We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent the best in Keswick”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Kings Arms Hotel
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Keswick
Newcastle upon Tyne, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent the best in Keswick”
Reviewed 14 May 2013

Great helpful staff, great food, great prices, great atmosphere, great location, what else could you ask for. Gary and Agnes are the most helpful staff we have ever met , they will assist you in every way possible......pity other pubs and hotels in Keswick were not as friendly towards Tourists

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Micklesleys S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
danigraves, Public Relations Manager at The Kings Arms Hotel, responded to this review, 15 May 2013
Thank you so much for your positive review following your recent stay at the Kings Arms.

We do hope to see you visit again in the not too distant future.

Thanks again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

457 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    136
    175
    78
    44
    24
See reviews for
76
270
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2013

Stopped at the kings with my wife and 3 children and two dogs. Was excellent value for money, very clean and lovely helpful staff. Breakfast was excellent would recommend this hotel to anyone would definitely go back again

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lordhewitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
danigraves, Public Relations Manager at The Kings Arms Hotel, responded to this review, 15 May 2013
Thanks for your recent review.

I'm glad you enjoyed your stay and that you found we catered well for you and your family. Breakfast is the most important meal of the day so it's important it's tasty!

I hope we see you again in the not too distant future.

Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Yorkshire
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2013

Had a bite to eat in the pub on a Tuesday lunchtime. Staff were polite but the service was very slow. It wasn't busy yet had to wait half an hour for four sandwiches. One had to be sent back as it wasn't what was ordered yet took less than 5 minutes to be sorted. Food was ok but nothing special. A nice little pub but sadly won't be rushing back.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Moram22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
danigraves, Public Relations Manager at The Kings Arms Hotel, responded to this review, 15 May 2013
Thank you for your recent review after eating at the Kings Arms.

Your comments about service are appreciated and we will take this up with the team to ensure they speed up their service in future.

Our food is constantly being improved so I'm confident that next time you visit you won't experience the same issue.

Thanks and hope you visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Motherwell, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2013 via mobile

I stayed recently on a visit to keswick and had a very mixed experience.

On arrival we were greater as we walked into the lounge with a 'sorry no dogs allowed'. Confusion was cleared up when we explained we were staying and had booked dogs. To be clear dogs are allowed in certain bedrooms, just not the dining are an lounge during food service times, although you do have to walk through the lounge to get to the rooms.

Or room was compact, yet modern with an extremely comfortable bed, think that was room 12. My brothers room, room 1 was embarrassingly dated. To charge £70 for thar wrong is shocking although to be fair they were moved after complaining although the new room was still not a patch on ours.

I woke up early at 630 to take the dog out however the doors were locked and had to wait till 745 for them to be opened. This feels very late to me.

Breakfast was served from 8, again this felt late. I found breakfast quite disappointing. The croissants were cold and the cooked breakfast only just warm. There was a smell of fairy liquid on some of the breakfast, particularly the brown sauce and scrambled egg, although the sausages were nice.

In summary I would stay again if I was guaranteed the same room and only really at £65 or less, however would prefer to try somewhere else. At the full price of over £100 it is definitely not worth the money.

Stayed April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Workanplay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
danigraves, Public Relations Manager at The Kings Arms Hotel, responded to this review, 25 June 2013
Hi and thank you for your review of the Kings Arms.

I'm sorry you had some confusion with bringing your dog into the hotel. We have tried to choose the best option to suit all of our guests with regards to guests who would like to bring their dogs and those who would prefer not to. As you can see, for a small hotel we have chosen the option that dogs are not allowed where food is served but can be taken through the hotel up to bedrooms. Dogs can then left in the bedrooms alone if they are well behaved.

We have a very good refurbishment programme underway and almost all bedrooms have been redecorated to a high standard in the last couple of years. All the rooms are clean and have new beds to ensure our guests have an enjoyable stay and it is unfortunate that the style of the bedroom was perhaps too traditional for your brother.

Our breakfast gets very good comments normally so I am surprised that you found it was not to your standard. I'm not sure what the smell you are referring to as we do not use washing up liquid in the kitchen as we have very thorough dish washing machines. Never the less we will look at what this could have been.

Please look out for any special offers which might be on our website in the future and hope to see you again soon.

Thanks again,

Dani
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
high spen
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2013

we booked a table for 10 in restaurant for mid day we were seated straight away the service was excellent I found the atmosphere very good and relaxing, we were served quickly by very pleasant staff, most defintley return here again

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank john m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
174 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2013

What more can you say on a return visit when everything was as good as last time? The room was still spotless; the cleaners here do a great job. We were in a different room at the front of the hotel this time and it was even better than our last with a lovely view onto Keswick market square. Staff were as friendly as ever with a great breakfast to get you going in the morning. The only complaint, if any, is the temperamental Wi-Fi connection, a very small point but very annoying when you phone or tablet cannot access it !! It seems to be a recurring problem so please sort this out for our next visit. Thank you again for a lovely stay and hope to see you again soon.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank keystonePreston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 April 2013

We have just returned from another stay at The Kings Arms Hotel. We have now stayed here approx. 6 times.

I took my Fiance here for his birthday, and booked the four-poster bedroom (room 4) and it is lovely. Overlooks Kewsick main street.

Cannot fault the hotel at all, location is the best you can get, the hotel is unique, the staff are brilliant and so polite/friendly, the food is lovely and the atmosphere is great!

I would recommed this hotel to anyone wanting a lovely get-away!

Came back 4 days ago, and already planning our next visit!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emma J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Keswick
0.0 mi away
The Skiddaw Hotel
The Skiddaw Hotel
#7 of 12 in Keswick
744 reviews
0.0 mi away
Inn on the Square
Inn on the Square
#5 of 12 in Keswick
608 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Derwentwater Hotel
The Derwentwater Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portinscale
703 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Keswick Country House Hotel
2.8 mi away
Lodore Falls Hotel
Lodore Falls Hotel
#4 of 5 in Borrowdale
2,071 reviews
2.1 mi away
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Under Skiddaw
611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kings Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kings Arms Hotel

Property: The Kings Arms Hotel
Address: 27 Main Street, Keswick CA12 5BL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Keswick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Kings Arms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly refurbished AA 3 star Hotel right in the centre of Keswick, the Lake District. In the 17th century, Keswick was the crossroads for many of the horse and carriage routes which traversed this part of the English Lake District. The Kings Arms Hotel, a true Coaching Inn of that period, offers the traveller of today the same unrivaled hospitality and friendly service in keeping with its heritage. To stay at the Kings Arms Hotel in Keswick is to experience the legacies, in modern day comfort and luxury, of a true Coaching Inn. A warm and friendly smile awaits you from our well trained staff, whose aim is to make your stay one of many. The air-conditioned, newly refurbished restaurant serves appetising home-cooked dishes such as slow-cooked local lamb joints and the almost-famous spare ribs, beef & Jennings ale pie, delicious hand-cut, home-cooked chips plus mouth-watering hot and cold desserts. After a hearty meal, why not relax in front of the open fire with a drink in the newly-refurbished, cosy oak-beamed bar and watch the world go by outside on the streets of Keswick. With over 40 whisky's and some of the best local ales on tap the choice is yours. Or in the summer months take a seat in the charming courtyard, which is the perfect place to enjoy delicious food and a refreshing drink al fresco. There are 13 recently refurbished bedrooms all with their own shower rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Kings Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Kings Arms Hotel Keswick, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing