We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“First night of C2C” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Paddock Guest House

Paddock Guest House
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Paddock Guest House
Ranked #112 of 177 Keswick B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Fresno, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“First night of C2C”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2013

We stayed at the Paddock after the first day of cycling the C2C route. It was very comfortable and welcoming! There was a secure spot for our bikes. The room was a bit small but it was fine for one night. We enjoyed walking into town for dinner and around the park across the street. I had the continental breakfast which was really nice and a change from a heavy fry before cycling another 30 or so miles! The route picks up across the road which was also very convenient

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank patti m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    50
    18
    3
    1
    3
See reviews for
7
50
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
East Midlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2013

Situated in a good location for the town centre ( 5mins walk) opposite Fitz Park .

Very good accommodatiom ,room was clean, fresh,comfy bed, plenty of hot water, towels changed every day ( stayed three nights) Excellent breakfast whether 'full/part' English or Continental
'Run' by a very friendly couple who are only too happy to help and make your stay enjoyable

Well worth it

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ThesaurusR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Notts england
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2013

As per many other reviews the accomodation was very clean & the breakfast was excellent. This is a very well run b & b by a friendly couple & would stop here again if visiting Keswick. The only thing we could fault was room 3 was rather small but it was ok has we were only stopping for 2 nights before moving on to Bowness.

Room Tip: our room (number 3) was rather small if booking ask for a different room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mel65lee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2013

Just got back from our weekend in Keswick stayed at the paddock guest house ,when we arrived we were met by Val very nice friendly lady who showed us our room which was lovely and very clean and fresh. The breakfast was the best we have had it was great the eggs were perfect .The paddock is in a great location just 5 min walk to town centre and just over the road to fitz park we will stay there again very soon i hope .

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vera s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
Level Contributor
47 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2013

My wife and I have just got back today from Keswick and we were lucky to have chosen Paddock Guest house as our base to explore from. We arrived around 5pm on Friday and were greeted by the owner Val who took our details for breakfast ( this is ordered the night before) and then showed us to our room. We stayed in room 4 a small but perfectly formed room complete with double bed, en-suite WC and shower room with complimentary shower gel/shampoo, Tea/Coffee making facilities and a nice tv on the wall. all in all a nice cosy room, yes it could have been bigger but in reality it had everything we needed for a weekend stay and nothing we didn't need.
It was nicely situated too only 5 minutes walk to the town center and main street and bang opposite the park. It was far enough away to allow for a quiet nights sleep but close enough to get involved in everything going on in Keswick.
The best thing about Paddock apart from the really friendly owners is the fantastic breakfast on offer, cereals, fruit and yoghurt to start, then followed by a full English as you like it but no grease anywhere. I have never had a breakfast of such quality, Whoever cooks it and I'm sure it is the owner Val should have a Michelin star for the breakfast. My wife's idea of hell is a full English as we all know how they usually are but not here everything on the plate was of the highest quality.
We very rarely go back anywhere twice, we like to experience new places and things even in somewhere like Keswick but Paddock has spoiled us and we will return there from now on when visiting Keswick, we cannot wait to go back.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LeedsStriker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HULL
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2013

Spent a few days here with friends. We chose to be in Keswick because we wanted to be close to Derwentwater as we were invited to a wedding. The Paddock proved very convenient for the town centre and it allowed us to eat at one of the local restaurants and visit our favourite store Booths.
We usually visit Keswick with our caravan and in fact are due to do this in May. We found the proprietors to be charming and very helpful. If there was one thing that could be changed, it would be that the room we were staying in only had one bedside table with a lamp and the other side of the bed, probably because of the size of the room had non. As an avid reader I found it particularly annoying not to have anywhere to put my book and a bright overhead light was not appreciated by my husband when he was trying to sleep! I think it would be possible to put a small shelf next to the bed on that side and thus please every one. I also agree with a former reviewer that a shelf for shower gel and shampoo in the shower would be appreciated. Having said all of that, the view from the window to the mountains more than compensated.

Room Tip: Room 1 has lovely views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CHRISNKirkElla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
111 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2012

Room was comfortable and clean. The bathroom is amazing but the lack of anywhere to put your shampoo and shower gel lets it down.The owners where not in when we arrived and we did not meet them until the following moring, but they did not bother to introduce themselves a bit of a let down.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Catons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Keswick hotels
0.2 mi away
Strathmore Guest House
Strathmore Guest House
#43 of 177 in Keswick
5.0 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
0.4 mi away
Brundholme Bed and Breakfast
0.1 mi away
Hall Garth Guest House
Hall Garth Guest House
#59 of 177 in Keswick
5.0 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Lake View Guest House
Lake View Guest House
#3 of 9 in Portinscale
5.0 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
0.4 mi away
Crow Park Hotel Keswick
Crow Park Hotel Keswick
#52 of 177 in Keswick
4.0 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
0.0 mi away
Rickerby Grange
Rickerby Grange
#7 of 9 in Portinscale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paddock Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paddock Guest House

Property: Paddock Guest House
Address: Paddock House Wordsworth Street, Keswick CA12 4HU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Hotel Style:
Ranked #112 of 177 B&Bs / Inns in Keswick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Paddock Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Paddock Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paddock Guest House Keswick, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing