We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Denton House
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lyzzick Hall Hotel(Under Skiddaw)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (85)
Filter reviews
85 results
Traveller rating
46
27
9
1
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
46
27
9
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsghyll scramblingfree tea and coffeebunk bedsdrying roomwelcoming hostelgreat kitchentv loungestayed herelarge dining roomgreat facilitiesmountain bikingten minute walklake districtperfect baselocation is greatmany thankscooked breakfast
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
52 - 57 of 85 reviews
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Great afternoon scrambling and overnight at Denton House. Thanks to Mick for looking after us and good night out in Keswick. Sunshine was an added bonus and off licence and pub food nearby was a bonus. Great time had by all the stags till it was time to get up!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
Thank KenPassmore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Went as part of a group on a stag do. They organised activities that went without a hitch. The breakfast and packed lunch were very good value (and the manager changed the time to accommodate our likely state!) It is just like many hostels but the staff were really accommodating and very helpful and this made all the difference. It was clean and tidy as much as any hostel. The room I slept in had a corrugated roof and was noisy but others said their room was fine. Good value

Room Tip: Don't sleep in Catbells. The roof is corrugated and loud when it rains
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ajhp60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

we arrived late about 8.30, wet muddy and tired, 3 of us with bikes, we were shown to our secure bike park then a dry room for our clothes and clean showers to get cleaned up, beds were comfy and clean and the place was well organized, friendly staff that bend over backwards to make sure your all ok, breakfast was good we were offered to make sanys with the leftovers to take with us on our 50 mile journey to alston, 6 bacon sanys!
perfect!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank steven r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2013 via mobile

We visited as a group if guys on a stag trip.
The venue is well located for an easy walk into town.
Our room was a little crowded but beds very comfortable. A pillow with a bit more life in it would've been nice. All in all though good for hostel accommodation. I was a little surprised to be told that I wasn't allowed to use my own sleeping bag if I wanted to and if I did and they got inspected , they could be closed down! I'm not a regular hostel user but can this really be true??

Bathrooms were clean and the water hot. Showers could do with a bit more pressure.

Food was ok although the cook looked like he could use some help as he was sweating heavily whilst serving. Hope none of it dripped in the beans!

The Ghyll scrambling was great and the guides made it fun and safe. Awesome hangover cure and a highlight of the trip. Many thanks!

Locks for the rooms would be nice and useful for travellers not able to lock valuables in a car.



Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank Nexus1799
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2013

Excellent spot great staff and service, very helpful. Had a great time ghyll scrambling for mate's stag do recommend it to any one. Will be coming back soon i hope to try other things plus abit more ghyll scrambling.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews