We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent!”

Paddock Guest House
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Paddock Guest House
Ranked #110 of 175 Keswick B&B and Inns
Durham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Excellent!”
Reviewed 11 September 2012

The car parking is a little difficult in Keswick sometimes so for the Paddock to have its own car parking is fantastic! I go to Keswick every year and I stay at the Paddock every time. The rooms are spotless, well decorated, amazingly comfortable and well stocked with fairtrade teas and coffee. It's in an excellent location being just a 2 minute walk into the town and the hosts Val and Alan would do anything to make a guest's visit more comfortable. The homecooked breakfast in the morning is beautifully made with good quality produce. I wouldn't want to stay anywhere else if I was visiting Keswick!

Room Tip: The twin room amazingly comfortable and lovely mountain views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CarolynNattrass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    52
    19
    3
    1
    3
See reviews for
7
53
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2012

In planning our trip around the UK, we decideds to stay in Keswick and this B&B offered not only a great location to the town but also a great breakfast. The room was cozy and they had a place for us to park our car. The breakfast was great and they even offered vegetarian sausage (being a vegetarian this was definitately a nice surprise) and breakfast would be more than enough to carry us until dinner time. We did not have luck connecting to the wifi while there (but we also did not mention we were having trouble as we were able to connect to places within the town).

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KCM813
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlewich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
141 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2012

Four of us stayed in two rooms on a Friday night. I agree wiith neastham thai I can't understand anyone giving this establishment a negative review. Both rooms were well appointed and spotlessly clean. I was particulary impressed with the provision of Fairtrade tea and coffee in the room. The breakfast was wonderful and served with great attention to the guests needs. To top it all, it really is 4 - 5 minutes gentle walk to the town centre. I have no hesitation in recommending The Paddock as a superb place to stay in a beautiful Lake Distruct town

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank geoffturner100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2012

First of all, I simply do not understand how anyone can give this b&b negative reviews. What do they expect? To the comment below criticizing the "tight car park" (!!) - This was the first b&b I had visited that actually had a car park. I was pleasently suprised.

I stayed here for one night with my girlfriend and thought it was outstanding. The rooms were very clean, well presented and comfortable. The hosts were extremely friendly and the breakfast was excellent.

I would recommend this b&b to anyone who is visiting Keswick.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank neastham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weston-super-Mare, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed 26 August 2011

From the moment we arrived we had a cold feeling about the place. Having been travelling since 6am that morning we arrived about 10 minutes before official opening time. One member of staff watched me perform a difficult manourvre into a very tight car park then told me we were too early. Not what I needed to hear upon arrival. The twin bedroom was average with little cupboard space. and one of the two beds was rather worn. We had a good breakfast but it had to be ordered the night before and was served between 08:15 and 08:45. We thought this a little too regimental for someone supposed to be on a relaxing, sightseeing holiday. Keswick is a wonderful place for walkers and sightseers of all ages, with an abundance of B&Bs around. There are no end of things to see and do in and around the area. I have stayed in some super B&Bs, but, unfortunately this was not one we will consider to make a return visit.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tiverton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2011

Good position for a stroll into town and a good position to drive away from the town from.Very good breakfast , well cooked. All rooms very clean and lots of nice touches.Bedroom more than adequate but a touch on the small side and nice and quite. Parking easy in there yard or on the street.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shrimper3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ellesmere Port
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 May 2011

Arrived on Sunday afternoon and very pleasant owner immediately came out to assist us in parking and carrying our cases up stairs to the spotlessley clean room with en-suite. We felt very relaxed and comfortable and enjoyed an undisturbed nights sleep, so quiet. In morning went down to find a very pleasant breakfastoom room and very welcoming and friendly host. Plenty to choose from for breakfast and we left feeling very happy and refreshed for our walk around the beautiful Derwentwater. PS Also in great spot opposite the park and couple minutes walk to centre of Keswick.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank getupangonow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Keswick hotels
1.2 mi away
The Derwentwater Hotel
The Derwentwater Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portinscale
687 reviews
0.4 mi away
Brundholme Bed and Breakfast
0.1 mi away
Babbling Brook Guesthouse
Babbling Brook Guesthouse
#39 of 175 in Keswick
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Craglands Guest House
Craglands Guest House
#74 of 175 in Keswick
136 reviews
0.0 mi away
Rickerby Grange
Rickerby Grange
#7 of 9 in Portinscale
137 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dalkeith Guest House
Dalkeith Guest House
#89 of 175 in Keswick
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paddock Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paddock Guest House

Property: Paddock Guest House
Address: Paddock House Wordsworth Street, Keswick CA12 4HU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Hotel Style:
Ranked #110 of 175 B&Bs / Inns in Keswick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Paddock Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Priceline so you can book your Paddock Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paddock Guest House Keswick, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing