We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“one night stay..”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Kings Arms Hotel
Ranked #13 of 17 Hotels in Keswick
Reviewed 5 August 2013

We stayed at this hotel booking by chance as we were passing as an extension to our weekend . B & B and Sunday Roast, and the bonus of a parking permit included.
I couldn't fault this hotel, staff polite and attentive, from booking in, to the waitress in the restaurant and the pleasant and helpful bar staff.
We had room 10 which was prefect, it was hot outside, windows open and fan insitu for our arrival, we slept well in the large bed and weren't disturbed by noise outside.
Lovely hot shower, toiletries, dressing gowns, and a powerful hairdryer all provided.
We chose to eat later in the evening, so only beef left but the meal was delicious, as was our breakfast the following morning, my partner having full Cumberland breakfast, and I chose boiled egg. Wouldn't hesitate to go back

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kennas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
danigraves, Public Relations Manager at The Kings Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2013

Dear Kennas,

Thank you for such a lovely and informative review of the Kings Arms which no doubt other TripAdvisor users will find useful.

Glad you were able to enjoy this special Sunday offer and hope you can come back again soon.

Thanks again.

The Kings Arms Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (466)
There are newer reviews for The Kings Arms Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

323 - 329 of 466 reviews

Reviewed 30 July 2013

We are frequent visitors to Keswick and depending on the deal whilst searching for accommodation we always consider that nearer Main street the better, on this occasion we got a great deal for a Fri/Sat night stay At the Kings. Okay we got the last room available and it was room 1 which has got to be the smallest room in the hotel but it has recently undergone complete refurbishment to a high standard. The room overlooks the courtyard leading to the Pizzeria and Casas bar, I read earlier reviews which claim the noise from revellers could be heard until at least 2 a/m and that is why they provide ear plugs. We never heard one raised voice and because of the heat we needed the window to be open. The food in the restaurant was of decent quality and a varied menu to suit all tastes. Breakfast was well prepared and not at all greasy, the main breakfast could be mixed and matched to personal taste.
The Kings Arms is in a central location on Main street and within minutes walk of all amenities. The car parking situation is that you have to park in the main public car park at the rear of the hotel, once you have checked in they provide a parking permit for your duration, even after you check out they allow you a couple of hours before you need to return the permit. Believe me for the cost of staying in this car park this is a major bonus. I have stayed in other hotels local to the Kings and a days car park fee overnight is expensive.
A good weekend had by both of us, decent hotel, fine beer and food and a great walk.
Stayed 26/27 July.

Room Tip: Room 2&4 are large rooms
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank daveholden56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
danigraves, Public Relations Manager at The Kings Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2013

Hi Dave,

Thanks for such a lovely and informative review of the Kings Arms Hotel.

It's great to hear that you thought Room 1 was decorated to a high standard and we feel we have made the most of the cosy room that it is - part of the charms of being a historic building!

We hope to see you again soon.

The Kings Arms Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2013

Visited for dinner on July 8th 2013. Sat near reception so was able to see and hear staff interacting with customers. Food too half an hour to arrive, a little too long as the place was quiet and we only ordered burger and chips. Might have arrived quicker but the chef was in reception looking at pizza presses on the computer. Staff attitude to customers was poor, one customer who had called earlier could not be dealt with as the staff who spoke to him earlier was not around! Others arrived to check in and staff had idea which rooms had been booked.
I did email the Customer Services Manager for the group with my concerns, I did receive an interim response the same day and was promised a full response shortly. So far 3 weeks on, nothing. I cannot suggest to anyone that this Hotel is worth a visit.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phil M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
danigraves, Public Relations Manager at The Kings Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2013

Dear Phil

I’m sorry that you feel your wait for food was too long during your visit to us, however we also have diners sitting in the restaurant and outside who you may not have noticed which may be the reason your order took the time it did.

With regards to the conversation you heard between our staff and a customer, it is unfair to negatively highlight this incident as only part of the conversation was heard and the customer in question was happy with the outcome of the conversation and our staff dealt with this in an acceptable manner.

Thank you for your feedback.

Kind regards,

Garry Price, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2013

When we arrived during the July 2013 heatwave the hotel rooms were very hot - but there was a fan in the room and the windows were open. Due to the heat these had to stay open.
The rooms were good and the restaurant was OK too - it was air-conditioned - but all the doors were open.
The evening meal we had was good and judging by the time we waited and the quality it was freshly cooked.
Sleep was another matter. The street outside our room was very noisy until about 2 am. The summer heat kept people about longer. About 4 am (I think) there was the sound of much glass & rubbish being collected, then about 6 am the market started getting assembled. The hotel provide rather hard ear plugs in the bathroom - but the noise comes through and the discomfort of ear plugs is not good.
Breakfast was a disappointment. Whilst dinner had been freshly prepared, breakfast had not! How long does it take a tomato to dry out?
The selection of fruit was literally that - apples, pears, etc. No fruit salad, no grapefruit segments, no grapefruit juice. We had to ask for butter, then had to ask for more.
This really could be a great hotel. The hotel couldn't help what happened on the street, nor the heat - but a good breakfast would have sent us away with a better memory.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JamesDeans86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
danigraves, Public Relations Manager at The Kings Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2013

Dear James,

Thank you for your review although sorry to hear you had mixed feelings about your stay.

Regarding the noise, this is something beyond our control however we do our very best to ensure our windows are triple glazed, that we speak to the bars and night club about keeping their customers quiet and have even spoken to the council to raise our concerns about the market.

Have spoken to the kitchen about dried out tomatoes at breakfast but they assure me that they are cooked fresh so we will keep an eye on them. The fresh fruit selection at breakfast is as described on the menu and reflects the value for money price that is paid for breakfast at the Kings Arms.

Thanks again.

The Kings Arms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2013

Very good breakfast (sehr gutes Frühstück). All attractions are just around the corner (Alle attraktionen sind direkt um die Ecke). Whether pub, pizzeria or Club (Ob Pub, Pizzeria oder Club). All just a few footsteps away (Alles nur ein paar Fußschritte entfernt). And for the major activities the coaches are not far from the hotel and go in all directions (Und für die großen Aktivitäten, die Busse sind nicht weit vom Hotel entfernt und fahren in alle Richtungen). All in all - for me it was the perfect holiday (Alles in allem - für mich war es der perfekte Urlaub). Nice room, nice food, nice people (Schönes Zimmer, gutes Essen, nette Leute). I'll come back (Ich komme wieder)!

Room Tip: All rooms are good, some are better (Alle Räume sind gut, manche sind besser).
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank magguz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
danigraves, Public Relations Manager at The Kings Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2013

Dear Magguz

Thank you for a great and informative review following your stay at the Kings Arms.

We hope you will be able to visit again soon.

The Kings Arms hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2013

Right in the centre of keswick, could not wish for a better location. Great choice of food which is of a high standard . Staff are attentive and very friendly. If you want a quiet location choose a more remote hotel. The rooms are well furnished and very clean and comfortable. We will certainly return .

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Janet S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
danigraves, Public Relations Manager at The Kings Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2013

Dear Jany,

Thank you for your lovely and informative review of the Kings Arms.

We appreciate your comment informing others that if they want complete peace and quiet that they should opt for a hotel in the country side not in the town centre. We are fortunate to have an ideal location in the middle of the town centre, and on many occasions noise is not a problem.

We hope to see you again soon.

The Kings Arms Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2013 via mobile

I travelled as couple with an adult son, requested for a family room but was given 2 rooms with my son's room at half price. Reception staff was very friendly n checked in was swift.
Hotel located right at the Main Street of city centre, with public car park about 30 metres away. English breakfast was good but the lunch was average.
I was concern about the noise mentioned in other reviews but this was not so during our stay.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DavieOng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Keswick hotels
0.0 mi away
The Skiddaw Hotel
The Skiddaw Hotel
#12 of 17 in Keswick
760 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Derwentwater Hotel
The Derwentwater Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portinscale
734 reviews
0.0 mi away
Inn on the Square
Inn on the Square
#5 of 17 in Keswick
645 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Keswick Country House Hotel
2.8 mi away
Lodore Falls Hotel
Lodore Falls Hotel
#5 of 5 in Borrowdale
2,127 reviews
3.3 mi away
The Borrowdale Hotel
The Borrowdale Hotel
#4 of 5 in Borrowdale
987 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kings Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kings Arms Hotel

Address: 27 Main Street, Keswick CA12 5BL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 17 Hotels in Keswick
Price Range: £88 - £148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Kings Arms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly refurbished AA 3 star Hotel right in the centre of Keswick, the Lake District. In the 17th century, Keswick was the crossroads for many of the horse and carriage routes which traversed this part of the English Lake District. The Kings Arms Hotel, a true Coaching Inn of that period, offers the traveller of today the same unrivaled hospitality and friendly service in keeping with its heritage. To stay at the Kings Arms Hotel in Keswick is to experience the legacies, in modern day comfort and luxury, of a true Coaching Inn. A warm and friendly smile awaits you from our well trained staff, whose aim is to make your stay one of many. The air-conditioned, newly refurbished restaurant serves appetising home-cooked dishes such as slow-cooked local lamb joints and the almost-famous spare ribs, beef & Jennings ale pie, delicious hand-cut, home-cooked chips plus mouth-watering hot and cold desserts. After a hearty meal, why not relax in front of the open fire with a drink in the newly-refurbished, cosy oak-beamed bar and watch the world go by outside on the streets of Keswick. With over 40 whisky's and some of the best local ales on tap the choice is yours. Or in the summer months take a seat in the charming courtyard, which is the perfect place to enjoy delicious food and a refreshing drink al fresco. There are 13 recently refurbished bedrooms all with their own shower rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Agoda and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Kings Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Kings Arms Hotel Keswick, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing