We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best lamb dinner ever...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Kings Arms Hotel
Ranked #13 of 17 Hotels in Keswick
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Stayed in the refurbished Kings Arms ,one night only after a visit to Theatre by the Lake, a birthday treat for my husband. Hotel very smart and comfy, lovely toiletries, and the food is excellant, staff friendly,it was easter weekend so needless to say it was busy in the restaurant,but by no means full and this is where our stay wasnt so comfy , firstly our prebooked table for 5-30 wasnt ready, the service was rather erratic ; half an hour passed before our starter came, delicious, our main was also excellant,but we didnt have dessert as it was almost 7 so we were rather concerned about time limit for theatre, breakfast service was a bit disorganised too, again food fab, We would certainly return to Kings Arms , but we hope the staffing in dining room are better organised,.

Room Tip: our room was overlooking the main street BUT no noise disturbance ,windows well glazed and lovely th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elizabeth A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leah D, Guest Relations Manager at The Kings Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

Dear Elizabeth A

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a positive review. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that you thoroughly enjoyed your meals with us. We take all reviews seriously and appreciate your comments.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Kings Arms Hotel in the future.

Kind Regards
Leah

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (475)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

287 - 293 of 475 reviews

Reviewed 20 April 2014 via mobile

My husband and I had lunch there today . We had steak pie which was served up in a traditional metal pie dish which was a great start. The pastry was light and buttery, but best if all , it was CHOCK full of Huge chunks of steak. Well done to the chef.Amazing .

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank rockchic91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leah D, Guest Relations Manager at The Kings Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

Dear Rockchic91

Thank you for your great review. We love to hear our guests feedback and are please to hear that you were satisfied with your meals.

We are extremely lucky to have such a fantastic Head Chef and we hope to welcome you back time and time again to enjoy our delicious home-cooked food.

Kind Regards
Leah

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2014

we have been several times to the kings arms , the staff are fantastic rooms brilliant , the food well that just gets better and better.
we have recommended the Kings Arms to our friends and they too have been going back to the hotel.
Gary the manager is so approachable any problems and they are sorted , this is a fantastic place to stay look forward to staying there in a few weeks.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mickrunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leah D, Guest Relations Manager at The Kings Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

Dear Mickrunner

Thank you for a fantastic review and for recommending the Kings Arms Hotel to your friends. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us and that you are planning on returning in a few weeks time.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Kings Arms Hotel.

Kind Regards
Leah

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014 via mobile

Booked for 1 night bed and breakfast but the night before we were due to arrive we received an email to say the bar & restaurant was closed for refurbishment. The hotel knocked £21 off the room charge and everything else was great. Would have been 5/5 if the bar was open.
Had to check in at the hotel next door, breakfast was served in LBs pizza restaurant but was good quality and fresh. Room was recently renovated, didn't get any of the noise other reviews have mentioned. Would definitely stay again.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Glen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leah D, Guest Relations Manager at The Kings Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2014

Dear GlenS

Thank you for your positive review from your recent stay with us. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that you plan to return sometime in the future.

The hotels refurbishments are all completed now and everything looks fantastic. We look forward to welcoming you back to the new-look Kings Arms Hotel.

Kind Regards
Leah

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014 via mobile

We had a 1 night stay on the 1st march, check in was great at 2pm, they give us a permit for the car, we were told on check in that the court yard restaurant in the hotel was closed for refurbishment, found this disappointing as we should of been informed before our stay, had to use the pizza restaurant down the side of hotel for our breakfast. Our room was lovely over looking market square, room was very hot , wouldn't like to stay in this room in the summer, bed lovely and comfortable , bathroom excellent , I didn't sleep well due to constant noise outside , there was a taxi rank outside, Window had to be kept open due to the heat. Breakfast was amazing and the staff at breakfast were excellent, we will be back.

Stayed: March 2014
1  Thank Elaineilderton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014

Avoid if you want a quiet weekend
1. Booked and paid for a superior room but this hotel only has standard doubles according to Reception staff. Informed website is out off date!
2. Room size cramped only fit for 1person. Had to side step to get in to bed because the room was so narrow. Stayed in room 5
3. Don't expect ANY sleep on a Friday evening because the market stalls start setting up at 4am. The noise was constant right through until breakfast! Ear plugs in the room say it all. No mention of this on the website. Total lack sleep ruined our weekend!
4. No bath even though we booked a superior room
5. Perhaps training for one of the hotel/bar female staff wouldn't go a miss. Can't fault the breakfast staff
6. No complimentary bottle of wine on arrival as per the booking

Can't fault the cleanliness of the tight double room apart from the dead fly on the pillow case on arrival. Although bed was comfy.
Overall wish we had booked somewhere else

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leah D, Guest Relations Manager at The Kings Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2014

Dear Chris
Thank you for your review, I’m sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your visit.

All of our bedrooms in the hotel have been refurbished to superior rooms; we make every effort to provide a high standard and quality, room five is in fact one of our smaller bedrooms, however there is adequate space for two people. We are pleased to hear that the cleanliness and comfort of the room met your expectations.

Town Centre Location - this is something which is clearly stated throughout our website. The town market has been a big part of Keswick for many years now, taking place every Thursday and Saturday, which for many guests this, is a huge attraction for them to visit the area. As the noise from the market set up is out of our control we do our best to try and soften the noise with triple glazed windows and ear plugs.
All of our 13 en-suite bedrooms have large walk in showers, none of our rooms have baths and there is no mention on or website or in any of our advertising that we have baths in the bedrooms.

With regards to the complimentary bottle of wine, this was not mentioned to us in the booking, however if this was an oversight on our behalf we would like to apologise and should you have mentioned it at the time; we could have rectified the problem.
We are always looking to improve our food and service and hope that you will return to the Kings Arms again in the future.

Kind regards,
The Kings Arms Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014

Spent two nights here was pleasantly surprised. The bedrooms have been recently refurbished to a very high standard, dinner was superb and we had one of the best breakfasts ever in the Lakes. Right in the centre of Keswick so convenient for everything too.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leah D, Guest Relations Manager at The Kings Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2014

Dear Jim

Thank you for your positive 5 star review, it’s great to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us.

We make every effort to maintain a high standard of service and quality and we are delighted that we have been successful in achieving this during your stay. We hope to see you again at the Kings Arms Hotel.

Kind regards,
The Kings Arms Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Keswick hotels
0.0 mi away
The Skiddaw Hotel
The Skiddaw Hotel
#12 of 17 in Keswick
766 reviews
0.0 mi away
Inn on the Square
Inn on the Square
#6 of 17 in Keswick
661 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Derwentwater Hotel
The Derwentwater Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portinscale
749 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Keswick Country House Hotel
2.8 mi away
Lodore Falls Hotel
Lodore Falls Hotel
#5 of 5 in Borrowdale
2,150 reviews
3.3 mi away
The Borrowdale Hotel
The Borrowdale Hotel
#4 of 5 in Borrowdale
998 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kings Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kings Arms Hotel

Address: 27 Main Street, Keswick CA12 5BL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 17 Hotels in Keswick
Price Range: £89 - £154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Kings Arms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly refurbished AA 3 star Hotel right in the centre of Keswick, the Lake District. In the 17th century, Keswick was the crossroads for many of the horse and carriage routes which traversed this part of the English Lake District. The Kings Arms Hotel, a true Coaching Inn of that period, offers the traveller of today the same unrivaled hospitality and friendly service in keeping with its heritage. To stay at the Kings Arms Hotel in Keswick is to experience the legacies, in modern day comfort and luxury, of a true Coaching Inn. A warm and friendly smile awaits you from our well trained staff, whose aim is to make your stay one of many. The air-conditioned, newly refurbished restaurant serves appetising home-cooked dishes such as slow-cooked local lamb joints and the almost-famous spare ribs, beef & Jennings ale pie, delicious hand-cut, home-cooked chips plus mouth-watering hot and cold desserts. After a hearty meal, why not relax in front of the open fire with a drink in the newly-refurbished, cosy oak-beamed bar and watch the world go by outside on the streets of Keswick. With over 40 whisky's and some of the best local ales on tap the choice is yours. Or in the summer months take a seat in the charming courtyard, which is the perfect place to enjoy delicious food and a refreshing drink al fresco. There are 13 recently refurbished bedrooms all with their own shower rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Ebookers, Agoda and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Kings Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Kings Arms Hotel Keswick, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing