hearty breakfast and comfortable if a little on the small side Bedroom in a quiet area but only 5 minutes walk into town. Ideal for a weekend away.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ruthprecht
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2010

We have been going to Keswick ever year for the last 17 years and since finding Val and Alan we wouldn't go any where else. As hosts, they go beyond the call of duty to be hospitable, to cook us breakfast at a ridiculously early time in the morning and to be generally welcoming and friendly. Clean, warm, comfortable, good value and a short walk to the centre of town.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 3098
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shropshire
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2010

We booked a double en-suite room for three nights in September - in February! Had an e-mail confirmation and turned up on the day with no problems whatsoever. A great stay, smashing breakfasts, perfect location and one day we might return to do some walking!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nigelstrachan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Keswick hotels
1.2 mi away
The Derwentwater Hotel
The Derwentwater Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portinscale
701 reviews
0.1 mi away
Babbling Brook Guesthouse
Babbling Brook Guesthouse
#42 of 173 in Keswick
183 reviews
0.6 mi away
Laurel Bank B&B
Laurel Bank B&B
#14 of 173 in Keswick
268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Thornleigh Guest House
Thornleigh Guest House
#1 of 173 in Keswick
363 reviews
3.9 mi away
The White Horse Inn Bunkhouse
2.3 mi away
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Under Skiddaw
610 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paddock Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paddock Guest House

Property: Paddock Guest House
Address: Paddock House Wordsworth Street, Keswick CA12 4HU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Hotel Style:
Ranked #114 of 173 B&Bs / Inns in Keswick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Paddock Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Priceline so you can book your Paddock Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paddock Guest House Keswick, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing