We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WORST NIGHT SLEEP”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Kings Arms Hotel
Ranked #14 of 17 Hotels in Keswick
Reviewed 2 March 2014

Avoid if you want a quiet weekend
1. Booked and paid for a superior room but this hotel only has standard doubles according to Reception staff. Informed website is out off date!
2. Room size cramped only fit for 1person. Had to side step to get in to bed because the room was so narrow. Stayed in room 5
3. Don't expect ANY sleep on a Friday evening because the market stalls start setting up at 4am. The noise was constant right through until breakfast! Ear plugs in the room say it all. No mention of this on the website. Total lack sleep ruined our weekend!
4. No bath even though we booked a superior room
5. Perhaps training for one of the hotel/bar female staff wouldn't go a miss. Can't fault the breakfast staff
6. No complimentary bottle of wine on arrival as per the booking

Can't fault the cleanliness of the tight double room apart from the dead fly on the pillow case on arrival. Although bed was comfy.
Overall wish we had booked somewhere else

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leah D, Guest Relations Manager at The Kings Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2014

Dear Chris
Thank you for your review, I’m sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your visit.

All of our bedrooms in the hotel have been refurbished to superior rooms; we make every effort to provide a high standard and quality, room five is in fact one of our smaller bedrooms, however there is adequate space for two people. We are pleased to hear that the cleanliness and comfort of the room met your expectations.

Town Centre Location - this is something which is clearly stated throughout our website. The town market has been a big part of Keswick for many years now, taking place every Thursday and Saturday, which for many guests this, is a huge attraction for them to visit the area. As the noise from the market set up is out of our control we do our best to try and soften the noise with triple glazed windows and ear plugs.
All of our 13 en-suite bedrooms have large walk in showers, none of our rooms have baths and there is no mention on or website or in any of our advertising that we have baths in the bedrooms.

With regards to the complimentary bottle of wine, this was not mentioned to us in the booking, however if this was an oversight on our behalf we would like to apologise and should you have mentioned it at the time; we could have rectified the problem.
We are always looking to improve our food and service and hope that you will return to the Kings Arms again in the future.

Kind regards,
The Kings Arms Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (466)
There are newer reviews for The Kings Arms Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

283 - 289 of 466 reviews

Reviewed 24 February 2014

Spent two nights here was pleasantly surprised. The bedrooms have been recently refurbished to a very high standard, dinner was superb and we had one of the best breakfasts ever in the Lakes. Right in the centre of Keswick so convenient for everything too.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leah D, Guest Relations Manager at The Kings Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2014

Dear Jim

Thank you for your positive 5 star review, it’s great to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us.

We make every effort to maintain a high standard of service and quality and we are delighted that we have been successful in achieving this during your stay. We hope to see you again at the Kings Arms Hotel.

Kind regards,
The Kings Arms Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2014

We have just returned from a stay at the Kings in kendal, and found the hotel, very nice, so many nice things to say,but sadly also a couple of negative ones
The good things, the staff can not do enough for you, so friendly, we arrived at 11am and the room was ready, a nice four poster room, very clean and the hotel staff had left some chocolates in the room for our anniversary, i told them when we booked it was a special weekend and they must have remembered and that was such a nice thing to do..well done to you all
the barfood was nice and well priced and on a very cold day it was nice and warm
The parking is free and perfect when you get the permit from the hotel, no problem at all
The breakfast was excellent,one of the best ever and the waitress very helpful,so a lot of good
Now the disappointments, i was a little upset when the room did not have a bath in the bathroom just a shower, when i asked to be moved to a room with a bath i was told all the rooms had showers, so a real downer for me, i do love a nice soak in a bath on my nights away
the real problem was the noise..it was awful and as it was a quiet Thursday night i dread to think what it is like at weekends and busy times, i had to wear the ear plugs which were in the room,so obviously they know this is a problem, but i did feel uncomfortable wearing ear plugs....once the bar had closed we had a good nights sleep
all in all the Kings is a nice place, but i would say it is rooms above a pub, rather than a hotel....still for £83 for us both for the night and bed and breakfast it was not overcharged....

Room Tip: wear the earplugs....
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Barbara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2014

We arrived in Keswick at about 5 30pm without making any previous booking, after sitting in the local carpark we checked out some of the main hotels in the town and came across the Kings Arms Hotel, we checked out the price online and found it to be £99 after checking the price on late rooms it was £91 when we got in we were told if we had booked by phone or off the street it would be only £59 a special offer, as we were unable to cancel the booking with laterooms he knocked £10 off our meal and also gave us £10 off our second night......RESULT

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank johninblackpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2014 via mobile

Did'nt stay at the Hotel but the bedroom photos on price board looked lovely at a reasonable price
We ate in bar Friday lunchtime
Bar uses local BreweryJennings beers plus 1 guest Ale, and usual pump/bottled Beers
Extensive daytime and seperate evening menu.
Daytime 'small plates' 'big plates', hot and cold sandwiches, toasted sandwivhes, jacket potatoes.
My Partner and I shared 'small plate 'Rarebit on toasted oven bottom muffins and 'large plate'
Local beef burger stacked with crispy bacon,mature cheddar, dill, fire cracker relish ,onion rings ,twice cooked chips.served on wooden platter. V tasty , high quality ingredients well presented,prices range from £4.95-£14.95 (for lakeland rump steak) food served on warmed plates,and no sticky tables! Which can often happen in bars.
I overheard a Family choosing from a seperate Childrens Menu.
Friendly efficient, not too long wait for freshly
cooked food.
Children and dogs allowed but not over-run by either when we were there on a Friday lunchtime
Fairly big traditional handsome solid 1800s building on pleasant pedestrianised keswick main street.
Ps...ladies loos are up 4 small flights of stairs, there is a Restaurant at back of bar and think there is Disabled loo located there , but would be best to phone to check?

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank 1CLF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2013

My daughter booked a Christmas Lunch at the Kings Arms for Sunday 22nd December for 11 family members - 8 adults and 3 boys 8, 5 & 3. It was truly fantastic - we felt it was Christmas Day itself. The table beautifully decorated with good quality crackers, hats, party poppers, blowers, balloons etc.

The staff were amazing - bringing colouring pencils and paper for the children and actively encouraged them to use the blowers etc!

The food was first class - from the delicious homemade soup and bread to the perfect turkey dinner - with the biggest Pigs in Blankets ever encountered - made with Cumberland Sausage - a meal in themselves!

The lovely friendly waiting staff are a credit to the hotel, as is Head Chef Daniel and his Team.

Thank you all for a wonderful lunch - we will be back!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Petali57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2013

Had an early Xmas lunch here on the Sunday before Xmas day 11 of us in the party and we were not disappointed the food was excellent staff very good. All in all I would recommend the Kings Arms food to anyone.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
Thank Sandydeli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Keswick hotels
0.0 mi away
The Skiddaw Hotel
The Skiddaw Hotel
#12 of 17 in Keswick
762 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Derwentwater Hotel
The Derwentwater Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portinscale
735 reviews
0.0 mi away
Inn on the Square
Inn on the Square
#6 of 17 in Keswick
653 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Keswick Country House Hotel
2.8 mi away
Lodore Falls Hotel
Lodore Falls Hotel
#5 of 5 in Borrowdale
2,135 reviews
3.3 mi away
The Borrowdale Hotel
The Borrowdale Hotel
#4 of 5 in Borrowdale
989 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kings Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kings Arms Hotel

Address: 27 Main Street, Keswick CA12 5BL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 17 Hotels in Keswick
Price Range: £89 - £150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Kings Arms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly refurbished AA 3 star Hotel right in the centre of Keswick, the Lake District. In the 17th century, Keswick was the crossroads for many of the horse and carriage routes which traversed this part of the English Lake District. The Kings Arms Hotel, a true Coaching Inn of that period, offers the traveller of today the same unrivaled hospitality and friendly service in keeping with its heritage. To stay at the Kings Arms Hotel in Keswick is to experience the legacies, in modern day comfort and luxury, of a true Coaching Inn. A warm and friendly smile awaits you from our well trained staff, whose aim is to make your stay one of many. The air-conditioned, newly refurbished restaurant serves appetising home-cooked dishes such as slow-cooked local lamb joints and the almost-famous spare ribs, beef & Jennings ale pie, delicious hand-cut, home-cooked chips plus mouth-watering hot and cold desserts. After a hearty meal, why not relax in front of the open fire with a drink in the newly-refurbished, cosy oak-beamed bar and watch the world go by outside on the streets of Keswick. With over 40 whisky's and some of the best local ales on tap the choice is yours. Or in the summer months take a seat in the charming courtyard, which is the perfect place to enjoy delicious food and a refreshing drink al fresco. There are 13 recently refurbished bedrooms all with their own shower rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Agoda so you can book your The Kings Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Kings Arms Hotel Keswick, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing