We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No sleep take ear plugs”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Kings Arms Hotel
Ranked #9 of 12 Hotels in Keswick
Sedgefield, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
207 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“No sleep take ear plugs”
Reviewed 11 July 2013

Nice hotel dog friendly , recently re furnished rooms very well done. Efficient friendly staff and excellent breakfast.
The noise from people coming from the Disco waiting for taxis went on till after 3am then an alarm went off in a neighbouring premises for about another 45minutes. Just getting to sleep when market stalls were getting erected from 6am very little sleep would book a place out of the Main Street next time

Room Tip: We were room 5 so we got noise from back and front of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
danigraves, Public Relations Manager at The Kings Arms Hotel, responded to this review, 16 August 2013
Hi Ian,

Thank you for your recent review of the Kings Arms.

We're sorry to hear you found it very noisy outside of the hotel on the streets of the town centre, but being in this location means it's perfect for the social buzz of the town. We provide ear plugs and triple glazed windows to tackle these problems as well as informing the council about the noises too.

Thanks

The Kings Arms Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

457 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    136
    175
    78
    44
    24
See reviews for
76
270
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
North East
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2013 via mobile

Just returned from a night away. Good location great staff but never again . The only hotel I have ever stayed in with ear plugs in the bath room speaks volumes.
Very noisy on front street with night club . No police in site and the weather was so warm we had the window open for fresh air.
Save your money . There are plenty other places to stay.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alwaysanotherholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
danigraves, Public Relations Manager at The Kings Arms Hotel, responded to this review, 16 August 2013
Unfortunately one of the draw-backs of being a town centre hotel is the surrounding noise that may sometimes occur. Unfortunately this is out of our control and we do try to combat this by having installed triple glazing to the windows in our bedrooms and by providing ear plugs to all guests. As the weather on this occasion was particularly warm, I understand that you had to keep the windows open and therefore the triple-glazing was irrelevant, however this is a situation also out of our control and I can only hope you understand this is not the usual experience of the guests who stay at our hotel.

Please let us know if you find a hotel on the main street of Keswick that does not have some problem with noise.

Kind regards,

Garry Price, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saco, Maine
Level 6 Contributor
220 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2013

Stopped in for lunch while in Keswick. My wife had a chicken & mushroom pie and I had a Toasty Ham & Cheese sandwich on brown bread. Both were pretty bland, average at best. The chicken pie was very dry. Service was good.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nucenturion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
danigraves, Public Relations Manager at The Kings Arms Hotel, responded to this review, 16 August 2013
I’m sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your lunch with us. Unfortunately I believe this may be down to personal taste, as our toasties are served as described, with a tasty cheddar and Cumbrian ham in fresh brown or white bread. Condiments are provided such as mustard should you wish to add flavour but this is not an ingredient listed on the menu.

With regards to the chicken pie being described as bland, this is homemade to our chef’s recipe and served freshly prepared with gravy which we are happy to provide more of should anyone ask or had you mentioned it was too dry we would have replaced it with something different.

We like to ensure our guests enjoy their meals so they return again but we’re unable to resolve an issue unless it is brought to our attention at the time.

Thank you for your feedback.

Kind regards,

The Kings Arms Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 July 2013

When we arrived our booking could not be found. We were told we were fortunate as a room was still available (lucky us!!!). This was room number 1 just above an underpass and facing a nightclub. The first thing we noticed when trying to get to sleep was a constant drone from the air con units affixed to the wall just outside our room. The noise from people entering and leaving the nightclub was incessant, raised voices,with fights/scuffles and even broken plant pots. This went on to about 2.30 to 3.00am. I must say that the majority of staff and the breakfast were very good but I believe the main purpose of an overnight stay is to get a good nights sleep to prepare you for your days activities ahead and I am sorry to say this was not the case here.We will not be visiting again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robo1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockport, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2013

Just popped in early evening and got the last available table. Family adult meal for four! Busy little place with nice atmosphere. Little lights on the table - nice attention to detail. The place is clean and tidy.
To start ; soup for three -Vegetable soup for 2 and asparagus for one. Large portions served with warm slab of bread. All very tasty and piping hot. One had the pea fritters - Hmmm! Is exactly what it says on the menu. Doesn't really taste of anything. Just pea and onion. Not a great choice as was a bit tasteless.
Mains were steak, fish and chips, Kings Special Burger and Lamb Daniel.
All lovely and very large portions. Just a few comments - Chips are really brown and greasy - look deep fat fried to death. Not very good at all. The veg with the lamb had way too many herbs on them. So much so that I didn't finish them. It ruined the taste.
All food was hot. Overall a nice dining experience though.
Did not have dessert so can't comment on that part of menu.
Service was prompt and the waitress was very attentive and pleasant.
All in all this was a good meal - Somewhere between pub food and restaurant. Central location so is handy. This is no bargain bin establishment in terms of prices - restaurant prices but we thought fair value.
Would come back . Be warned Keswick is a thriving town and is very busy. Get in early unless you have pre booked a table.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jackie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2013

Stayed here for one night and it is lovely.Downstairs is the public bar and restaurant and the upper floors are the bedrooms.The room we were in overlooked the town square, it was really special, very clean with everything you need,even dressing gowns.We thought it was fantastic.We stayed on a Saturday night during summer, so it was a bit noisy outside during night but ear plugs were provided,we did not find this a problem.Breakfast the next morning was excellent.Nice friendly staff,good food great,querky place to stay.

Room Tip: Not for people with mobility problems, the stairs are very very steep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joan h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockport
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2013

We stayed just one night while walking the Cumbria Way. Overall experience was good, starting with the fact that our bags (transported ahead) had been put in our room. Nice touch when you've been walking!
The room was good and looked as though it had been recently refurbished. Wi fi only available in bar area downstairs. Main niggle was that after opting to eat in their pizza restaurant at the rear of the hotel the service was pretty chaotic. We only wanted some bruschetta to start but after waiting ages the main courses arrived. Then asked for wine list and a glass of white wine arrived. Offered a free coffee as a 'sorry' gesture.
Breakfast service s fine and food good. Would stay again as a great location in the centre

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DavidandHelen1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Keswick
0.0 mi away
The Skiddaw Hotel
The Skiddaw Hotel
#7 of 12 in Keswick
744 reviews
0.0 mi away
Inn on the Square
Inn on the Square
#5 of 12 in Keswick
610 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Derwentwater Hotel
The Derwentwater Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portinscale
704 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Keswick Country House Hotel
2.8 mi away
Lodore Falls Hotel
Lodore Falls Hotel
#5 of 5 in Borrowdale
2,077 reviews
2.1 mi away
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Under Skiddaw
612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kings Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kings Arms Hotel

Property: The Kings Arms Hotel
Address: 27 Main Street, Keswick CA12 5BL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 12 Hotels in Keswick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Kings Arms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly refurbished AA 3 star Hotel right in the centre of Keswick, the Lake District. In the 17th century, Keswick was the crossroads for many of the horse and carriage routes which traversed this part of the English Lake District. The Kings Arms Hotel, a true Coaching Inn of that period, offers the traveller of today the same unrivaled hospitality and friendly service in keeping with its heritage. To stay at the Kings Arms Hotel in Keswick is to experience the legacies, in modern day comfort and luxury, of a true Coaching Inn. A warm and friendly smile awaits you from our well trained staff, whose aim is to make your stay one of many. The air-conditioned, newly refurbished restaurant serves appetising home-cooked dishes such as slow-cooked local lamb joints and the almost-famous spare ribs, beef & Jennings ale pie, delicious hand-cut, home-cooked chips plus mouth-watering hot and cold desserts. After a hearty meal, why not relax in front of the open fire with a drink in the newly-refurbished, cosy oak-beamed bar and watch the world go by outside on the streets of Keswick. With over 40 whisky's and some of the best local ales on tap the choice is yours. Or in the summer months take a seat in the charming courtyard, which is the perfect place to enjoy delicious food and a refreshing drink al fresco. There are 13 recently refurbished bedrooms all with their own shower rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Kings Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Kings Arms Hotel Keswick, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing