We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap accommodation for 1 night”
Review of Denton House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Denton House
Reviewed 31 August 2012

stayed here for 1st night while doing the c2c. Nice accommodation, v reasonable and also supply towels for just £1. Hostel manager a bit of a character, overdid the guided tour when all we wanted to know was where we were sleeping. Nice & quiet - had dinner & b/fast out.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hissett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (72)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

57 - 63 of 72 reviews

Reviewed 15 July 2012

I stayed in Denton House in 2009. Friend booked us for this weekend and I actually didn't recognize the place. All new, inside and out, and what a value for a pound! When you get there, ask for Mark - guy makes for 50% of the atmosphere!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lukasz S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2012

You can see the hostel from the C2C track - just a 10 min stroll into town. Stayed during the low season in June (on the only day it didn't rain) and had an excellent time. Everything is there - washers, lockers, dining, kitchen, showers, TV and dorms all for the princely price of £15 - for the bed only. Secure bike storage and drying room as well. Just completing a lick of paint all around and very spick and span - lots of parking out front and a small supermarket next door. However top marks for service when I asked for a breakfast at 7am. With so few guests they were not doing B&B but a solid breakfast was rustled up for me with no issue - now that's service. The two guys running the place could not have been more helpful. A return visit for sure.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MiddleEnglandMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2012

You may find a nicer accomodation but you will not find nicer hospitality in any youth hostel. Denton House is not run like the typical business with fairly knowledgable young staff who put on a fake smile when you enter the door. Mick and Marcus are the real deal. Walk in the door after a long day of hillwalking in the rain and they'll whip you up a cup of tea or coffee and tell you a story. If you're lucky, Marcus may even dazzle you with his fingerstyle Spanish guitar playing. Had a great time and hope to get out of the states to see Keswick and the Denton blokes again.

Best of luck Mick and Marcus,
DV

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dvargo22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2012

Basic but ideal accommodation for those on a budget.
Staff super friendly and helpful, could not have done more for us and genuinely seemed to get pleasure out of giving excellent service. Was brilliant to come back from a soggy walk to a cup of tea made by Marcus.
Dorm rooms simple but clean and decent size. Showers and toilets clean for the duration of a three night stay.

Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Megs-ll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2012

Me and a few girls have just come back from a 2 night break at Denton House. We all received a very warm welcome, from friendly and approachable staff and have had an excellent stay!!!
The price, given the area is excellent value for money, with comfy beds, good facilities and just a short walk into Keswick.
Me and the girls can't wait for our next federation holiday to Denton House.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bRadcliffe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2012

I believe this place is under new management and I cam honestly say its an awesome place. Offering comfortable accommodation and outstanding service.

We also did the gyll scrambling which was scary but fantastic.

Thanks to all the staff at Denton House

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharpdart1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Keswick hotels
1.3 mi away
The Derwentwater Hotel
The Derwentwater Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portinscale
749 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Keswick Country House Hotel
0.5 mi away
Inn on the Square
Inn on the Square
#6 of 17 in Keswick
664 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Skiddaw Hotel
The Skiddaw Hotel
#12 of 17 in Keswick
768 reviews
0.4 mi away
YHA Keswick
YHA Keswick
#5 of 40 in Keswick
187 reviews
4.8 mi away
The White Horse Inn Bunkhouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Denton House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Denton House

Address: Denton House Penrith Road, Keswick CA12 4JW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 40 Speciality Lodging in Keswick
Price Range: £16 - £21 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hostel accommodation and outdoor activity provider ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Denton House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Denton House Keswick, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing