We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's OK - pretty average food, very slow service!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Kings Arms Hotel
Ranked #13 of 17 Hotels in Keswick
Reviewed 9 June 2013

A bit of a tourist trap being on the main street in Keswick. Food was OK - steak pie OK but chips overdone with black bits, and vegetables lacking in quantity and variety.

Food took about 40 mins an hour to arrive, which was a little annoying we'd not been forewarned.

Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank sweeney05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
danigraves, Public Relations Manager at The Kings Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2013

Thanks for taking the time to write a review about the Kings Arms Hotel.

I'm sorry to hear that your food took that long to arrive though this is very unusual and normally food would arrive in less than 20 minutes (dependent on what has been ordered). Again, apologies for no one coming to inform you about the delay. I will however mention this to the team and make sure this is avoided in future.

Thanks again,

Dani

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (478)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

350 - 356 of 478 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2013

Have spent many a weekend in Keswick and have stayed in the Kings Arms on several occassions.
The staff are very friendly and the rooms are always clean and tidy.The food and the real ales are of a good quality and the bar area is very comfortable.
Hotel is located right in the centre of town so everything is close at hand.
Unfortunately we always seem to bring the rain with us but this does not stop us having a nice peaceful weekend feeding the Geese and ducks on the lake.

Room Tip: The room above the bar can be a bit noisy but bearable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Derek F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
danigraves, Public Relations Manager at The Kings Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2013

Hi Derek,

Thanks for the review following your last stay at the Kings Arms and thanks for being such a loyal customer!

Hope you can make it down again when it's not raining next time.

Thanks again,

Dani

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2013

Just stayed here for one night and glad we did. Newly refurbished room was lovely, evening meal was superb especially the pork Yum!, breakfast was a proper full English and sorted us out for the day! Would definatly stay again.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Laraj1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
danigraves, Public Relations Manager at The Kings Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2013

Hi,

Thanks for your recent review and for mentioning the newly refurbished rooms. We find that a lot of people are surprised at how lovely our rooms are, but this is because nearly all of them have been refurbished in the last couple of years!

Dan's pork is going to be famous in Keswick, we're sure about it!

Hope you can come and visit again soon.

Thanks again.

Dani

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2013

We stayed for 1 night in May. Room was fine even though it was at the front it was quiet due to secondary double glazing. The only poor aspect being the restaurant in the evening. Very slow service and when the food arrived haf of it was cold so was sent back. Odd, since breakfast was very good.

Stayed: May 2013
1  Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
danigraves, Public Relations Manager at The Kings Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2013

Thanks for reviewing your stay at the Kings Arms.

Firstly, it's great to hear that you had a pleasant stay with us and found the bedrooms comfortable.

I'm sorry to hear that your dining experience wasn't what you had expected and certainly cold food is not what you would have wanted. I am certain that the restaurant staff would have apologised and sorted this out for you with no problems and we will look at making sure this doesn't happen again.

Hopefully you will be able to visit us again in the future.

Thanks again,

Dani

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2013

Great helpful staff, great food, great prices, great atmosphere, great location, what else could you ask for. Gary and Agnes are the most helpful staff we have ever met , they will assist you in every way possible......pity other pubs and hotels in Keswick were not as friendly towards Tourists

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Micklesleys S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
danigraves, Public Relations Manager at The Kings Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2013

Thank you so much for your positive review following your recent stay at the Kings Arms.

We do hope to see you visit again in the not too distant future.

Thanks again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2013

Stopped at the kings with my wife and 3 children and two dogs. Was excellent value for money, very clean and lovely helpful staff. Breakfast was excellent would recommend this hotel to anyone would definitely go back again

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lordhewitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
danigraves, Public Relations Manager at The Kings Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2013

Thanks for your recent review.

I'm glad you enjoyed your stay and that you found we catered well for you and your family. Breakfast is the most important meal of the day so it's important it's tasty!

I hope we see you again in the not too distant future.

Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2013

Had a bite to eat in the pub on a Tuesday lunchtime. Staff were polite but the service was very slow. It wasn't busy yet had to wait half an hour for four sandwiches. One had to be sent back as it wasn't what was ordered yet took less than 5 minutes to be sorted. Food was ok but nothing special. A nice little pub but sadly won't be rushing back.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Moram22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
danigraves, Public Relations Manager at The Kings Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2013

Thank you for your recent review after eating at the Kings Arms.

Your comments about service are appreciated and we will take this up with the team to ensure they speed up their service in future.

Our food is constantly being improved so I'm confident that next time you visit you won't experience the same issue.

Thanks and hope you visit us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Keswick hotels
0.0 mi away
Inn on the Square
Inn on the Square
#7 of 17 in Keswick
671 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Skiddaw Hotel
The Skiddaw Hotel
#12 of 17 in Keswick
781 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Derwentwater Hotel
The Derwentwater Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portinscale
759 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Keswick Country House Hotel
2.8 mi away
Lodore Falls Hotel
Lodore Falls Hotel
#5 of 5 in Borrowdale
2,164 reviews
3.3 mi away
The Borrowdale Hotel
The Borrowdale Hotel
#4 of 5 in Borrowdale
1,011 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kings Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kings Arms Hotel

Address: 27 Main Street, Keswick CA12 5BL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 17 Hotels in Keswick
Price Range: £106 - £153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Kings Arms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly refurbished AA 3 star Hotel right in the centre of Keswick, the Lake District. In the 17th century, Keswick was the crossroads for many of the horse and carriage routes which traversed this part of the English Lake District. The Kings Arms Hotel, a true Coaching Inn of that period, offers the traveller of today the same unrivaled hospitality and friendly service in keeping with its heritage. To stay at the Kings Arms Hotel in Keswick is to experience the legacies, in modern day comfort and luxury, of a true Coaching Inn. A warm and friendly smile awaits you from our well trained staff, whose aim is to make your stay one of many. The air-conditioned, newly refurbished restaurant serves appetising home-cooked dishes such as slow-cooked local lamb joints and the almost-famous spare ribs, beef & Jennings ale pie, delicious hand-cut, home-cooked chips plus mouth-watering hot and cold desserts. After a hearty meal, why not relax in front of the open fire with a drink in the newly-refurbished, cosy oak-beamed bar and watch the world go by outside on the streets of Keswick. With over 40 whisky's and some of the best local ales on tap the choice is yours. Or in the summer months take a seat in the charming courtyard, which is the perfect place to enjoy delicious food and a refreshing drink al fresco. There are 13 recently refurbished bedrooms all with their own shower rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Agoda so you can book your The Kings Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Kings Arms Hotel Keswick, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing